We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great rooms, fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A.S. Design Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dordrecht
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A.S. Design Suites
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great rooms, fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

AS design suites are right in the centre of Dordrecht. They have a fantastic location, close to all shops and bars. We stayed there Monday-Thursday and did not find it noisy at all, even though above a bar. Maybe the weekends are different, I don't know. Rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable. Carla is very friendly and makes you feel very welcome. Rooms have wine cooler, dvd player and computer with free wifi access. Dordrecht is a nice town with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointedvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

I have stayed at this hotel at least 20 times and love it. (I may still be their number 1 client, although I haven't been there in 6 months) The people are great. The breakfast good. They have parking (be sure to book it in advance). I was travelling there for work many times and would adjust my travel dates if there were no rooms available.

The other reviews that complain about noise are overstated. You can hear a bit of the music coming from the restaurant downstairs, but it is not loud enough to be annoying. Thursday nights seem to be the longest as everything in town closes a bit later, but they still close around 12 so it is not a problem.

3 rooms, fanstastic furnishings, good access to the entire region, direct bus connection to Dordrecht train station.

  • Liked — Room size, comfort, decor, added air conditioning about 2 years ago
  • Disliked — If you have a lot of luggage it can be a hassle to get it up to the room.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank A_few_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2007

The apartments are situated above a restaurant cum bar and, in the daytime, they are delightful. But, after 6pm the bar attracts a very young crowd and, of course, very loud music which lasts until about midnight. The weekend I arrived in Dordrecht there was a torrential downpour that went on for two days, so there wasn't much to do except shelter inside.
I came in out of the rain and found the apartment virtually shaking with the deep, bass notes from the bar immediately below. I spoke to the apartments manager whom I found quite aggressive and rather rude and decided to move to another hotel.
I would definitely not stay there again and would suggest guests arrive when the noise from the bar is audible so that they can get an idea of how loud it really is. Maybe others are less sensitive to noise than I am?

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Being in it
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruairi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

The furnishing is absolutely magnificent... so beautiful... we stay often in hotels... but this we've never seen... all design!!!

The room is huge... and the hotel is located in the centre of the city.

It's absolutely worth the price!!!

A disadvantage is the sound - not loud, but you can hear it - that you hear in the room from the restaurant/bar on the groundfloor.
Without this disadvantage the rate would have been 'excellent'.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the sound of the restaurant/bar on the ground floor
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank vrijheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dordrecht
0.9 km away
Hotel Dordrecht
Hotel Dordrecht
#4 of 8 in Dordrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.3 km away
Villa Augustus
Villa Augustus
#2 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.7 km away
Van der Valk Hotel Dordrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
#1 of 1 in Zwijndrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel de Watertoren
Hotel de Watertoren
#7 of 8 in Dordrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.3 km away
Bastion Hotel Dordrecht Papendrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A.S. Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A.S. Design Suites

Property: A.S. Design Suites
Address: Wijnstraat 241B, 3311 BV Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Dordrecht
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Dordrecht
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
a s Design Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing