We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, peaceful corner of Amsterdam great for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Wharf House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wharf House
Entrance, hallway Table with maps and information in the hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Wharf House
Entrance, hallway
Table with maps and information in the hallway
Toilet and bathroom
The bed
The bedroom
The bedroom in the evening
The living room upstairs
Living with pantry in the back
Living room, desk / table view
Wharf House plus surroundings
Wharf House plus surroundings
Sloop for making private boattrips
Street view Wharf House
Wharf House garden, you can sit here
Look at the canal from the garden
Take a private boat trip
Rent our bicycles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Greeneyed...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quiet, peaceful corner of Amsterdam great for exploring the city”
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Close to all the Amsterdam attractions and only 15 minutes walk to Anne Frank house. Walking distance to the museums. Our favourite place to visit was the Movies cinema, a lovely traditional theatre showing Art House films and only 5 minutes walk.We also loved Harlemmerplein where the Gezondigd Cafe has a fantastic fresh lemonade with mint. Another favourite was the ice cream bar and cafes on Noordermarkt and the cafes in Jordaan. A must try is the Tuin cafe for bitterballen and Mook for pancakes. We loved the Banksy exhibition at Moco - as well as the Van Gough museum and will definitely visit Amsterdam again soon.
Thank you to Wouter for a fantastic location and beautiful apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What a gem! Lovely self contained two storey apartment with spacious bedroom, separate shower and toilet, and upstairs a large open lounge, dining and well appointed kitchen facility. Upstairs has partial views of the adjacent canals. Close to Central Station ( 10-15 minute walk along a lovely neighbourhood shopping street), and even closer to trains and buses ( 3 minute walk, in the local square, which also has supermarket etc.)

There are good restaurants nearby, and the helpful hosts Wouter and Leisbeth provide lots of good advice and guidance, as well as high speed internet, and a phone for local use. Wouter also provides an airport pick up service (€55) which was very welcome after 24 hours of flights.
This place is a delightful home away from home- couldn’t recommend it more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyjoy2...
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Funky rental way better than hotel”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This super cute, clean and well appointed one bedroom apartment (with pull out sofa on a separate level) and fully equipped kitchenette was a great home base for our 6 nights in Amsterdam. We walked everywhere but also had access to great 3-speed bikes should we have preferred to cycle. We did take advantage of the convenient bike rental for a longer cycle to the Zaanse Schans, a popular tourist attraction with a collection of well-preserved historic windmills and houses that now serve as mini museums and shops. Wouter and Lisbeth are lovely - they managed to make themselves completely available to us for any assistance required (they live next door), yet at the same time left us in complete privacy. Online communication to facilitate the booking, check in etc was easy and prompt. I feel more comfortable in a privately owned and managed unit than many Air B&B's which are often being let against the rules of their condo or property management.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, charming retreat in heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This unique apartment is on Prinseneiland, walking distance from Central Station and Haarlemmerplein. It is a two story unit, with a metal spiral staircase between floors so mobility is a must for visitors. We stayed for 4 days and found it was a great location to visit all the sites, but to come home at night to a quiet neighborhood which is obviously home to local people - not a tourist populated area. Wouter, the owner, was really good to work with. He went above and beyond in phoning taxi companies when I managed to leave a purse in a cab. We were greeted with a cold bottle of wine, Dutch syrup cookies, maps and info on the neighbourhood restaurants and bars. We tried Bickers aan de Werf, 't Blaauwhooft and The Breakfast Club - all of which I've reviewed individually.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilsonsum...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wouter was very quick to respond on any questions we had before we got to Amsterdam. I made arrangements for him to pick my husband and I up at the airport and it worked perfectly. We got to chat with Wouter on the drive into town and learn more about the house and it's location. It was wonderful. My husband is an architect and he very much admired all the details in the house. My husband and I are both in our 60's and we had no trouble walking around the neighborhood. There is a spiral staircase from the bedroom upstairs to the living/kitchen area and so just be aware that you have to be a bit careful, but we had no problems. Everything was ship shape in the apt. We loved the quiet location and walking to the local stores, bakery and restaurants. Wouter had maps and recommendations at hand and helped us navigate. We walked everywhere and took the tram, which was a 5 minute walk away to get to the Museum District. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here if you are in Amsterdam. we stayed a week and I will not stay in a hotel again after our wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location on the canal and quiet residential area. House design very thoughtful
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing