We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ash_parik...
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at Apartment Herengrach with our 1 yr old daughter for 5 days. The apartment is brilliant with fantastic view of the canal and well stocked with all goodies that you can think of.

Chan and Gijsje are the most wonderful people that we have come across. They made us feel so comfortable from the time we woke up with elaborate breakfast to packing lunch and snack when we would head out.. they even went out of their way to by us our tickets to Brussels. Every evening we would come back to the apartment and we would find Bottle of Wine.. Apple Pie.. Cheeses... and fridge stocked up with things that we love.

One day they even drove us to Zaanse Schans with a wonderful picnic basket as we did not plan to travel much because of our little one. They even got bath robes, small chair and baby food for our daughter. When we left it was saying bye to family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chan and Gijsje and their hospatility
Liked least: Leaving the place
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleebbat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Wow! Words can't adequately explain our experience. Chan and Gijsje were there to greet us when we arrived. They are the most accommodating hosts you could ever imagine. The house is so charming and unique. The view of the canal is one you can't beat. The location is prime. Such an easy walk from the tram and a very short trip on the tram from central station. It's a very central location but it is displaced from the big hustle and bustle. Gijsje and Chan went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. They provided us with great advice on things to do and the best ways to do them. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was so nice having space -- kitchen, large shower, and private bedrooms. The roof top terrace provides a lovely view of the city. Gijsje created a breakfast that was to die for. They ask your preferences and suit it to your liking. Delicious! And there was always extra for lunch and snacks during the day. I really can't say enough great things about our experience in Amsterdam in their home. It really made the trip so memorable. I feel fortunate to have been able to meet such considerate, friendly, and funny people. We loved our time in Amsterdam and this was a big reason why! If we are able to come back we will definitely be staying here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is my first review, but I felt that I actually had to write one as the experience was just so different.

First, the apartment is perfectly placed overlooking the Herengracht canal, which is by far the best. It may not be the best if you are on a stag night, but we were not.

There are a few stairs to get up to it, but it is well worth it. So clean, so well kitted out, with everything you could ever need, including paracetamol. A wonderful roof terrace, extensive breakfast brought up to your room and two of the most interesting and honest hosts we have ever met.

The apartment made our stay in Amsterdam and when we go back, we will absolutely book in here. It is like a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and hosts
Liked least: internet wifi not the best in the apartment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnik78
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B in the world”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is fairly clear from previous reviews that this is the place to stay in Amsterdam. I would like to repeat/add just a few of our key impressions.
The location is absolutely perfect. You are 100m away from all the major tram lines, restaurants and night-life, yet you are a world away on the top floor and the bedroom at the back of the apartment. The view is something special. Sip your morning coffee and look over the Herengracht canal, one of the prettiest ones in the city. Everything is walking distance - Jordaan for shopping, museums, Vondelpark, etc. We didn't really go much into the city centre (young kids), but that is close as well.
Did I mention the view? It is the best we have ever had. I could not get enough of it.
The accommodation is clean, stylish, with plenty of space for 4 adults.
On to the hosts. What can I say about Gijsje and Chan and do them enough justice. They treat you like family. From the welcome, to special ticket discounts, to the morning feast that doubles for breakfast. Honestly, you will have enough food to last you the day, and it is freshly made for you. Gijsje made hot chocolate, mini pancakes and other kid-friendly meals for our little ones every morning. Then, as we were walking out to explore the city, she prepared a little lunch box for them. Where in the world do you get this kind of attention from the hosts? I have not seen it before.
Anyway, I hope that you get a feeling for why everyone rates this property 5/5. I would rate it higher if it was possible.
The only problem I see with such good reviews is that it becomes too popular and it gets impossible to book it. Because we have to come back.
Go ahead, this will be the easiest and best holiday rental choice you will ever make.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best home away from home”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Outstanding hosts Gijsje and Chan welcome you to their home with an apartment on the top floor of a 17th Century Canal House. There is a fully-equipped kitchen, dining area with large windows overlooking the Herengracht Canal and sitting area. The bedrooms are at the back of the house - very cosy, clean, and quiet. Breakfast is included with the rate and there was more than enough left over for lunch and snacks. A perfect location with all the sites, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Our wonderful hosts provided discounts to museums which saved us a lot of money. This spacious apartment/B & B was excellent value! One must be prepared to climb stairs - some very steep. No elevator. We stayed 6 nights, 2 adults with our teenager and loved it! We were treated like family. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm friendly welcome, extra space, location
Liked least: the stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing