We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“High quality apartment on the Prinsengracht” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsenhuis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prinsenhuis
Ranked #107 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“High quality apartment on the Prinsengracht”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed in the Tea Leaf apartment during the week of the Pride festival. It was a perfect choice and provides an excellent view of the canal parade without battling the crowds for a seat. The apartment itself was perfect. Lots of space, nice kitchen and private (small) balcony overlooking the gardens.

Owner/Manager was very responsive and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: In Amsterdam, apartments always have very steep stairs. The higher the floor the steeper the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mile high traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    21
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed in the Tea leaf apartment. The views over the canal, the location, the general layout were absolutley fantastic, exactly what we wanted, a romantic little apartment. Quiet, but central,picturesque and somewhere comfortable to sit and relax.
Apartment pluses;
Great layout,large fridge freezer,dishwasher,senseo coffee machine,breakfast bar,concealed washing machine in bathroom.Good sofa -bit firm. I-pod dock, a godsend.TV and DVD player.
Bathroom had underfloor heating.Shower was good,bath was excellent but did take a long time to run.Plenty of towels and toiletries in wall hung dispensers.
Bedroom tiny but plenty of wardrobe space,concealed TV in top cabinet.Really lovely tiny balcony off the bedroom with a couple of chairs and table.All very clean.
Apartment minus's ;
This is well decorated and considered, but it really does need the paintwork refreshing- urgently. lots of lovely mood lighting but this is a drawaback when trying to apply makeup- so pack a lit mirror ladies we did however find a concealed shaving mirror on the TV unit in the living room on the last day !The bed is quite firm.The only real problem we had was the bedroom which while being located at the back- so virtually no noise, is also directly above the mandarin apartments balcony.We had the badluck to be here at the same time as a group of around 4 who would return at 4.30am and sit and smoke and talk at 30 minute intervals until 6.30am, and while not being rowdy,it did sound as if they were in our room.(to be fair there is something in the handbook requesting guests not to do this).

We took the 197 bus from the airport - 4 euros each and only 30 minutes then walked to Prinsehuis.Brilliant service.

There are 2 excellent supermarkets and bakers around the corner, so eating in very much an option.

Dissapointed that gas and water were cut off on 2 seperate mornings due to work outside and we were left to work this out.Know this happens anywhere but a courtesy call may have been nice. Aldo meant we couldn't make a cuppa, or shower,but not prinsenhuis fault of course.

Would I return here - absolutley.We totally love the Prinsenhuis and are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank originallibertine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Lots of positive things: free welcome wine/beer/cola, very fast internet, marvelous place, nice and helpful manager.

Rooms were equipped with all needed (and some not needed) stuff.

Definitely not a place for business travelers or people used to Radisson/Hyatt style/standard.

But for this money - perfect choice for some leisure trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Great communication even before we left the UK, good information about the local area and how to get to the apartment. We had high expectations as we'd read good reviews online and we were not disappointed. The owner met us and explained where everything was and stressed that if we needed anything he was on hand to help.
We LOVED the apartment. It was just our taste in decor and style and we instantly felt at home. The owner supplied an ipod docking station for our entertainment. There was a bottle of wine and beer in the fridge on arrival. The location is fantastic. Situated on one of the main canals with cafes and local shops round the corner for supplies. The main shopping district is about 6 or 7 mins walk away. So all that is to offer in the city centre is minutes from your door.
The best part was that you felt like a local. The apartment felt like home. We settled in straight away. No keys on reception and breakfast buffet for us. We either made our own or were out straight away to the tempting local cafes.
The owner was quick to point out that he was updating the apartment with new beds and paint but we were thrilled with it as it was.
The only question is how soon can we book again?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirelass96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the hotel was comfortable well kept & without fault.
staff couldnt do enough & help given was wondeful, both on arrival & when we were trying to arrange the transfer to the airport last night for this morning.
Breakfast was fresh & plentyful


We will def recommend your hotel to friends

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawni9565sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
NH Amsterdam Noord
#96 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#229 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#65 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
#116 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Chariot Amsterdam - canal apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsenhuis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsenhuis

Property: Prinsenhuis
Address: Prinsengracht 967, 1017 KL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,560 - ₹ 19,631
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinsenhuis is a newly renovated 18th century monument canal house, and home to some of the most beautiful and exclusive apartments in Amsterdam. The location is the famous Prinsengracht, situated in the heart of the old city centre. Guests can choose from a number of fully equipped 5 star apartments, provided with everything they need to live and work in luxury. Each apartment offers sublime views over the Prinsengracht canal and picturesque traditional Dutch houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Prinsenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing