We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haarlem, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
rutharten
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The flats are located at 300m from the center of Haarlem. We had a 1 bedroom flat with a sofa bed, small but very cosy. Great mini bar, good coffee in the room and large breakfast buffet. The free parking is a big advantage as we took the train to Amsterdam for a 1 day visit without traffic nor parking stress in the center. 6 trains per hour and in 20 minutes you are in Amsterdam Centraal. Thanks to Karen and her partner for the warm welcome and also a big kiss to Putin the cat from my son.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchBrit...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost. Horrid experience.”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was threatened by hotel owner with a law suit if I would leave negative feedback!

Asked for bed to be made up and it wasn't, parking wasn't sorted either on arrival. Door to bathroom doesn't open properly which makes it impossible to brush teeth over basin. No ventilation in the room (windows do not open), no coffee.

We made some noise overnight (stopped immediately after we were told we were keeping people awake) and owner demanded that we would pay for the guests in the other room since they checked out without paying due to our disturbance.
After we left I realised I left my earrings and went back. Owner than refused to give these back to me unless I paid. I had to get the Haarlem police to come to the hotel to retrieve my earrings.Staying at this place ruined my trip to Haarlem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Every thing else. Owner got personal and was highly inappropriate.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TogetherT...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marvellous apartments and owner”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this apartment for 7 nights while meeting family from Canada - they stayed in Erik's (owner) other apartment (Appartement Droste) for 4 nights. We arrived by plane at Schiphol and the train journey from there to Haarlem Centraal train station (including the one transfer) took under 30 minutes. The location of Relaxed Slapen & Vergaderen is easy to find, just a 10-minute walk from Haarlem Centraal train station.

Haarlem is a beautiful, clean and historic city and well worth visiting. From cafes, restaurants and grocery stores to high-end clothing retailers and boutiques, everything one could need is within walking distance to the apartment. However, it's also worth stating that this apartment provides an excellent base for visiting other cities too. For example, we visited Amsterdam and Leiden which are within 20 minutes by direct train from Haarlem, and The Hague and Delft around 40 minutes away, again with direct trains from Haarlem.

Our apartment was a good size for a couple or small family, stocked with complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea, and a super mini-bar which was very affordable. Every day there was a special offer making certain drinks or snacks even more discounted! The beds and sofa were firm and comfortable with a selection of pillows to suit individual taste. The television had many channels including some English ones we have in the U.K. and the internet connection was good. Everything was working well and extremely clean (the lady who cleans does a great job). In the hallway there is an area stocked with brochures for attractions and maps, and a small library.

The host, Erik, is a very special person who takes great pride in his business. It is clear that he has worked hard to create a well-equipped and well-maintained mini-hotel, and his presence adds a personal touch so you feel like you're staying with a friend. Whenever we needed advice, Erik was always happy to help and find out information for us or to try and book tours for us. When he found out it was our son's birthday, he knocked on our door and very kindly gave our son a card and present. A very sweet gesture from a lovely guy!

We absolutely recommend this mini-hotel if you're looking to visit Haarlem or nearby cities such as Amsterdam. Having also seen the excellent conferencing facilities which are suitable for business meetings/training, this aspect of the building is also recommended. Overall, 5 out of 5!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, cleanliness and Erik!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C
2 reviews
“Definitely Recommended”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fantastic location, comfortable and scrupulously clean apartment, convenient car parking, and above all a kind and warm welcome from our host, Erik! We would definitely recommend it to other visitors to Haarlem.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer D
1 review
“Best place to stay in Haarlem”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On our recent Honeymoon my husband and I spent a week in Haarlem. We found the Fran's Hals suite on trip advisor before it had pictures or anything but the price was very good so we took a chance. When we arrived we found we could not have stayed in a more charming apartment. If I ever find myself in Haarlem again I shall most definitely stay there. The room was tidy and had everything we could possibly need. Also the owner was very accommodating and provided us with advice on places to eat and visit, all were in excellent taste. The apartment was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see in Haarlem. We were also provided with a map we would have otherwise had to buy, as well as coupons to some of the local attractions. If you ever find yourself in the Netherlands I highly recommend the Fran's Hals suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing