We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely character apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Truelove Guesthouse
Ranked #128 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely character apartment.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed about 5 minutes walk from the antique shop in a lovely little one bedroom apartment. It was furnished with antiques and very charming. The bed was amazingly comfortable and I loved the feather and down pillows and quilt. The wi fi worked very well, the kitchenette was great and we had a lovely stay. The staircase is steep and narrow, but it added to the charm :) The antique shop is advertised as 7 minutes from the train station. This may be true if you are young, fit, and it's fine weather and you have no luggage to carry. If the above does not apply, I'd allow 20 minutes or catch a cab. We were exhausted after dragging our luggage through the snow, but the friendly fellow who greeted us at the antique shop gave us a cup of tea and then helped us with the luggage to the apartment.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment if you can get it - it is quirky and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    92
    38
    36
    35
See reviews for
9
164
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
207 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed at the Herengracht room for one night on a recent business trip to Amsterdam. I arrived at the antique shop and was given the key and directions to the room (and an offer to take me there), and paid in cash as requested.
The room is ground floor, overlooking the Herengracht, at the edge of the city centre. Close by are restaurants, bars, bakeries and other shops, and the area generally seems very pleasant.
From here it is a 10 minute walk to the Central Station, city centre, and the red light district, so convenient for travel, shopping, bars & restaurants, and "nightlife". Buses and trams operate close by.
A very good alternative to an hotel room. I would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbb451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here at the end of January on a short three night trip. Since the guesthouse rooms are based all over the neighbourhood there is no guarantee over which room you will get but we got one that was on the top floor and very near to the train station. The room was nice and clean and the wifi was good, there were clean towels when we arrived, a hairdryer and a fridge with tea and coffee facilities. The only downfall was that the bathroom didn't have a door on it however you could use the separate toilet door to mostly cover up your modesty whilst you were showering!

I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all as a decent and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickjamesknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Truelove Guest House in January, booking a double room for 3 nights. This room was actually at the Antique shop address, directly above on the 1st floor – accessed by a separate door.
A reasonable sized room, double bed, modern bathroom and separate loo, small fridge, Tea & Coffee making facilities. Everything was in good condition and very clean. Having WiFi was also very handy.
The room has a nice large window the entire length, which overlooks the street. Might be some street noise at night, but we didn’t notice it. Central heating was also very good.
The guy who met us and showed us to the room was friendly and helpful. They are very strict about not smoking in the rooms, which is definitely fair enough but worth noting if you’re a smoker.
As with most old buildings in Amsterdam the staircase is very steep and narrow, I wouldn’t like to try lugging a 30kg suitcase up one!
Jordaan is a really nice area, a short 10min walk to the main shopping street & the train station. We paid around 230 euro for the 3 nights including city tax which I think was good value for Amsterdam.
Breakfast not included, but there’s and endless amount of cafes, including one directly across the road & another next door!
Hope that’s helpful – enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!
PS. Visit the Brouwerijhetij Brewery while you’re there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA, Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I had one night in Amsterdam, Jan 3rd 2011, so we could catch our flight the next day. It was very last minute and we called the owners Paul and Sean the night before and they were so gracious and nice. We met them at the antique store and he walked us over to our cute little place (only 65 euro) all the way he told us about the neighborhood and some of its history, asked what type food we liked and told us where to find that kind of restaurant, also told us about the stores, churches, museums and just about anything thing we needed to know!!!
We stayed in the building on Binnen Vissor stratt 2nd floor. It had coffee, tea a little fridge. Important to me, blow dryer and an iron! a great shower/tub and a cute cubbyhole bed. LOVED it and the owners, would stay there again. Very near great Thai place (Thai & Co) wine store (Grape District) They have a lot of places around town and I am willing to bet all of them are worth the stay! Don't miss out on this one!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idontwannagohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
944 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#166 of 368 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Chariot Amsterdam - canal apartment
Centrum
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments Amsterdam Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truelove Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truelove Guesthouse

Property: Truelove Guesthouse
Address: Prinsenstraat 4, 1015 DC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,433 - ₹ 10,103
Hotel Class:3 star — Truelove Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truelove Antique and Guesthouse is located in the heart of the historic centre of Amsterdam, called Jordaan. All rooms and apartments have private en-suite bathroom and toilet, fridge, tv and free coffee and tea facilities. Truelove is just 7 minutes walk from the central train station and just minutes walk to Dam Square, the royal palace, Ann Frank House, local out door day markets and all major tourist attractions and night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Truelove Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truelove Guesthouse Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing