We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Leiden
from US$ 31.80
More Info
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
242
210
31
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
210
31
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews different cultures cool japan world press photo dutch colony permanent exhibition beautiful objects special exhibition two hours fantastic collection clear information south america two floors leiden central station worth a visit free entry children and adults walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

This museum looks huge from the outside but is relatively small inside. Two floors guide you through the different cultures and tribes around the world. The rooms are divided by continent. The display looks nice but can do with an upgrade, especially the touch screens and video.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Wub67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W, Intern Online Editor at Museum Volkenkunde, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Wub67,

Thank you for your response. And also thanks for the tip. Those are always welcome, I will make sure it arrives at the right place.

Best,
Veerle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

I was impressed at the range and depth of what is on show. In most of the exhibition halls, they feature a huge screen with video of the life and people living in the areas covered by the exhibits. This makes them lively. There is also a popular restaurant and an interesting shop. Like the magnificent five buddhas, and bought notecards featuring them!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank RMOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim W, Stagiaire Online at Museum Volkenkunde, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi RMOP,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive words! We're glad you had a nice and interesting time at our museum. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best,

Veerle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I spent a morning here with my two kids (3 and 1 at the time), and it was wonderful. A nice museum quest to learn a bit more. You can pick one according to the sections of the museum. There's also a wonderful playground in the restaurant area, in the shape of an explorer bus. We also greatly enjoyed the Cool Japan exhibit, and chatting and dancing with the robot.

You won't regret visiting this museum, and bringing your kids. There's a lot to do and discover for all ages!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank arjantupan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

The exhibition will be until the end of October. So I was lucky to see this all about Manga and the history. Very much catered to kids but adults or aficionados can see a lot of inspiration too.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank FayeInAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

since I was in elementary school, our history teacher always mentioned several museums in Netherland that keep thousands artifacts from Indonesia which brought government or individuals collectors, and one of them is this museum. so it was one of my bucket lists.

the museum itself room for Indonesia, but also lots collections from other countries in Asia, Africa, Latin America, North America, and Oceania. the museum has permanent exhibition and occasional ones; and the website always gives good information for the present and up-coming occasional exhibition. during our visit it was about Japanese entitled “Cool Japan”. it is really a very interesting museum to visit.

after buying the ticket, the staff kindly explained the museum map, each part of basement, ground and upper floor. visitors are allowed freely taking picture but without flash. the museum also has gift shop and café with big space to relax.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Wilwa_Tikta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews