We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room with veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances
The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Upon arrival you will find an extensive Dutch breakfast waiting for you
The fridge contains ham and eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt and orange juice
If you want to do your own cooking, there are some basic ingredients available
Pride of Leyden is located in a quiet residential street
A view from the veranda
A view from the drawbridge near Pride of Leyden
Leiden's Galgewater with historical ships
Morspoort, one of Leiden's two remaining city gates
Bulb fields in the spring
A typical Dutch polder landscape, great for cycling through
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leiden, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
jamielidd
Ancaster, On
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed 3 nights in the houseboat and really enjoyed our stay. Jacqueline was kind enough to pick us up and bring us to the houseboat. She thoroughly went though the houseboat with us and showed us around.

The houseboat is located about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the city centre in a nice area. There are a couple of restaurants and stores close by, but most of the restaurants and shopping is located near the city centre. We didn't mind the walk to the city centre and had a rental car for the majority of the stay to visit other towns.

FYI There is a Europcar rental place 3 minute walk from the houseboat for anyone wishing to rent a car. They allowed us to park the car at their lot to save us from paying for parking. Would recommend renting a car from them.

The houseboat has absolutely everything you could possibly need for your stay. Jacqueline equips the fridge with a large variety of food and beverages for your stay. The houseboat was clean and well organized. The bed was alright, but not the most comfortable.

The only issue we had during our stay is that fact that the houseboat is located close to the road. There is not a lot of traffic, but there are many bikes and scooters passing through. The scooters can be quite loud in the houseboat at night and the morning.

Leiden is a nice town, but does not have a lot happening during the week. We liked the fact that it was quiet, but this may not be for everyone.

If you are looking for a place to stay near Leiden, i would definitely recommend Pride of Leyden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doublespi...
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable holiday on the river”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have really enjoyed staying on The Pride of Leyden. The location is lovely - just outside the main town, but still just minutes away from the city centre. Jacqueline has made it really comfortable and we felt well looked after even though we were self catering. The cupboards were well stocked with Dutch delicacies so breakfasts and snacks were easy. A houseboat makes a lovely holiday - just to relax on the boat feels special - we made good friends with the local ducks!

Leiden is also a lovely city - small enough to be able to walk round, and yet lots to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaragl...
Banchory, United Kingdom
1 review
“A different and delightful experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The houseboat has all amenities one could ask for including aircon in the living area which was essential during our stay as the temperatures soared to 30 degrees C. The owner Jacqueline met us at the agreed time and showed us around. She had stocked up on essentials such as bread, milk, butter, tea, coffee, etc. so we did not have to dash out immediately to the supermarket. We previously lived in Leiden and knew that the location would be excellent for local shops and for getting quickly into the centre to sample the cultural events and the many excellent bars and restaurants. The main down side of the location is the noise from the mopeds that continually buzz up and down the lane. That did not bother us too much but it may be an issue for some.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on a houseboat was a new and very pleasant experience
Liked least: The noise from the mopeds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janamann
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My mother and I travelled to The Netherlands in April and stayed for part of our holiday (5 nights) in Leiden. Jacqueline had replied to emails prior to our visit very promptly and she met us on arrival and showed us how to use the appliances. There is also a folder containing these details in case you forget, together with information on the local area.

The accommodation was spacious and clean. The kingsize bed is in an alcove with reading lights and can only be accessed from the bottom, but this was not a problem for us. There was a single guest bed in the study which was quite comfortable. There was plenty of storage with a large wardrobe and plenty of drawers in the main bedroom. The bathroom has a large shower with easy access and the washing machine is also located here - detergent is provided. There is also an iron, ironing board and hairdryer. The kitchen/dining area/lounge were very light with large windows and it was a comfortable area in which to relax. My only concern was that the gas cooker had to be lit with matches - I am not used to gas and an ignition lighter would have been very welcome. The outside temperature was cool and we required the central heating, which was extremely efficient. There is a towel rail in front of the radiator in the bathroom and it was nice to have warm towels in the morning and evening (spare towels were also available). The fridge was fully stocked with cheese, ham, milk, yoghurt, eggs, juice, etc and bread, cereal, coffee pods, tea bags, and delicious waffles were also supplied - enough for several days for the two of us. There is also a selection of spices, etc. left by previous visitors. Wifi was easy to access and I had no problems with the speed of the service for emails and general browsing.

The little road alongside the houseboat was busy in the mornings with cyclists and a few mopeds but we didn't have a problem with noise. Very few cars appear to use this road. We enjoyed watching the cyclists on their way to work/school and the large trailers being pulled along with two or three young children sitting in them - a view of local life!

We only used the car once to visit the Keukenhof Gardens, approximately 45 mins away in the morning traffic, and on our return were able to park in the adjoining road with the car visible from the houseboat.

The easiest way to travel around was by bike and we were pleased that we had brought our own. It only took my very fit mother (aged 80) and I about 5 mins to cycle into the centre of Leiden, and about another 4 mins to reach the railway station - far quicker and less tiring than walking. The cycle paths in the area are excellent. There are several small supermarkets nearby.

We visited the smaller of the two markets held in Leiden and thoroughly enjoyed trying the various cheeses for sale. We also took the train to Amsterdam for a day visit. The trains run every 10 mins or so and are very clean and comfortable

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was nice to be able to see life going on around us, instead of being in a hotel room. I hope to return to Leiden with my husband and son - staying, of course, on the Pride of Leyden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna O
Arroyo Grande, California
1 review
“Quaint”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great location within walking distance to City center. Everything was provided and the refrigerator and pantry were well stocked.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing