We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
Ranked #11 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sorrento
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Perfect location,friendly staff,excellent breakfast,design rooms,very clean,free minibar and espresso machine in the room

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    116
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
61
428
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed here during an overnight layover and chose this hotel based on the reviews I read here on TripAdvisor. I was assigned the "design" canal view room and I was so glad to have the view even though the street noise was audible with the windows open but it didn't bother my sleep a bit. The room was clean, and the bed was wonderfully comfortable. The breakfast was also delicious and the dining area is just such a lovely place to sit on a sunny day. It was so convenient renting the bike from the hotel and then spending the day biking around the city - this was a great first time Amsterdam experience here at this hotel, especially since it was so centrally located. It was nice too arriving to a stocked refridgerator and coffee/tea setup as well as a strong wifi connection, and I appreciated the laptop sized safe. In all, a very comfortable room.

The only thing holding me back from giving it a higher rating really is the overall attitude of the management there. It's hard to tell if Pepjin is painfully shy or genuinely detests having to interact with the public. The aura wasn't rude exactly, but lacking in any sort of welcoming feeling. I had reserved a bike when I registered online, and when I asked about it was abruptly told "you didn't reserve one" and I had to show my receipt to prove that I had. He reviewed everything with me that I needed to know but rarely looked me in the eye as he was talking to me. And I had read online about the lovely cooked breakfasts that other guests had received, and was a little disheartened when that wasn't offered to me, so I asked about it. They accommodated me and the breakfast was a lovely mix of breads, cheeses, eggs & bacon but I suspect it wouldn't have been offered if I hadn't asked for it, which really does put the guest in an awkward spot. There were also little things about the room that irked me a bit - like there were no screens on the windows and so during the night I was bitten by a mosquito ... and there were no washcloths in the room, only full sized towels.

But I would stay here again knowing these things and just next time bring my own washcloth! The place is very centrally located, comfortable, clean and charming, and really all my needs were met.

Room Tip: The design room has a great canal view but the overall interior design looks alot better in photos t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myszia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A perfect choice for our first trip to Amsterdam! Lovely, artsy B&B. Hosts Rachel and Pepjin are wonderful people, and were a tremendous help for anything we needed, including transportation to and from the airport. The "Design" room is large with a canal view and was spotlessly cleaned every day. They have a fridge loaded with complimentary beer, juices and snacks. The bathroom was full of wonderful smelling shampoo, body wash and body lotion. Every morning we were treated to a freshly made breakfast. A short walk from Centraal Station and a ten minute walk to most highlights. These nice people even held some of our luggage for us when we went to Belgium for two days. At the end of your long day sightseeing, Kitkat will greet you in the foyer!
And don't forget to use their map - it is the best!

Room Tip: Book early! Canal rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This "quirky" little bed and breakfast is faultless , each room has been designed and decorated in a theme and has been done so to a high standard , The owners give their personnel attention to every detail and it shows , Amsterdam would not actually feel the same without staying in this hotel . Its position next to the canal and near to all tourist sites and the station is ideal ! I was originally looking at the larger higher star hotels in the area when my friend (who we went with ) pointed this little place out , we would not normally try a 2 star but the revues were so good that we thought we would try it !! So glad we did !!!! Well done to the owners ...!! If you are looking for a couple of nights get a away ...you have to stay here ..!! (just a warning to those who are infirm or have any leg problems , then ask for a room on the first floor , the staircase is very steep and narrow ...but worth the climb if your quite able !! ) ENJOY !! xx

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor overlooking the garden ...beautiful ,clean room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesHermanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Very personalized service. Absolutely outstanding. We stayed here for one week at the end of June, 2012 and could not be happier with our accommodations and the warm and helpful service we received from the owners--their 'watch' cat is even loving. The rooms are adorable, artsy, and very clean. And, of course it did not hurt that they have Nespresso machines in every room. The breakfasts are fresh, good, and nutritious. Pepijn is truly very helpful with everything. He can get tickets for anything, so there's never waiting in lines to get into the popular museums. We absolutely would not stay any other place in Amsterdam. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: check Trip Advisor before any other site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Property: misc eatdrinksleep
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,138 - ₹ 15,537
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing