We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food, best service, best atmosphere”

Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka
Ranked #8 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 123
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Description: The Teppan-chefs will prepare the most delicious fish, meat and vegetarian dishes on a hot iron griddle at your table: a la minute cooking with Japanese precision. The contemporary Japanese interior, inspired by the elements of stone, wood, water and fire, is an oasis of tranquillity. The teppanyaki griddles are large enough for seven to ten guests and are ideal for both business and celebratory dinners. Sazanka is open for dinner from 18:30 to 22:00 daily. Lunch can be prepared for a minimum group size of 10 people and must be booked in advance.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best food, best service, best atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've never been in Japan, but a Japanese friend of mine says this is the closest to the original taste as you can get in the Netherlands!! I have ben here now several times and not once the qualitystandard was lower than excellent. The staff is very helpfull if you do not know your way around Japanese Teppanyaki food. Their advice is excellent. Wines are a bit to high priced, but they have excellent wines. Their Meursault is outstanding. The atmosphere is very relaxed, wheather you are alone or with more people. The setting gives you the idea of visiting a Teppanyaki restaurant in Japan.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter490220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    134
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food but too expensive”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great food, top quality and well prepared and it’s fun to watch it being prepared. However, there is a downside; it’s too expensive for what it offers. Seating was at an u-shaped bar, together with two other parties. The sommelier was annoying: could not stop talking and sounded like she wanted to show off her knowledge of Japanese wines. There is also a 2 Michelin star restaurant (Ciel Bleu) in the hotel, which is a bit more expensive, but offers so much more value for money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“poor value for money”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were sat at a cooking table with two other couples, and was fascinated watching the chef juggling all our different courses.
We chose the set menu for 105 euro. the best quality ingredients were used but quite often they were not best prepared. beautiful scallops were over cooked then smothered in a very tasteless liquid. the sea bream was fantastic.
The steak was grilled and presented on a plate smothered in cold stay sauce which made the stake cold, this was served with slightly warm very stodgy white rice.
When we complained about this we were told we should have had paid to upgrade our rice, but for the price we were paying I thought they could have included some nice fresh rice?
next came a shot glass with crushed ice which we thought had been flavoured with tea, but it turned out that had been our pineapple desert, that was very disappointing.
This was followed by cheese cake which was also disappointing, as it was a circle of cheep sponge with a stodgy cheesecake topping, this was drowned in some very strong bitter alcohol which made the whole thing inedible.
after 4 hours we left still hungry and very disappointed.
This is a great way of eating and very interesting to watch but way way over priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alib186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Most authentic Japanese food in town!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

If you miss real Japanese cuisine in the Netherlands, this is the place. Don't investigate or search further. That's the real deal and as close to the original as it can get!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JapanTravelExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Cant recommend highly enough. I had the US beef and it was so tender. As it happened I was sat on the table with the supplier of the meat to the restaurant and I can attest to the quality!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Teppanyaki Restaurant Sazanka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing