We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already looking forward to my next stay at Barangay”
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
Ranked #6 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Island, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Already looking forward to my next stay at Barangay”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hosts welcome their guests with maps and local information and even a glass of wine. Their personal touch and attention to detail are evident throughout. The room was lovely, cheerful, and clean. The help-yourself breakfast was great and so convenient. I hope to make another trip to Amsterdam and definitely plan to stay at Barangay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwestsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    132
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
84
440
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Wimmo and Goodwin were very helpful and friendly. Wimmo gave us very good tips on sightseeing. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choices. We had very good stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truong-n-Pham-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Lovely B&B in excellent location, easy to find from the station and easy to access the rest of the city from. Rooms are wonderfully decorated and well equipped, breakfasts magnificent and owners welcoming, friendly and helpful. Lovely city and great place to stay. Much recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and it was lovely to have access to a small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Where shall I start....

From the moment I telephoned to make a booking and spoke to Wimmo I knew we were going to have a great stay. He was very friendly and it all sounded perfect and i'm pleased to say we were not disappointed!

The B&B is a 5 minute walk from central station. It is in a fantastic location, very central but as it's off on a side street it was very quiet so a good night's sleep was had every night.

We stayed in one of the patio rooms which was nicely decorated with all the extras that make a B&B great - tea and coffee facilities, a fridge, an ipod dock, free wifi and of course a lovely little patio (shared with one other room). We had a warm welcome from Ed and who gave us a map and told us where everything was and gave us some good restaurant recommendations. Wimmo and God were also great in recommending places for us to go including a lovely day trip to Edam, Marken etc or just having a friendly chat.

Every morning we had breakfast in bed which was a fab treat. Everyday there was fresh coffee, OJ, yoghurt, fresh fruit and then one day we had omelettes, another pancakes and another cheese, meats, boiled eggs and toast.

We had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend it and hope to return again soon. It was easy to see how Barangay has won so many awards.

Room Tip: We only saw the patio rooms and they were both lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou1974Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Barangay B&B was a fantastic base for us during a recent trip to Amsterdam. Our contact with Wimmo and Godwin beforehand was great - we arranged a time to arrive and were greeted with smiles and a lovely drink, then taken through a map of the city and asked if we had any questions about things to see and do. The location of the hotel was spot on and the directions on their website were fantastic.

Our room was lovely - located on the third floor, it was airy and spacious, clean and very welcoming. We shared a bathroom with another room on the floor, but this too was spotless and there was never any issue with waiting for others when we wanted to get ready. The breakfast was great - just what we wanted. The kitchen was freshly stocked with a variety of items every day - everything from cereals to eggs, meat and cheese and even some lovely chocolate waffles. Great coffee machine too! We were left to our own devices once we'd been given the tour and shown to our room - though the guys gave us their cards with emergency numbers should we need them, and we were definitely left with the impression that if we needed anything, we just had to ask.

When we checked out, the guys kindly let us keep our bags there until we needed them to get on the train. This was great as it was a lovely hot day and it would have been a real pain having to lug them everywhere with us. We had a great weekend, thanks in part to the fantastic service and hospitality we received at Barangay. Thanks guys - we will definitely be back again, and I will be recommending you to anyone visiting this fab city!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,054 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,151 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Property: B&B Barangay
Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,676 - ₹ 17,463
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site, thus the best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast Barangay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing