We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place!”
Review of Cafe De Klepel

Cafe De Klepel
Ranked #283 of 4,630 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Fabulous warm welcome and delicious food. Set menu; pate and risotto with choice of cheeses or yoghurt with berries. All excellent quality. Wine is the key feature here - there is a long wine list, reasonable value and well explained by our host, Nick. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simianfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018

Had a late lunch/early dinner here right when they opened at 6pm. We ordered 4 cheeses, the charcuterie platter, and wine. It was really delicious, beautifully presented, and the staff was so sweet and helpful. We sat outside watching people pedal by on their way home from work on this nice, quiet, quaint side street. It was a really fantastic experience. Everyone else at the cafe seemed to be locals.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing as well as the ambiance. It felt as if we were over at a friends place eating a meal. Small but comfortable. Good people and we had a great evening.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank amirochna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table due to a last minute cancellation (unlucky for them!) There was a set menu but they were able to cater for the fact I don’t eat meat. Great wines, excellent warm service and the food was top notch. A nice spot to be out from the main tourist spots and lovely to be outside on a warm summer evening, although the interior was so nice it would have been just as ambient. Will be back

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jac_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Been here 4 times this year and it has quicklyh become our favourite neighbourhood restaurant. Really delicious food and always interesting combinations; often things I wouldn't choose to order are amazing! No menu so the chef cooks a daily surprise based on what is in season... staff very knowledgable and passionate... and the wine selection is great value. Relaxed but special atmosphere. Book in advance as always busy... deservedly so!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Jimma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe De Klepel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe De Klepel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing