We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
692
308
41
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
308
41
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram depot the breakfast club great food hall no window street market quirky hotel no natural light rainfall shower great design sister hotel separate shower gave us a map city centre min walk common areas deluxe room amazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

We stayed at the De Hallen hotel for four nights early July for my daughter's birthday. Great base, the staff could not have been more helpful, All our room requests had been met, the air con was a blessing as it was soooo hot. Amenities are great, minimalist but everything you want/need. Black out curtains were great and the room was really quiet, best nights sleep I have had in a hotel in years. Location wise it is fantastic, you have the Food Hall and the Breakfast Club on your doorstep - food is amazing. You are far enough out of the main tourist areas but just a few tram stops and you have access to everything. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor at the front and it was very quiet, cool and dark - perfect for a good nights sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimee_ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Receptionist at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Miss Aimee_Ellen,

we really appreciate this wonderful 5 point review, thank you!

I am so happy to read you positive experience with our staff and that you enjoyed the stay at Hotel De Hallen.
It is special here in Amsterdam, to have this lovely sunny summer weather; good to know, that you could find a cool place in room.
Happy to see, you liked the room all over with the curtain and amenities, just as well as the location of our Hotel De Hallen.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Dora
Reception
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Located in a great neighbourhood, with coffee spots and restaurants within walking distance. Not to mention, Food Hallen just right next door, and probably the best ice cream in I've had in Amsterdam just minutes away. The hotel is fun and quirky, and all your basic needs are met perfectly. I'd only wish that my room had windows facing outside.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Receptionist at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Sherri C,

thank you very much for staying with us.
We really appreciate your review, thank you for the 4 point!

Happy to read, you had the chance to explore our sourroundings. Isn't Amsterdam a wonderful city? I might say, compact, everything is just a walk away. :)

I am glad, that you also enjoyed the stay in our Hotel De Hallen.
I regret to read, that you missed the natural lights in your booked room.
I hope, next time we would be able to welcome you to the brighter side of Hotel De Hallen.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Dora
Reception
Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

Wonderful hotel, fabulous staff and air conditioning in rooms a bonus. Lovely friendly feel , nice and fresh .Nothing bad to say ,had a wonderful time and hope to come again. Loved sitting outside with glass of wine and book before dinner .

Room Tip: We had a room on ground floor looking into centre of hotel and were never disturbed.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Allybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Allybridge,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Hotel De Hallen! We are pleased to read you are satisfied with the hotel, the staff and the air conditioning. We hope you have been able to enjoy our terras before dinner with a glass of wine.

We hope you have had a great stay and we hope to see you again in future!

Yours sincerely,

Radostina
Team Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice and hip hotel close to Foodhallen where you can find modern food. Feels hipster. Comfy beds. Good cleaning. Nice staff.

If visiting this hotel you should know there is only a glas Wall between bed and toilet. Since there are no windows in the rooms there is no fresh air after some hours of sleeping.

Breakfast we never tried since it was 20 euros per person and the range seemed to be poor. Outside the hotel you could get breakfast for half price.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Lisa,

We are glad to read you are satisfied with the beds, the cleaning and the staff! We hope you have been able to explore the great variety of foods the FoodHallen has to offer. We are sorry to read you are not happy with the circulation in the room due to the lack of windows. The reason behind that is that the hotel is a monumental building and therefore, we were not allowed to recostruct much. Therefore, in stead of windows, we have air conditioning in each room. We are also sorry to hear you are not satisfied with the range of foods at our breakfast.

We hope you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you again in Hotel De Hallen!

Kind regards,

Radostina

Team Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Clean, comfortable and near to all transportation this hotel is designed for the traveler. The price is perfect for a place outside the city with easy access to everywhere you want to go. I would stay there again.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank gdsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Front office at Hotel De Hallen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear valued guest,

We are happy to read you are satisfied with the hotel and its location! We hope you have been able to reach all the major attractions at Amsterdam easily. We are also glad to hear you are happy with the price of the rooms.

We hope you've had an amazing stay and we hope to welcome you again in Hotel De Hallen!

Yours sincerely,

Radostina

Team Hotel De Hallen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews