We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
40
73
39
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
73
39
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi tea coffee per person central amsterdam bus centre 30min abut fridge toilet
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We had a nice stay in you hotel. It was very god for the business trip, as we only needed sleep accomidations and a place to meet our fellow travelers.
The room was very straight, simple. There was a little too less toiletpaper at someones room, so we shared with the people in an other room. The bathroom - it felt very simple, a little too little and the light made it not so pleasent. The bedroom felt ok, very small but we sleeped very well. The bed was very god. The meeting place in the hotel was nice and altso a very god place to have the breakfast. The staff ought to be more aware of things laking. Napkins, spoons etc. When a place was empty especially the big table, then get it cleaned right away. It is a very lovely meeting place the big table but it needs to be always cleaned right away. In the evening it would be nice to be able to have some food in the bar, just small servings for godnight eatings.

Room Tip: Do something to make the bathroom fell nice.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank birgittec2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

The only hotel with rooms available for the dates I am here.
This hotel is in dire need of staff training and a sorely needed update. Supposedly a non smoking hotel, the hotel let's a guest smoke in his room , and he smokes a lot , which makes all the other rooms near him smell of smoke, so much so my colleagues asked to change floors . The bath towels are stingy and the bathrooms are grubby .
After working all day we decided to have a drink in the bar , no ice for gin and tonics no lemons. And for dinner there were quite a few of the meals missing from the menu .
Breakfast was a farce, over the 7 days I had to stay here the toaster broke down and wasn't replaced until we had to ask for one, instead of a hotel style toaster, we got a 7 euro , 2 slice toaster that only fits half a slice of bread as the bread is far too big for the toaster. There is never any bacon in the bacon Bain Marie and when you ask for it the staff for some they either they seem so surprised that there is none , and then they say there is no more as they have completely run out........ 7 days of this ?!!!!!!
You may think why am I ranting about this place? They are charging 160 a night and the service is absolute crap. Either management is letting staff down or the staff just don't give a fxxxk .
I would never recommend this place. It seems as though it's run by some corporate group who knows they can get away with so little at a real hotel price.
Hopefully it will get snapped up by a hotel group that has some sort of idea of how to run a hotel of value

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We stayed there for 4 night in October. Before booking this hotel, be aware it's not close by the city centre, if you have a car it take probably 15 min and by bus it can go from 30 to 45 min and it's 10€ return. The hotel on itself was clean, we had one night were it was extremely noisy but this isn't the hotel fault. The staff are very helpful. If you don't mind not been in the city centre then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maithena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotels, e-commerce at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Hi Maithena,
Thank you for sharing your experience.
We're happy to hear everything was this great!
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

The staff here are terrific! Very helpful after a few trips back to ask questions like a tourist. The property needs a couple of simple fixes tho. The card keys stop working very easy, the main entrance should be accessible with your room key late at night.

The room was small but clean, the washroom is very small. Would stay again, and recommend this hotel! Great value for the money spent!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotels, e-commerce at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Peter,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear most of your stay was as expected.
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed here for 1 night while I was having a weekend break in Amsterdam.
We chose the hotel because of its free parking, which is super handy!

My first impression of the hotel was really good, very friendly and welcoming staff at reception, we even got a room at 10AM, which is normally quite unusual in hotels.
You even get a free drink as welcome gift! The room was very clean as well as the bathroom. Both were also quite big and had all the amenities you need in a hotelroom.

The beds were AMAZING! I've had trouble sleeping for months and it was honestly the best sleep I had in a long while. The rooms are very quite eventhough the hotel is located near the road.

There is a bus to the centre of Amsterdam every 10-15 mins, it takes about 20-30min to get to the centre, which is perfect.

I have enjoyed my stay here very much and will for sure stay here again when I go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naiké D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BastionHotels, e-commerce at Bastion Hotel Zaandam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

Dear Naike,
Thank you for your message and we're happy to hear everything was this satisfying. My colleagues always work hard to offer our guests everything they need.
See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews