We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rotterdam
from US$ 14.40
More Info
from US$ 34.50
More Info
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
124
98
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
98
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection japanese room museum houses special exhibition different cultures erasmus bridge beautiful building great museum small museum temple tribe buddhist oceanic artifacts mask jewelry tanks
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

A small museum but pack with a lot of interesting collection. We didn’t know and have not heard about the museum but went there to see exhibition about Mask (Powermask curated by Walter Van Beirendonck run till mid March .... recommended) the museum though small but the collection was very interesting especially, the Tibet room and Japanese room.
And as anethnic silver enthusiast, I was in seventh heaven ... along the stair coming down (from the 5th floor ) on the wall, there were displayed cabinet after cabinet full of antiques silver jewellery from African, Central Asia, south India ..... amazing....

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank teerabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

In the Wereldmuseum several exhibitions can be visited, a special exhibition about masks from over the world, and two permanent exhibitions; one about Asian religions with some full furnished temple displays and one about exhibits from around the Pacific Ocean with a focus on Oceania. It is eminently possible that many visitors are enthralled by the exhibitions, but I was quickly bored. Firstly I became mask tired. The explanations by slide shows on flat screens, instead of printed cards at the masks were no success, and, trying not to sound too arrogant, I have visited many temples in full swing during my trips to South East Asia, which made more impression than the static displays in the museum. But I am sure that this exhibition is very impressive for people, who have not traveled extensively. There are museums, when leaving I have the intention to visit again in the future. The Wereldmuseum is not one of those.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Hendrik_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

A great museum with interesting exhibitions, time and again. And do not miss trhe Buddha collection, stunning indeed.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This is a wonderful museum in a beautiful building next to the Rotterdam port and the Erasmus Bridge. A diverse collection of exhibits over several floors with a cute gift shop and a VERY good café. The Caesar salads there are perfect - I walked there several times just for lunch!! A must see if you are in the area around the port.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank DEEDEETNJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The museum has a large Buddhist collection, mostly from Tibet and Japan, although there are smaller collections from Vietnam, China, India and Indonesia present as well. As mentioned in the title, the display is sometimes poor, such that one can hardly see the object due to reflections. On the other hand, the temples that have been reconstructed are well done. The museum houses also a smaller, but good collection of objects from the smaller islands in Oceania and a very few artefacts from Peru.
The temporary exhibition when I visited was poor, but that is obviously variable. The museum is rather expensive.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank KatrienS955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews