We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dr”
Review of The Prinsen Boat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Prinsen Boat
Ranked #123 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the van Gogh suite for three nights with our 22-year-old daughter. We had high expectations having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The boat is in excellent condition, very clean and spacious for a boat. Yes, the bathroom is small but that is to be expected when on a boat. The bed is comfortable and there is plenty of space for clothes in the low but adequate wardrobes. Our daughter slept like a log on the extra bed. It's good to know though that the extra bed occupies the dining area of the boat so no eating and sleeping at the same time! The location of the boat is of course its unique selling point. The Prinsengracht is beautiful and and the buildings bordering the canal are traditional Dutch gable houses. The boat has a balcony where we spent hours watching pleasure boats pass by while sipping wine. The Prinsen boat is not an hotel, its a self catering alternative - but what an alternative!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank gaggacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed here with my husband for three nights to kick off our honeymoon in July, and we had a ball! The location can't be beat - in a beautiful, quiet residential area away from the loud tourist hordes, our temporary home was an oasis for us. It was the perfect size for a couple, we had everything we needed to be comfortable, and we loved spending our evenings watching the boats slide by in the canal and feeding the ducks and a swan that swam by our open windows. We also loved the funky decor - totally our style! The owner, Peter, was nice, and I'm glad that we asked him to pick us up at the airport. If you know Amsterdam very well, then the place is easy to access via tram from the Central Station. However, we had just arrived from a trans-Atlantic flight, were very jet-lagged, and I had last been in Amsterdam in 2004. SO, having Peter pick us up and take us directly to the house was perfect (I don't think we could have found it on our own otherwise).

If you're looking for a typical touristy, Ritz-Carlton experience, this is not the place for you. However, if you're open to a unique, funky, and fun experience when visiting Amsterdam, check out the Prinsen Boat house! We hope to stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Be prepared to keep your blinds closed unless you're ready to wave to passing tourists on boats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFlyingLatvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My husband and son recently booked the Prinsen for a 7 night stay in Amsterdam. They were extremely dissapointed by many aspects of this accommodation. The photographs on the website were extremely misleading. the accommodation was tiny. One bed and one sleeper couch which when opened took up most of the space. There was 1 towel available for 2 people and this towel was hard and unusable. The boat had spider webs in many places and had a musty damp smell. My husband and son stayed one night and then moved to a furnished apartment close by which was cheaper, cleaner and very comfortable. The houseboat was a big rip off and we would not recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lulu43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter p, Owner at The Prinsen Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Well, what a strange and nasty review.
My first reaction was, ok, you cannot please them all.... Our other 67 reviews, all 4 or 5 stars, will tell future guests enough.
But then I remembered how rude these guests were. They were very unpleasant to deal with, demanding 2 beds when the came in. To such a level I had to get blunt with them, telling them all the information was send to them in the mails during the booking process.
There is a king size bed and a sleeping couch with pulls out into a bed.

Oh well, my wife made the booking.
Well, your wife should have done her homework.
Your wife made the booking for the day after the your arrival. Luckily we could accommodate you the day you arrived.

Apparently the lady who wrote the review is the wife.
She has not even stayed on The Prinsen Boat but feels she has to express her discomfort about her own mistakes by posting a nasty review which is full of untruths.
Spider webs and a damp smell, stayed 1 night.... Simply not true.
What more can you make up to write a nasty review while you have not even been on the boat....
Oh yes, one hard and unusable towel... Please..... There were 4 towels and certainly not to hard to use.
We did not get any complaints from your husband and son during their supposed 1 night stay..... how strange..... especially as they were very rude and complaining when they came in.

Lady, next time you book accommodation, read the information that is provided to you so you do not need to write nasty reviews full with untruths to cover up for your mistakes.

Best regards, Peter

P.s. The sleeper couch folds both ways. You can also fold back so it will not take up any space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Boat was as described and was clean with all facilities,including WiFi, working Excellent location makes this an ideal choice for those wanting to visit Ann Franks or Van Gogh museum. Canal walks are excellent and the surrounding bars and restaurants makes cooking unnecessary. The area surprised us by being quiet even although the trams are only 20 metres away. No hesitation in recommending it for a couple.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tartantrumpsFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our thirteen year-old grandson for three nights. It was a terrific experience and a wonderful place to stay - especially if you're open to a bit of adventure. Who wants to stay in an expensive and routine hotel room when you can reside on one of Amsterdam's historic canals? This place is very clean, quiet, safe, and convenient to walking to Amsterdam's great sites. We especially liked dining at the kitchen table while watching and waving at the innumerable tour boats that glided silently past.

It's a bit intimate-- but what European accommodation isn't? Warning : if you're used to staying at Claridges in London or George V in Paris, this is not for you).

The owner is very accommodating, friendly and helpful. We recommend this place wholeheartedly.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#100 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,210 reviews
Centrum
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#97 of 343 in Amsterdam
45 reviews
De Pijp
Houseboat Little Amstel
Houseboat Little Amstel
#47 of 343 in Amsterdam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#34 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prinsen Boat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prinsen Boat

Address: Prinsengracht 816 F, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 10,379 - ₹ 14,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a memory of your stay in Amsterdam aboard The Prinsenboat that you will always remember. We take pride in offering you a residence that is warm, inviting and comfortable. From the first day of your arrival at The Prinsen Boat to the last day you stay with us we will do our utmost to make sure that your experience is all that you wanted. Our little porch outside is right on the Prinsengracht. We can make arrangements for taxi service, and offer suggestions on activities. If you're celebrating an event, a birthday, anniversary or a reunion let us help you make it a unique experience. You will notice immediately the difference with an Amsterdam hotel. Children enjoy The Prinsen Boat as much or even more as adults. They love the small boats passing by and are thrilled by the life on the water. Also your very little ones are on our mind; we can provide a baby cot and a playpen. Be sure to ask for our special family prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Prinsen Boat Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing