We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My short stay in Amsterdam!”
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freeland Hotel
Ranked #196 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was clean, the staff were extremely friendly and the room was very large for what we paid. One thing was staying on the top floor - that it was pretty high up but other than that I loved it here. It wasn't too loud even though there are a couple of pubs across the street. The continental breakfast included was just enough - and I loved the cat!!! This hotel is well worth the money - the location is great too (except I walked the extremely long way around to get to this hotel haha!) Overall FOUR ****'s!I would definitely stay here again. xxx Thankyou xxx

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here with two girlfriends in early Feb 2012 for 3 nights.
We arrived very late in the evening (after managing to get on the wrong train in the opposite direction from the airport), the guy on reception was a bit frosty at first and told us we should have called as reception was closed but after our rather pathetic excuse he got a bit more cheerful and showed us to our room!

The room itself was a decent size, a double and single bed (was room number 5 on first floor), we had explicitly asked for a quieter room as had seen on trip advisor that the front rooms can be noisy as the tram passes outside the front of the hotel and there are a couple of lively bars across the road! The room was indeed quiet, with a large window, large shower room that was fairly powerful and always had hot water! Very comfy beds as well! A huge radiator which we could turn up and down as we wished. Lovely warm room.
The only noise we experienced which was a bit frustrating was from the 3 16year old boys who were staying in the room above us who sounded like they were throwing the furniture around at times! But there's not much the staff could have done about that!

Breakfast was cheerful and definitely set us up for our days wanderings. Loads of toast, boiled egg, hams and cheeses as well as a range of spreads.

The location was fab. Round the corner from the Leidesplein tram stop and walkable distance from everywhere really! It was freezing while we were there yet we still managed the walks in minus temps!

We found the staff to be extremely kind, friendly and helpful. They gave us suggestions of where to go, what cafes we should visit and directions! It really helped having free internet on their computer as well to suss things out and pre plan our days.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Freeland and I would definitetly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel, and on the top floor for least noise disruption!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maseofbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. The overall experiance is very good.
The only negative thing I can say is the facilities are not in their best conditions but it's not too bad...
On the other hand the hotel staff are wonderful, very kind and helpful. They put every efforts to make my stay in the hotel pleasant.
Great thanks to Jason the receptionist.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaiDarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Spent several days at the Freeland Hotel in early December with my wife---highly recommend this hotel---location is perfect----5 to ten minute walk to museumplein---2 blocks away from leidseplein----knowledgeable,helpful staff ----always courteous and friendly-----rooms quite comfortable---breakfast perfect to start the day------have stayed at several different hotels---all were good but this place is special--if you stay here once, you'll return ---- oh yeah! We did see Sinterklaas while wandering the canals-----Merry Christmas to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great location, helpful staff and clean. I travel to Amsterdam often and you will be hard pressed to find a better hotel for the money

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daver49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#98 of 372 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#138 of 372 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#275 of 372 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#210 of 372 in Amsterdam
593 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#212 of 372 in Amsterdam
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 6,734 - ₹ 19,743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing