We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic way to stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike
Ranked #54 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exotic way to stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I rent Houseboat #9 for 3 nights(530€).Location us ideal(in front of Anne Frank s house).it was clean, well equipped and so nice to stay on a houseboat in Amsterdam.Frederic & his son are very kind and recommanded very nice restaurants. But if you want to sleep deeply that s not the place to stay : church bells chimmed every 30 minutes even during night !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guipruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    51
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
63
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked a house boat in November 2011. "WOW" would be an understatement the boat was spotless and equipped with everything you would want for a relaxed stay. The location was fantastic near to the centre but not noisy, we woke to a craft and produced market on the other side of the canal and sightseeing boat going by (keep curtains closed until you are dressed then sit back and relax watching Amsterdam go by). The guys at Frederic could not have done more for us, it was a pleasure going in to have a laugh and giggle let alone the local information and tips they gave us. We only stayed for a weekend but with the help of Frederic staff and the great location we got to see and do so much. We will be back, why stay in Amsterdam in a hotel when to can live the Amsterdam dream on the water.

Room Tip: We stayed on Houseboat 3 it only sleeps 3 but the location was Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We rented two apartments in the same house on Herenmarkt - Vila Flora and Carlo. Our family visited Amsterdam during a time when a major conference was in town and most hotels jack up their rates and/or require long stays. These were the only reasonably priced accommodations we found that alllowed us to stay just 3 nights during that time. Our expectations were low but we were wowed by the value we received. The apartments were spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. Both had a washer/dryer, very small dishwasher and mini-fridge The owner provided plenty of supplies. She lives in the building next door and checked in with us to make sure everything was OK. Our bedroom was at the back of the apartment and faced a small courtyard between two buildings. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was, even though there is a busy restaurant close by. The location is excellent. It's within walking distance of the train station and close to many restaurants, shops and a great Saturday market. The folks at Frederic Rent a Bike were awesome.

Some things to be aware of that may be of concern to some though they were not a problem for us:
1) The stairs up to the apartments were narrow and super steep, almost ladder-like. I think this is typical for Amsterdam, but it may be an issue if you have mobility challenges or lots of heavy luggage. The apartments we stayed in were on the second and third floor.

2) The toilet was in a small room just outside the apartment. There was only one apartment on each floor so it wasn't shared with anyone else but you do need to leave the privacy of your apartment to go to the loo. The shower was inside the apartment. Also, in our apartment, if you turned on the light in the toilet room, it also came on in the shower room, right next to the bed. A 3am trip to the toilet will probably be noticed by your sleeping partner.

3) You must pay the rental charge in full, in cash, upon arrival. We had no problems with this, but did need to bank funds via several ATM trips prior to our arrival. We provided a credit card # as a guarantee when making the reservation but nothing was charged.

Overall, these apartments were a great value and we would definitely return. Our bike rental experience with Frederic was also perfect.

Room Tip: Frederic has many rooms/apartments for rent, so other rental units may be different from ours. The F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoreTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed on one of Frederic's houseboats with my husband and our friend for four evenings. Everything was exactly as advertised on their website (except that Frederic accidentally forgot to add the cost of one of the evenings when he confirmed our reservation, but no big deal). The young guy who helped us (Marte?) at the check-in office was just fantastic. He sat down with us upon arrival for a good half hour and told us about all his favourite things to do in Amsterdam, marking down these spots on a map for us to take away. When we arrived at the houseboat, we found the accommodations to be very clean and well-kept, and all appliances were in working order. Staying on a houseboat in Amsterdam was a truly unique experience, and one I recommend to all visitors to this great city. Reserve with Frederic and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrekkerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Arcs, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I used Frederic's servicies for allmost all my stop in Amsterdam. I have allways been happy with accomodations, from single room or appartment even houseboats... The team there is so helpfull and speak many languages ;) They provide you with tips, and I allways discover something different because of them. Good people, good place, good vibes!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julien c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#256 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#102 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#62 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#64 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#7 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#29 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike

Property: Frederic Rent a Bike
Address: Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, 1013 EA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,830 - ₹ 15,564
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Binnen Wieringerstraat 23, you will find Frederic Rent a Bike, a small, artistic, cozy bike rental that focuses on delivering an excellent local experience to its clients. Founded in the 1980's as an art gallery by charming owners Frederic and Marjolein Sieger, Frederic Rent a Bike has since expanded its operation to focus on renting out bicycles and forwarding clients who look for accommodation to B&B owners on the main canal belt. Ideally located just five minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square, Frederic provides gorgeous accommodation options throughout the historic Jordaan district and main canal ring. Amsterdam's Canal Ring has grown to be one of the world's most unique urban landscapes and in 2010 the Amsterdam Canal Ring was added to UNESCO's World Heritage List. For more than 20 years Frederic Rent a Bike have been ensuring that their guests have an incredible stay in Amsterdam - by providing an array of unique and thoughtful culinary and cultural recommendations to help you fall in love with this city. We look forward to seeing you soon. We hope to meet you one day in Amsterdam. Frederic, Marjolijn, Marne, Arthur and Jasmijn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing