We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip would not have been the same without Peter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 340 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This review comes a little delayed, but when my girlfriend and I stayed at Boogaard's the weekend after Valentine's Day, it was our first time traveling together in Amsterdam and staying at a bed & breakfast. We were greeted by Peter, who is the perhaps the nicest and most hospitable man on the planet. Between his navigational guidance and over-abundance of homemade delicious food, it enhanced our trip greatly. We will definitely be staying with Peter again in the future!

PS: Peter - if you read this, please say hello to Curly & Pepe :)

Room Tip: Ask about street-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbsnyc_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 424 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend in Amsterdam and only have good things to say about the city and Boogaard's B&B. We didn't actually stay in the B&B part but rented the apartment on the first floor which was fab. The fridge was stocked with just about everything you could possibly want or need to kick start your weekend, from pancakes, cream and apple sauce to a bottle of fizz and Dutch beer. We also had all the guidebooks in the world at our disposal.

We are pretty organised as a group of travellers and had already called ahead to make dinner reservations etc. However, Peter the owner (who was on holiday celebrating his birthday) called to welcome us and made some even better recommendations which he then went on to sort for us from wherever he was. All in all, a fab weekend in a pretty awesome part of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The moment we enterEd the premises, Peter, the host knows what we want, he gave us a good map and walk thru with us the key places of interest. Some really delicious pastries and cakes baked by Peter, coffee/tea/Beer&Coke were made available outside the room as well. The creme puff was fantastic! The room was sweetly decorated with clean attached bathroom, very comfortable bed. Location is great too, only 10min walk from the centraal station, walking distance to Damrak, Red light district and China town. Me and my husband stayed for 4 nights, we truly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ven-Ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a visit to Amsterdam where we stayed at the superb Boogaard's B&B. The location is set in a quiet fashionable street close to Central station. This is a great location with easy access to all Amsterdam has to offer. Upon entering the 17th century house, we were met by the owner Peter, who showed us around this exceptional property and explained its history. He also gave us a map and explained where the main tourist attractions are and the best ways to travel to them. We also asked for his recommendations for some good restaurants , which he highlighted on the map. 3 restaurants, three great meals, thanks for that Peter. I would recommend the breakfast if you stay here. Peter puts a lot of effort into it and its great sitting around a large dinning table having a great breakfast and a chat with Peter and the other people staying at the B&B..
The room was very comfortable and the adjacent lounge area with tea and coffee was lovely to chill out in after an exhausting day sightseeing, before we went out for dinner.. If Peter has done some baking, you can sample some of his excellent cake as well..
I would recommend this B&B to any discerning tourist who wants something more than a hotel can offer and I will be looking forward to coming back here again in the future.
Both my wife and I would like to thank Peter for making us so welcome and our first visit to Amsterdam so wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bernie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Everything you could want...clean, comfortable, convenient, wonderful decor, and a host who will do front flips, back flips or whatever kind of flips it take to make you feel like an old friend. Peter know his city and his recommendations were 100% on target. No detail is too small to escape his attention. Extremely attentive to our needs during our 5 night stay, despite a very painful back. I cannot imagine what he would have accomplished with a good back! The breakfasts are amazing in quantity and quality. His baked goods are to die for... I repeat, THE BEST bet in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCWflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 340 in Amsterdam
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 340 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 340 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 340 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 8,520 - ₹ 17,665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing