We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels almost like vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlton President
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Feels almost like vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I know, whenever you go on a business trip you are not able to enjoy too much the hotel room but ... this time I like it.

Maybe because the hotel doesn't look like a standard tall steel and glass building but rather like a vacation cottage. And my room had a nice and big balcony (hehehe, in a summer probably more appreciated than now, in Dec). Maybe because everybody (Reception, cleaning ladies, etc.) where nice and friendly. Or maybe because I am really tired of “high-tech” style for a modern hotel. This one is modern and has all modern the utilities but the feeling is … almost like vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veve_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    262
    94
    28
    3
See reviews for
51
234
25
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

When i entered the hotel from the large parking lot, it was like coming into a typical English hotel. The brass was meticulously polished, the paint fresh and glossy, the carpets thick and clean. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. I got a spacious room on the second floor, but immediatly got the impression that the internal decoration of the room was not as fresh and shiny as the public places of the hotel. One of the comfy sofa's had burn holes, the bathroom was a bit worn and - rather disgusting - a brown stained towel was hanging on the iron rod of the bathroom door. The room has a mini bar with ridiculous prices, as mini bars are priced all over the world. The hotel offers free wifi. And the speed is really good, so one can video-skype with good quality.
The menu in the restaurant is rather limited but the food is of a decent quality. The service was OK but not outstanding. The breakfast was a nice surprise....ample choice, friendly service, warm and cold dishes.
I am hesitant to give a 4 star rating, but some of the detailes just turned me off... Maybe I just stroke some bad luck that day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterSGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonUtrecht, Senior Account Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments. To maintain and improve our level of service all comments are highly appreciated.
We sincerely apologise for the fact that the towel in your bathroom was not clean. Please note that we have taken immediate action by informing the laundry company about this matter. Also our head of the housekeeping department is informed so that we can do extra checks to avoid this in the future. Concerning you other comments about the room, I would like to say that we can assure you that all our rooms are cleaned very thoroughly. It is not allowed to smoke in the rooms, so it should not happen that there are burn holes in the sofa. However, unfortunately this is very difficult to avoid.
Thank you again for informing us, so we can solve this matter appropriately. Please accept our apologies and kindly inform us if we can help you in any other way.
We do hope to welcome you back real soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May, Drinks and snacks were very pricey and staff were not always the friendliest to others but did not have any direct problems with them personally. Breakfast was good with a decent selection and provided a good start to the day. Rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious although there was what looked like to be a bloody fingerprint on the headboard, although I can't confirm that 100%. Very pleased with the gym, a good selection of machines and was lucky enough to have it to myself for the 2 days. If I were to come back to Utrecht I would to hope to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Howen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We loved the hotel, the breakfast, the cleanliness in rooms.
Its easily reachable from Schiphol, the International Airport of Netherlands by Intercity trains.
Amsterdam is also accessible from here without much of a hassle - same Intercity.

Awesome rooms, a first choice for family & business travellers.
Clean bath rooms, bed linens & duvets. Bar is awesome as well. Very nice area to chill within the hotel campus just outside the lobby.

If looking for a place close to Amsterdam & within affordable limits as well - I would say - this is an ideal choice. Even better if you have your own car.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BipulShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is a bit dated, but appeared to be clean. My room (104) was large, quiet and had a balcony looking over some gardens. It was also an excellent location for the office I was visiting (a 5 minute walk)

BUT... I woke up at 2am feeling itchy. I assumed I was having a reaction to the detergent on their sheets, but I struggled to get back to sleep. After leaving the hotel, and still being strangely itchy, I investigated, and I discovered I was covered insect bites. LOTS of them. 37 at the last count.

Does the hotel have bedbugs? I went to bed with no bites and woke up with 37! My colleague was staying in the room next to mine, and she was fine. Something clearly isn't right. I sent an email to the hotel asking them to investigate my room, but haven't had a response.

So I am writing this back at home, covered in antihistamine cream, and not planning on staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank recruitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonUtrecht, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments! We received your comment already earlier and tried to contact you by phone and by e-mail about the situation.
Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to speak to you in person. This also to determine the exact source of the problem.

We can assure you that all our rooms are cleaned very thoroughly. In our investigation no bugs were found, but just to make sure we have taken immediate action by hiring a pest control. Also nothing was found, but an extra clean was done.

I hope you reconsider to stay with us, the next time you are in Utrecht so I can meet you in person.

With the kindest regards,

Bart Blikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utrecht hotels
NH Utrecht
#5 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mary K Hotel
#1 of 21 in Utrecht
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Eye Hotel
#9 of 21 in Utrecht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Lange Nieuwstraat
NH Centre Utrecht
NH Centre Utrecht
#8 of 21 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Property: Carlton President
Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#2 Business Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,155 - ₹ 10,946
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton President, on the edge of Utrecht, offers a free shuttle service to De Wetering, Papendorp, Oudenrijn and Maarssen Railway Station. This 4-star hotel also offers free use of both its business centre and leisure centre which includes a sauna, spa bath and steam bath.The Carlton President provides tastefully decorated rooms equipped with modern and luxurious facilities.The Garden Brasserie serves seasonal dishes and the Exchange Lounge is a comfortable place to relax.The A2 offers easy access to the Jaarbeurs Convention Centre and Schiphol Airport. There is a bus stop 200 metres away which offers access to the centre in 15 to 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing