We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper stay with a great view and brilliant experience ”
Review of Hotelboat Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotelboat Iris
Ranked #90 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

It was a great experience. From the time I booked it from booking.com I was anxiously waiting to stay in this boat. I was not disappoint infact it was better than I expected. Wouter the gentleman who runs the hotel was very helpful and very nice person. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. As mentioned coffee and tea is unlimited throughout your stay along with cookies and fruits. The place is very close to the central station and all the other city centre places yet the area is so peaceful and beautiful. You have to accept the fact that the rooms are small since it is boat. But the beds are very comfortable and for me the space is more than enough. For me the WiFi was OK the bandwidth and data was enough as I was there not be in the Internet but to see the city and experience. Only disappointment was that I wanted to stay for about 4 days but the hotel was fully booked so I had only one day. I would definitely come back and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thanks Wouter for being a great host and making my stay a brilliant one.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank malintha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Anyone who has any negatives about is boat is crazy! Home from a 2night visit . The guy who runs boat is nicest man you will ever meet cant do enough for you. There are no tea an coffee making in rooms but theres a coffee machine an biscuits you can use through day an night. The rooms are 2 single beds comfy and rooms spotless. The views from deck of boat are fantastic. Cant really coment on wifi as i was there to see amsterdam not sit on wifi in room! Thank you! We will be back!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jennie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We really liked the idea of staying on a hotel-boat but the reality did not quite meet our expectations.

I always like to start with the positives and there are quite a few with this hotel-boat, it’s location was quite near the station and very central. All areas of the boat were 100% clean and there was a well looked after feeling about the boat. Breakfast quite nice, but the free coffee machine was not fully working so no hot chocolate etc.

This is not a cheap place to stay but did have the feel of a hostel rather than a hotel, access was via a rather narrow and shakey gang plank that’s not for the faint hearted. The bedroom was very clean and quite nice but on the down side the tiny bathroom was difficult to access and showering near impossible if you’re a larger size person. Only single beds that were a bit to hard to enjoy a nights sleep on.

The never managed to get the wifi working.

Overall we quite enjoyed our stay, but I think if we had stayed more than 2 nights the novelty factor would have worn off and the hard beds would have taken their toll on our backs.

Room Tip: End of the hallway room is the quiet option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keithw532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Booked this place primarily because the rest of Amsterdam was so expensive. That said, it wasn't a bad call at all. I was made very welcome at all times by the genuinely warm staff. The boat is very attractive internally and externally. My single cabin was tiny but I knew this to be the case before leaving. Even so, there was nowhere to stand in the bathroom, unless it was in the shower. It was clean even though they had not yet had the pre sailing season big clean. There were strange whirring and rattlings in the morning which did wake me up. Breakfast was your typical continental fare. Free coffee, fruit, biscuits throughout your stay was a nice touch but there were no facilities in your cabin. It was cold for my weekend stay but they had thoughtfully provided a fan heater. I have one big gripe. The wi-fi was hopeless. It was limited to 50 mb per 24 hours but using data hungry gadgets, like we all do today, meant that within 5 minutes of signing in, I had used my allowance. No video, no streaming, just a quick Facebook check and a catch up with the news. My coffee was only half finished when I got kicked out and that was it till the next day. I only bothered once more in the end, and had exactly the same thing happen. The guy in reception says this happens all the time. Yet, go on the Hop On/Hop Off canal cruise and it was full 3 bars, unlimited free hi fi. So it can be, and in 2015, really should be the case on Iris. My only other advice for prospective guests is one of access. It is a good 15 minute walk from the Centraal Station. Once on the jetty, there is a steep and precarious metal gangway. I felt unsteady in trainers. Anything resembling a heel would be treacherous. Also the steps down to the cabins, remember you are on a ship, are also steep. Bare this in mind if you have mobility issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin on the starboard (right) side otherwise your view is of the jetty and the boat windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanstafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelboatIris, Manager at Hotelboat Iris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

We are happy to inform you that we have cable internet from now on. There is still a system that allows a free usage of 100MB without any pascodes but guests can now come get as many vouchers of 5GB as they like at the reception. We are very disappointed with such a review but we hope you notice that we try to improve.

Kind regards,
Wouter van den Berg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015 via mobile

Spent 3 days on the boat. For my partners birthday. We had a fantastic time. The boat was clean and immaculate. Complimentary tea and coffee was an advantage we took great pleasure in using. Would defiantly book at this hotel again. Thank you so much xxxx

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rileyalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#23 of 372 in Amsterdam
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#26 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#8 of 372 in Amsterdam
685 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Angeline
Hotelboat Angeline
#36 of 338 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotelboat Iris? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelboat Iris

Address: Oosterdok t/o 2 Steiger 2 | Vlak bij de ingang van het Nemo, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 9,431 - ₹ 14,114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What hotel boat Iris offers is the experience to wake under the waterlevel with maybe even some swans passing by your window. From our ship you can see central station which is only a 15 min walk along the dock. We are also 15 minutes from the red light district which has a lot of bars and other nightlife. Behind our ship there is also a stop for the canal-bus which can take you to the centre and the Rijksmuseum in a very relaxed way. Included in staying with us is free coffee, thee and choco all day and you can also freely take from our fruitbowl and cookie jar. In the morning we serve breakfast with several types of cheese, meats, muesli's bread type's and spreads, and also Milk, orange juice, bacon, boiled eggs and scrambled eggs. You are also welcome in our lounge where we serve beer, wine and softdrinks. In het public area's we also offer free wifi. We have to warn you about the fact that the data is limited to 50 mb's per item per day because we don't have a landline and have to rely on an expensive 4g network. If you need more you can buy this from our provider. The good thing about a small hotel like ours is that we can offer a much more personal service then the big hotel's in the centre and do it a much fairer price then them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotelboat Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing