We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cheap Place to stay in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dam City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dam City
Ranked #134 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cheap Place to stay in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

4 of us in our early 20's stayed in the "Powerplant" room for 4 nights. On booking the staff were very friendly, reassuring and clear and replied to emails very fast. They ask that you phone them when you get to Amsterdam airport so they can prepare for your arrival (whatever time - no waiting to check in).

When we arrived we were greeted and told some good places to go, we had 2 "That 70's Show" box sets, as well as a TV, PS2 and a selection of DVD's and games. There was also a big collection of toiletries (and food - which we didn't touch), that had been left by previous guests (deodorant, toothpaste etc.).

Beds were ok - all in all for the price (which is not much more than a hostel), having your own apartment especially one like this was totally worth it. I will never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam! Great location as well!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPfromFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    17
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

first , thanks for everyone who spend time writing reviews right here , after reading the tripadvisor reviews we decided to stay in this wonderful place for relaxing after a sore trip in germany , we booked only for night , we check in so early , the stuff was polite and helpful , our room was very clean included a TV and a satellete machine and a DVD , we enjoyed watching a french Film even we dont speak french , it was a confortable area , they showed us a very nice restaurant where we ate delecious chinese food :) .

Room Tip: -they have TV -they have DVD
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights in March 2011. before booking this place a read a alot of reviews abt it being a smokers paradise. however my husband and i do not smoke and we stayed here and had a wonderful experience. were not disturbed by any smoke smell etc. we fitted in really well. Eric the owner was wonderful and helpful to the max. he gave us directions on maps and even showed us places to visit on his laptop. we were staying in a room at the 2nd level. the only scary thing is the steps to get up as we had huge and many luggages to carry up. the stairs is the old winding sort. however after awhile we got used to it. the location is central to everywhere. right smack in the middle of the red light district but not seedy at the same time. many shops and eateries when we go down so totally spoiled for choices. Eric stocked up the fridge with bread and meat so we can help ourself. his laptop was also on the table for us to use anytime and we had a tv in the room and Eric had many dvds which we could borrow. Our room was wonderful as i could not slep coz of the time differnce in amsterdam and singapore where we are from, so i used to sit uo by the window and look down as there was a eatery and shops where people kept walking y at all time of the day. walkable to the dam square abt 5 mins walk. the toilet had full toiletries and towels provided which was wonderful. not many b&bs have this service. wonderful wonderful place and will be sure to return again but not with the kids coz of the stairs. only if both of us we will defnitely stay here again. defnitely a place to stay for sumone who wants to be in the middle of everything. thanks eric

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAHA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

If your a smoker this is the place for you. Eric who met us when we arrived was great. He marked up a few places on the map to visit i.e places for food , coffee shops and bars.we were given Two sets of keys to are pad and Eric was always on hand if you needed help with anything. Me and my mates loved are visit and will be back in November and will be booking dam cribs again .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonPint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Great apartment 2 bed rooms 2 shower and toilet plenty of space , Very clean . On arrival very welcoming and very helpfull through out the stay. Would sertanly recomend the appartment to friends and family . thanks for a lovely stay natasha

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#195 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Ultraviolet Studios
Ultraviolet Studios
#78 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RUST. Bed & Breakfast
RUST. Bed & Breakfast
#128 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Manikomio
Manikomio
#72 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#95 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dam City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dam City

Property: Dam City
Address: Oude Hoogstraat 7-B, 1012 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Amsterdam Cribs B&B)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,118 - ₹ 3,177
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Cribs B&B is a smoker's friendly guesthouse, geared towards people looking to explore the city at a laid back pace. It's a great alternative to a typical budget hotel or a crowded hostel dorm. The room is private and equipped with cable TV/DVD and a shower/toilet. There is a shared Living room/kitchenette with the on-site host. Located in the heart of Amsterdam, just five minutes walk from the Dam Square, Royal Palace, and the Red Light District. Note: The Cribs has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Cribs Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing