We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent area to enjoy Amsterdam from.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Open Kitchen and Living Room
Open Kitchen and Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Liam R
1 review
“Excellent area to enjoy Amsterdam from.”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I stayed with my teenage daughter, the separate rooms suited us,not in the touristy area, which we enjoyed more,and we experienced a different side of Amsterdam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etraveler...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked this off Trip Advisor, was not disappointed! Getting into contact with the host was very easy, she explained everything very well in English. Was very friendly and gave us our privacy but was next door during the day if we needed her. Gave us suggestions on where to go for food or just things to do around Amsterdam, she had maps and information inside as well! You can connect your Netflix on the TV as well if you wanted to kick back and relax after a long day of walking/biking around.
The place itself was so nice, right on the water quite close to the train tracks so if you're a light sleeper not so fantastic for that but it didn't bother me, other than that it's a very quiet area, the beds were very comfy, nice and clean! I would highly recommend it!! If I'm ever headed back I'll try to stay here again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveholid...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Clean!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at the Boat for 3 nights in April. The owner was at the boat when we turned up, she was cleaning the place and she quickly laid out the rules. Which was fine. But both myself and my husband were taken aback when she said that if anyone knocks on the door in the morning around 8am don't open it as she is not supposed to be renting out the boat! She mentioned that it was the Amsterdam city who are not happy with tourist numbers and can basically ask people in rented accommodation to leave! Now we weren't sure what to make of it. The Boat itself was very clean and tidy. And the fact that it was in water was a nice change. It is next to a railway line and we heard some trains in the night but it didn't really disturb us. But there was a fair amount of noise from the apartment upstairs. Saying that I am sure it must be far less noisy than staying in the heart of the city as this is a 10 minute bus ride away from Amsterdam Centraal. All in all it was a pleasant stay and thankfully we didn't have any unwelcome visitors knocking at our door either!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msWurp
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful place to stay with family when visiting Amsterdam”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We took our teenagers (son and friends) to Amsterdam as my husband was going for work during October week (Scottish half-term). I had looked at hotels and other types of accommodation but this was in the area we wanted to be (not too far from Artis and Oosterpark), was a good price and, even better, ON A BOAT! Top marks for cool from the kids. Jana gave us helpful directions and instructions on where to find the key etc. and there were great photos to see what it would be like. However, we were still surprised to see how good it was when we arrived.

Clean, well-equipped, and exactly the kind of thing we needed to have a lovely base in Amsterdam where we could cook up simple meals, hang out and play card games or watch tv/Netflix on those mornings or evenings after we'd packed in a bit too much sight-seeing.
We arrived late in the evening after a drive through France and Belgium but Jana's instructions were clear and easy to follow so we soon got in and settled down. Both the double-bed and the sofa-bed were super comfy and the shower was lovely and easy to work. Great plusses: Amazing wifi...so happy teenagers; Hairdryer, iron and vacuum-cleaner available; simple, adaptable furniture arrangement in pleasant colours which could be moved around to suit our needs; plenty of cooking utensils, pans and plates etc. so we didn't have to eat out all the time plus some basic essentials such as condiments, tea and coffee; toaster, kettle, four-ring hob with extractor hood and a fridge and washing machine. It was a proper home from home.

We woke to be greeted by swans, ducks, coots, and also regularly saw a heron and a cormorant. It was fun to watch them from the lounge window. Noise from the trains crossing the bridge nearby wasn't intrusive and in fact was the only thing we occasionally heard as the place was calm and like being in a bird reserve. We could see occasional traffic across the canal (behind the reeds) but not close enough to hear it.

There's a supermarket 5mins walk away and whilst transport links are good we found it easy to walk into town, trying out different routes each day so that we got to see different parts of the city. It took us about 40mins to get to Dam from the boat and about the same to get to the main train station. Most of our routes took in a bit of meandering and photo-taking too so you could do it faster if you were hurrying...or easily get a tram or bus, or hire bikes. It's perfectly situated close to the centre but not so close that you're disturbed by the all-night party atmosphere.

A proper oasis in the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunlight flooding in and the independance of having such a useful space
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel M
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Feel Amsterdam like a local”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very cozy house-boat, near the trams and buses that take us easily to the center of the city. Very comfortable beds and sofas, the kitchen has everything that is needed to have breakfast and light meals, and everything was extremely clean. We stayed at summer, but I guess that it would be very cozy and warm in the winter. We always felt very safe. It is a fabulous experience to stay by the canal and to observe the life by the canal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excelent condition and cleaniness of the boat
Liked least: There's a train line nearby and some trains are noisy at the evening
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 233
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing