We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in an unpretentious place.”
Review of Cafe De Koe

Cafe De Koe
Reserve with
Cafe De Koe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #807 of 4,624 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 22
Cuisines: French, Italian, Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Jordaan
Description: A good cafe is one such place where you wish you had discovered it earlier entry. That happens to a lot of people when they Cow Cafe, or the restaurant located in its basement Stuffed Cow for 'enter first time. Just steps away from the De La Mar Theatre, Paradiso and Melkweg, our cafe is the perfect place where people meet to eat or drink before the show. Since opening in 1993, The Cow become known in Amsterdam, not only by the combination of good food and a nice bar, but also by her attraction to musicians, artists and hedonists; We mention any names, but everyone has ever been here!
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

This is just a little neighborhood place that was recommended by our hotel, but the food was surprisingly delicious. We had the linguini with seafood, and it was super! Went back the next night for a light dinner and had the burger, which had a variety of toppings. Delicious, reasonable, and casual.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank NYView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2018

Whenever a special guest comes visit Amsterdam I am glad to take them to De Koe cafe'.
The restaurant has exquisite dishes, we could say world cuisine but done using prime quality and fresh vegetables, fish and meat. This is what it makes it special:
they won' t imitate a particular recipe, they will have their own twist,
which in other restaurant would totally ruin the dish by overpowering some elements and flavors. De koe chef (s) instead maintain the subtle simplicity and master the sauces. The result is not a dinner but an "experience". I would have given it 5 stars if the bread /olive oil opening would have still been free and not in the antipasti, but it features an AMAZING olive oil. In Italy and France that is always a free threat, something that makes you realize the culture of hosting in the Netherlands is still hard to conquer.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank videopirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Cafe De Koe is an absolutely fantastic traditional authentic Dutch tavern we always look forward to visiting on any holiday we take to Amsterdam as it's a great place to enjoy a great meal or some delicious beers,we've been here on numerous occasions and always had a wonderful time.
I love the interior,it's set over two floors with great decor and furnishings including an electronic dartboard and there's plenty of seating options spread throughout this tavern,it really is a great tavern.
We were here on a Friday night and this place was packed with a great atmosphere,after a quick study of the beers on offer my twin brother Stephen and I opted to have a beer each from Two Chefs Brewery,these were served in tip top condition and we just chilled out and soaked up the great vibe in this superb tavern.
We really enjoy beers from Two Chefs Brewery,their beers are innovative and extremely tasty and very easy to drink indeed.
We moved on after our delicious beers,on this visit I cannot comment on the meals as we were only here for some beers but I have ate here on numerous occasions and the meals are just superb.
Cafe De Koe is easy to locate Marnixstraat in the Jordaan district.
We jumped tram number 10 to stop Leidseplein and headed out the square and over a cute canal bridge were you will find this tavern.
Opening hours are;
Monday to Thursday,4pm till 1am.
Friday & Saturday,4pm till 3am.
Sunday,4pm till 1am.
A great tavern and well worth checking out.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

The restaurant was recommended by the staff at out hotel - La Boheme. We had a late flight from Schipol and wanted to eat near to the hotel and shuttle bus. We had booked on line for 5.30pm (opening time), initially we were the only people there but by 5.45 the place was packed. You must book as many were turned away. We both shared dips to start with then had a burger each - very tasty and freshly cooked. The noise level was quite high but then again people were enjoying themselves. I would recommed but please book.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keswick7b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

The staff at Hotel La Boheme recommended this small restaurant to us. We were lucky to get a table, as it's quite popular with locals (who often have reservations). The menu is small and seems to be created daily by the small staff. Every item we had was delicious - especially the spare ribs, which I believe are the house specialty. The service was a little slow (it takes time to prepare all the meals with a small kitchen staff, I imagine), but the food was worth the wait, and the cost was very reasonable. It was also nice to watch the kitchen, as it's literally right next to the tables. Definitely recommend this restaurant if you're in the area.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank BethanieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe De Koe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Koe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing