We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't work for us”
Review of In Den Hoofdwacht

In Den Hoofdwacht
Ranked #43 of 215 Restaurants in Zwolle
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We made a reservation here because of the good results here on Tripadvisor but we were dissapointed. The chairs and tables are to high to sit comfortable, facy yes, but not to eat and certainly not when the floor is unever and you have to get off your chair everytime you want to move a little. Nope, not my thing.
The food...well this was a double one. Mine was't ok, I triend the veggie chicken, but I wouldn't recommend it. It's a weird texture and was cold by the time I was halfway through. And the portion was small for the price of 10 euro's. Some of our group had a good plate, spinache and cheese, but far from enough to be satisfied. If you want to have a good dinner, order 3 or 4 dishes and pay way to much for what you get. Ok they wanted to serve us the same thing again to do better, and this we appreciate, but it was to late, it just didn't work for us and so we left.
Service here wasn't ok too, I don't know if they have allot of experience, but we ordered 4 times sparkling water, all we got was water from the tab. Ok that water was free but or they were out of sparking water and forgot to tell us everytime (not very likely), or they didn't listen or something else went wrong but this I've never experienced before.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MemiselfandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2018

We stopped in for a glass of wine and stayed for dinner and were happily surprised with very high quality small plates. We had only 4 dishes and it was enough for the 2 or us. Comfortable seating on the square. Excellent friendly service.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Thomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This restaurant is located in a medieval building next to the Great or Saint Michaels church in the heart of Zwolle. A great place to be and to enjoy the old town of Zwolle for a while. The formula of the restaurant means that you can choose from several small dishes of € 9.00 each. This makes the food varied, but also quite pricey. You want to try at least three or four dishes. However, the food is fine and the service friendly. You can sit inside or out, weather conditions allowing.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Henk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

At 9 pm on a Sunday options for eating are limited so we ate here as the kitchen was still open. Staff were very friendly and one translated the menu for us. We had 3 tapas style dishes which were nice. The Brand unfiltered beer was good. Setting was nice with patio heaters to keep you warm late in the evening

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed In Den Hoofdwacht also viewed

Zwolle, Overijssel Province
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
 
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
 
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
Zwolle, Overijssel Province
 

Been to In Den Hoofdwacht? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing