We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I booked this B&B after seeing all the fantastic TripAdvisor reviews & they were all right. This is one of the best places I've ever stayed...the service & accommodation were second to none. Our host Peter was superb, he couldn't have been more hospitable to us during our short three night stay. He also cooks a mean breakfast & excellent chocolate brownies (worth staying here just to eat). We shall definitely return! Thank you Peter!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesYoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
77
613
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I returned last week from a 9-day trip to Paris, Bruges & Amsterdam. Naturally, by the time we made it to Boogaard's, we were extremely worn out and just ready to see a few interesting sights and chill. Peter made us feel so welcome, and Boogaard's proved to be an excellent end to what was already a fabulous trip. It is the perfect B&B, centrally located very near the Central Station on a quiet and charming street.

ARRIVAL

First of all, we completely missed Peter's final email with instructions and requesting an updated arrival time. This was not a problem, as he was waiting for us at the time that we had emailed months before. We were even a bit late, but he prepared for that, since we were traveling from Belgium on a Sunday, which is evidently always a problematic travel day from there.

Peter greeted us with a huge smile and super-enthusiastic welcome and quickly instructed us on the must-hit sights and some amazing restaurants (try Brasserie Bâton, Season's, & Thai & Co. - all excellent). We arrived earlier than check-in, but luckily our room was already clean, so we were promptly given the full tour of Boogaard's and taken to our room to settle in!

ROOM

We had the Jack Russell room, which we really liked. The décor is well selected and homey, but stylish. Every aspect was well thought out (i.e. tissues in the exact drawer in which you would expect them, lights where they would logically be, etc.). The bathroom was great - nice shower, ample space and light, good fan to keep it from getting too steamy. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet.

COMMON AREA

The common area that you share with one other room was beautiful and cozy, with a small kitchenette and great sitting area where you can read one of Peter's many travel books. Peter also leaves delicious homemade snacks here for guests to enjoy all day. We arrived to chocolate ganache cake with praline sprinkles and cupcakes. Peter also stocks the fridge with two beers, two sodas, and additional freshly prepared goodies for both rooms. You also have access to a self-serve coffee maker 24/7, along with a variety of teas and soups to prepare.

Also, from the common area, you have access to Peter's private living quarters, where he is available to answer questions or help you at pretty much any time, or so it seemed to us!! He will also let you use his personal printer to print boarding passes for your flights home, etc., if needed.

BREAKFAST

Okay, now for the most important part - breakfast!! Peter is a stickler about time when it comes to breakfast, but only because he prepares breakfast especially for you and wants to make sure that it is ready and perfect when you arrive downstairs! My husband and I were there to enjoy quiche on our first morning and the AMAZING uitsmijter (traditional Dutch fried 8-egg, bread, ham, and Gouda breakfast) creation on our second morning. Peter is an awesome cook, and you have everything you could want - fresh coffee, homemade pastries, fresh juices and fruit - everything. You will not need to eat lunch. We are just sad that we missed "pannekoeken day!"

On the day we left, Peter even sent us off with some Boogaard's keepsakes (a travel coffee mug and luggage tags!) and a thoughtful gift in honor of Easter. What a host!!! We cannot thank Peter enough for providing such excellent accommodations for us while in Amsterdam. We hope to return to Boogaard's soon!

Dank u wel!

-Amber & Courtney
Little Rock, Arkansas
USA

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jack Russell room. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was always quiet, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LR0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a nice B&B in a terrific location, but the owner might make you uncomfortable if you don't sit in the right place; or if you arrive at the wrong time for breakfast; or drink from the wrong orange juice container; etc. etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PDXTraveler4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam-sky, Owner at Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Former Guest,

I believe we always learn from constructive criticism but your review is simply to vague to learn from and certainly almost a non-review in that there are no specific details that I can address. I believe it's possible this is a fraudulent review but Trip Advisors rules make it difficult, if not impossible, to verify that you were actually a guest in our home.

We offer 5 star service for the price of a 1 or 2 star hotel. And that means giving our guests fresh glasses at the table for the various beverages. As a dedicated host, I want to be sure you have a clean glass for whatever you are drinking. I don't care if you drink water from a coffee cup but you might care when I pour coffee into your water. We are a family run Bed and Breakfast and as family, with guests, we all sit around a large table and interact with each other. And yes, because it is a home and we don't have a huge dining room with separate tables, when we have a full house, we must ask our guests to sit in a specific place at the table. This is to ensure that everyone is seated next to their traveling companion and that we know where guests with specific preferences are seated. It reduces the confusion when there are 6-8 guests seated at the table. Other things that may determine the seating include: the time the guest arrives for breakfast, their choice of hot beverage (tea or coffee), if they are right or left handed and sometimes, what I am serving for breakfast will also be taken into consideration. All of these incidentals are thought through to make your breakfast time as enjoyable as possible.

I'm sorry if you found this offensive but I hope you enjoyed our comfortable, clean, modern rooms with en suite bathrooms, shared sitting room with mini bar supplied with free drinks and homemade baked goods daily, free laundry, free wireless internet as well as our famous home-cooked breakfasts.

As always
Peter Boogaard (proud Owner of Boogaards Bed and Breakfast )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The problem with Tripadvisor is that the top rating is only "excellent." If there was a higher rating then surely Boogaards would be right in there!!There is not much we can add to whats already been written about Boogaards other than its all true.
This B&B experience actually become part of our holiday and Peter's hospitality and warmth added to a memorable stay.
p.s. the breakfast are to die for!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our stay at Boogaards was one of the rare occasions that my expectations were actually exceeded! I usually read the reviews on Trip Advisor and pray that the place will still be as good when we get there - sure enough, we were not disappointed.
Peter is a fantastic host - we had a tour of the building when we arrived - its absolutely beautiful. I felt like I was wandering the set of an 'Ideal Home' photoshoot! His breakfasts were mouth watering and became a real talking point. I loved being sat round the breakfast table with Texans on our left and Parisians on our right. We shared travelling tales with each other and Peter told us some Amsterdam history. He recommended places to eat and visit - thank goodness because we had little time to plan anything beforehand!
That type of experience you don't get from staying somewhere like a Best Western or the Ibis.

The bed in our room was the best Ive ever slept in - and thats comparing it to the Wave in Dubai. It was the best nights sleep Ive had in about 12 years! Again Peters thoughtfullness showed when he offered us umbrella's and coats when the weather turned a little dull. He really does think of everything.

The location of the B&B is spot on - its a 10 minute walk from the train station. And I think we walked to the Flower Market in about 20 minutes if that. The great thing was, you could set off for the day and return to drop off any shopping at noon without a big trek back. We came and went as we pleased from Boogaards and after a full day of walking we always spent 30 minutes having a chill out in the living room.

This trip was to celebrate my 30th birthday and I can honestly say that Boogaards made it all the more special. Anyone looking for that personal touch then I highly recommend you book in here.... a huge thank you again to Peter, Tomasz, Pepe and Curly for making this a weekend we will never forget!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,531 - ₹ 14,380
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing