We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
456
265
73
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
265
73
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building military hospital empire suite five star hotel small pool wellness centre separate building separate toilet old city this lovely hotel standard room nice garden loved this hotel train station lovely room within easy walking distance room was large
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018

One night stay, but I have to recommend this hotel as it's really nice. Excellent (standard) room with enough space to feel comfortable. Decent priced, especially in the weekends.
The breakfast is a must, so try to get that included in your rate.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank denEldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy v, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear denEldre,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast. Our restaurant was also used as a dining room during the Middle Ages. Did you had the change to try the waffle, poached egg or molleux chocolate from the breakfast menu?

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!

With warm regards,

Wendy van Espelo-Kluft
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Recently visited while in Utrecht on business. Great hotel, clean, quaint, full of charm and huge spacious, airy rooms. It is an old military hospital conversion, but full of peace and calm right in the heart of Utrecht.
Loved the staff who were among the friendliest hotel staff I've encountered - they couldn't do enough to help and accommodate our needs.
One of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in (and I've stayed in a lot!)
Family friendly, business friendly - this hotel is well worth a visit.
The old town is literally on the doorstep of the hotel, and it was refreshing to see locals using the bar and restaurant every day - that spoke volumes for the quality.
I would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Roman wing are quieter and more up to date than in the original building.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1,104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy v, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear 1104,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your compliments about our team members, who always take pride in providing the best service possible, have been communicated to everyone.

As you alread mentioned our hotel is located in the city centre in a quiet area within walking distance to many highlights like the Central Museum and the Dom Tower. Hopefully you had some time to see the city during your business trip.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

With warm regards,

Wendy van Espelo-Kluft
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel was 10 minutes walk from Utrecht Central Station. 5 minutes walk to the DOM. Shopping and food are easily accessible. Quiet surroundings. Shower and toilet are separated. Friendly and approachable staff. Bedroom was clean. Bed was comfortable. No pillow selection. Wifi was strong. There is a fitness centre and two in-house restaurants.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bluregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy v, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear bluregg,

Thank you for this wonderful review.

We are indeed very close located to the Dom Tower. The Dom Tower of Utrecht is the tallest church tower in the Netherland, did you also did the guided tour which allows you to climb the 465 steps to the top of the Dom Tower?

Thank you for the compliments regarding our team members. They always go above and beyond to make our guests feel happy and satisfied. Lastly, it is a delight to read that you enjoyed the benefits of our location.

We hope to welcome you again!

With warm regards,

Wendy van Espelo-Kluft
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Fantastic spa hotel in the middle of the old city of Utrecht. We paid 130 euros a night for a fabulous room. The breakfast (extra) was delicious and served in the beautiful dining room, or we could have sat in the gardens as well.
Something for everyone and incredible value for money. We arrived very late (1am) as our flight was delayed but the staff then, and throughout our stay, were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy v, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Claire S,

Thank you for you review! What a lovely words, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

Also, we are glad we succeeded in making your stay special. Our staff definitely tries their best to make you feel comfortable and heard. There is always someone at the reception and also in the night, we are happy that you were satisfied with the service.

We hope to welcome you again!

With warm regards,

Wendy van Espelo-Kluft
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend for a last-minute city trip. Location couldn't be better, right in the center. There is on-site parking for just 15€/night so very reasonable. Enjoyed an hour or two in the little wellness center which is well maintained and relaxing. Had a good dinner in the bistro which I'd definitely recommend. Delicious food, lovely setting with simple wooden tables and chairs, reasonable price, too. Acoustics are a bit of a worry though. It can be challenging trying to understand the waitress.
The main reason I would hesitate to go back though is the room itself. It's old chique... in other words needs a bit of modernization. The bathroom was clean but hopelessly outdated. The room was OK but nothing special. The building has a certain grandeur which I missed in the room itself. We were first given a wrong room type (twin instead of double). They gave us another room. However the conditioner had clearly been used (half empty) and not replaced. There was a glass of milk sitting in the fridge, presumably left there by a previous guest. This is not 5star level and made me question the cleanliness of the whole room, which is not a comfortable feeling and simply not what I was expecting.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katleen_Alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy v, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Karel V Utrecht, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Katleen_Alexis,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. Although disappointing guests are never nice for a hotel, we can learn from this and avoid disappointments for future guests.

It is not a good thing you have experienced the room as not clean and this is something we definitely discussed after your stay when you informed us at check out. We do are happy that you enjoyed the dinner in our bistro.

Hereby I would like to offer you my apologies. Please contact us directly so we can discuss this further with you and show you during a next visit that this has been a rare fault at Karel V.

With warm regards,

Wendy van Espelo-Kluft
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews