We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Nickel Amsterdam - never stop there!!!”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #232 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Voronezh, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Nickel Amsterdam – never stop there!!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

It is the worst hotel which I ever met. I will never stop any more in this hotel. Very small and very cold room; very big cracks in windows; a shower on a floor, water in a shower is cold or very hot (normal was never); a rusty watering can sticks out in the wall, water splashes in different directions, to get under the water stream is impossible; ventilation in shower is terrible, in three minutes after turning on the water all is filled up with steam. The breakfast is tasteless. The staff is rough. From pluses – wi-fi and immediate proximity to railway station. I have only one photo of a room. It was impossible to make other photos, because the room is very small. Old Nickel Amsterdam – never stop there!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena_Sviridova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    146
    104
    53
    55
See reviews for
24
93
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

we just got back from amsterdam on the 11th sept was booked in old nickel, ended up in the hotel SCHAGEN, what a dump we was put in room 4 we are a couple in our 40s, and we have travelled a lot of places and not fussy where we stay somewhere to get ur head down , but this DUMP was 2 single beds in a room about 5 foot wide and 15ft long so beds were either end of each other it needs 2 be decorated from top to bottom, so when we went back to the lady who booked us in a SCOTTISH woman who was very nice when we booked in, but the old hag soon showed her true colours when we complained, basically she told us we have had ur money END OF, so be very careful if u have booked in this place before u hand any money over u want 2 find out where u are staying i cant comment on the old nickel or old quater their sister hotel as we wasnt in either but serious dont stay in the SCHAGEN, yes the stairs are winding and steep there but that didnt bother us its the state of the rooms or our room should i stay i can only presume they r all the same, i dont want someone else parting with their hard earned money to stay there, like i told the scottish nasty woman why r u deceiving people u havent got the SCHAGEN on ur website or its not mentioned that u will be in there cos i really cant see how it can be passed as a HOTEL unless the person was BLIND who inspected it YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, oh yeah location is fantastic pity i couldnt say that about the schagen or the scottish hag

Room Tip: check ur not in schagen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRIS43XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel is in a great location and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. They are the only good points! The room smelt of cigarette smoke on arrival. The bedding was filthy. If I hadn't already paid for the room I would have left immediately. I chose to avoid using the shared bathroom. I had no intention of having breakfast there after seeing the state of the room. On reflection I would definately pay a bit extra for a decent (or at least clean) hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anon186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights and paid EUR150 for twin rooms (EUR75/night).
I have a mixed feeling on this hotel.
We are located on top floor, steep staircase. We request for lower floor but receptionist said it's fully booked.
I think she's telling the truth cause after a few minutes, two female asking for a hotel room but receptionist mentioned it's fully booked. It was school holiday in UK at that time. I guess many ppl travelling.
Hotel location is great. Walking distance to Centraal Station and Red Light District.
Centraal station is the place you can get tram/train/bus to tourist place eg Keukenhof, Zaans Schans, Van Gogh Museum.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night only, and that was more than enough. It was very small, and we did not even sleep in the bed, just felt dirty. There is no lift, so if you got a big bag like us, its not a good idea as they fill the hotel from the top floors, we were on the top! There is also just shared bathrooms and NO view of Damrak as mentioned on the website. You also need to hand in your key at reception, so anyone can go into your room, and I find that very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank meliscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#291 of 368 in Amsterdam
719 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#173 of 368 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#215 of 368 in Amsterdam
193 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#204 of 368 in Amsterdam
628 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#141 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Property: Old Nickel
Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,934 - ₹ 22,460
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing