We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, don´t expect sleep or service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Westertoren
Ranked #243 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great location, don´t expect sleep or service”
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Hotel was overbooked (which seems like a recurring problem) and I was brought to Hotel Galery which was fortunately just a few doors away. Receptionist offered to walk me to the hotel, but did not offer to help me with suitcase down the very very steep stairs.

Once at the Hotel, I was asked to pay upfront, the same rate that I would have paid Westertoren, which I did, only to find the tiny cell I was assigned to had no ensuite shower or TV that was promised by Westertoren. To compound the problem, check-out was 11am, but I could only check in at 12noon. This meant I had to disrupt my day, just to return to the hotel, re-pack, and move to the other hotel. (Note: ask to see room before paying!)

When I went back to Westertoren, I was offered an upgrade. Yet, I still felt short-changed. I paid a high rate for a crap room. Then I had to waste time to manage a problem that they created. The receptionist also asked me to return in an hour to move my luggage. I told him to move it up for me since I did not intend to keep returning to the hotel in a day.

When I returned at 4pm, my luggage was still out in the open - with no one to guard it, neither had it been brought into my room. I found out that my new room was not ready yet. I was asked to wait at the next room for about 15 minutes. After more than 15 minutes, they were still not done yet, and they offered me the room I was in instead.

This new room was noisy - as mentioned. It´s next to a tram line and the bells are pretty, but noisy too. I had a balcony, a nice view, two beds (one double, one single), which did not help me much since I was travelling alone. (Note: I think there are rooms that do not face the main street, try and get those.) I did not get to sleep much on that one night.

This was a complicated review - the place is cheap and location is convenient, but you have to weigh it against what seems to be prevalent problems that occur and whether you wish to spend half a day of your vacation trying to sort out the problems they throw at you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    81
    48
    13
    18
See reviews for
25
52
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Its been a few years since I have stayed at this property. And if ownership has changed maybe its better.

But of the many Amsterdam hotels I have stayed in from 1 star to 5 this is the one I would tell people to stay away from.

Those stairs are truly bad. The breakfast was bad. The coffee awful. The bathroom leaked and had a stench. The shower was like taking a bath. The noise from the street was loud late and loud early. Bring ear plugs. The bells from the church also played into this. The bed was uncomfortable.

The whole room seemed sort of dirty.

The service was not unfriendly more just not all that friendly.

There are much better 1 and 2 star hotels to be had. Some even cheaper.

I would read the reviews for this class of hotel and pick somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJohnMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dundee
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Me and my friend travelled from Scotland for a few days, and this hotel was completly up to scratch. The stairs, as others have mentioned, are lethal! I had read about the stairs but nothing can prepare you for them! Staff were friendly, breakfast was good, lovely view - even from the back window - lots of light. We were in room number 8 I think. But yeah, I'll stay again when I'm back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanbanan738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We made a booking with Hotel de Westertoren in January for our trip in May. When we got there, they found our file but told us they made a mistake and overbooked the hotel. They sent us to another hotel that they claimed was 300 m away and was their brother hotel.

We had to lug all our luggages back down their severely steep staircases without any assistance. Then we went dragged our suitcases to the location they suggested but could not find the hotel. We had to go back twice to ask the name and the exact location because they got it wrong both times. The hotel was actually 1 mile away.

When we got to the new hotel, we found out that the hotel had no association with Westertoren and had never heard of them. Furthermore, we ended up having to pay more than what we had to pay with Westertoren.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotslass
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

booked this hotel after reading good reviews, was extremely dubious as it s one star hotel.
first impresion was my goodness they were not exaggerating about steepness of steps, even by amsterdam standards. However you do get used to them but please do not book if you have mobility problems.
the room was very clean but was small our room had double bed and single bed but wouldnt have liked to share with three.
for us we booked for location , just at the back of dam square and round corner for ann frank house.
we aslo picked this over another three star hotel because there were tea/coffee facilities in room. cleaned every day and tea/coffee replenished. staff were exteremely pleasant.
all in all i would recommend this hotel if like us we are never in room (only when we arrive home early hours and crash out!!)
we travel once twice every year to amsterdam but with the exchange rate found it very very expensive this time so take plenty cash.

  • Liked — location and balcony
  • Disliked — rooms small
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotslassml9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#225 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Di-Ann
Hotel Di-Ann
#317 of 368 in Amsterdam
671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#107 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,011 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#196 of 368 in Amsterdam
334 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#255 of 368 in Amsterdam
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Westertoren? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Westertoren

Property: Hotel de Westertoren
Address: Raadhuisstraat 35b, 1016 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,956 - ₹ 14,927
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel de Westertoren 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Westertoren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Westertoren Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing