We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy boat, fantastic location and delightful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
NickyandS...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A cosy boat, fantastic location and delightful owner”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for a weekend in April to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. We were very pleasantly surprised at the location - it's a short walk from a metro station, in a lovely quite street/stretch of canal, just around the corner from some of the liveliest parts of town. The boat itself is very clean and comfortable and well equipped and although there was a plumbing problem while we were staying, the owner Jennie couldn't have been more helpful in trying to resolve it - as she was in providing information to us before we arrived to help us plan our arrival and stay. My only request for the boat would be darker curtains (I was pleased that I'd remembered to take an eye mask). We're already planning our return trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was fantastic
Liked least: I can't think of any negatives aside from the unavoidable plumbing problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsH...
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely warm home away from home”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Wanted to stay with 10 year old somewhere in Amsterdam. Chose this because of Trip adviser reviews and couldn't be happier. The boat is in a quiet residential neighbourhood but only 15-20 mins walk from the station and 5 -7 mins walk from Dam square. Whilst there we had beautiful sunshine yet the weather was cold but our boat always felt warm and welcoming. Because of its central location we never needed to use public transport and walked everywhere . We used the sofa bed as well as the double bed and it was very easy to use and comfortable. Meeting the owner was easy and we felt we could have called for any problems but we had none. The only thing to warn of is that obviously the boat is on the canal so quite steep steps to get in. I managed and I have arthritis but they are tricky especially when bringing a case in and out. Also feeding the ducks through the window is a joy but the swans can be very aggressive and demanding !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: Steps to get in but Amsterdam is full of steps!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avril D
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Oasis houseboat last week with my partner for 2 nights. We have been regular visitors to Amsterdam over the last 10 years and this is honestly the pleasant and relaxing accommodation we have ever found. The boat is very clean, fully equipped and the beds are fresh and comfortable. We highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
712kate20...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique Amsterdam Experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I've been to Amsterdam many times and always wondered what it would be like to stay on a houseboat. As it turns out, it is a great experience and an amazing way to experience the city. This is a small but well equipped boat located on a quiet canal in the center of the city. The houseboat has been recently renovated and is very efficient and clean. You'll find everything you need there--a nice living room and fully equipped kitchen with new appliances, a coffee maker etc., a large bathroom, and separate bedroom. Basically, imagine a great one bedroom apartment but floating on a canal, so be prepared for the visiting ducks and swans! I highly recommend the boathouse and Jennie was very responsive - a fantastic host! I would definitely rent from her again.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCorso
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely home in the Heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We would never have even thought to stay at this lovely floating home had we not "won" the booking at a charity auction. We knew we were headed for Amsterdam and figured "Why not?"

This place is absolutely at the Center of Town and literally in walking distance to everything in the city proper. But perfect location aside, it is simply wonderful to sit having morning coffee or evening wine in the large, day-lit cabin of this cozy, well outfitted residence and to be a part of Amsterdam as it goes by on the canal and as life happens on the surrounding streets.

I'm 60 and my wife is 56, so we our comforts our likely more important to us now than when we were younger. This place sleeps two in the bedroom in a firm and very comfortable bed and (evidently) can sleep two more on the oversized sofas in the main cabin. The kitchen is well stocked with a new combo Microwave/heater oven, dishwasher, electric stovetop and fridge. The bathroom is large with a jacuzzi style tub and shower. Heating, though we seldom needed it, was fast and ample and the hot water, electrical, and all aspects of plumbing (and of course the excellent high speed internet) all worked flawlessly.

The website describes all the amenities but probably doesn't mention the supply of stale bread for the swans and ducks that come to mooch (no, we did not try to preserve the wildness of these now hopelessly-urban individuals) or the fun of the startled look and then the sheepish smile when you catch someone's eye on a canal boat tour of kids, or Japanese business men or whole extended families or college vacationers or newly weds, etc. as they randomly mosey by on the boats big and small.

When you tire of making them feel like voyuers you just close the drapes to perfect privacy.

Finally, although booked it indirectly, owner, Jennie, and her husband were 100% responsive to get us here and settled in. We begged to stay a few more days but they had scheduled a tune up and we had to leave after four crazy fun nights. We'll be back if at all possible! Thanks Jennie for donating these evenings to the important charity Marinus is funding. We hope do do the same for his foundation by helping donate to a few auction to offer any high-biding Europeans an equally lovely experience Oregon.

But next time we're here, we'll be paying full retail and shall stay longer! We are simply not ready to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing