We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting little hotel for a drink, chat and meet the locals.”
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
Ranked #298 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Having been on holiday for over a week, we had laundry to do. We were recommended one close to our hotel and duly did the chores. While waiting we decided to explore some of the little pubs and restaurants in Warmoesstraat (Centrum) and the Old Quarter hotel was the stand-out pub. It has an accommodation booking centre at one end of the bar and we were told they can book you into other establishments in close proximity. Bar ladies were knowledgeable about local attractions and in fact the bar has its own attraction; an old railway carriage recreation complete with luggage racks and luggage! The bar has its own "mouser" with the biggest moustache ever (on a cat).
To put cream on visit, there were some Dutchies in traditional costume just on the other side of the street and, no they didn't want money; just smiles (which they got plenty of).

Room Tip: Some rooms at the rear have canal glimpses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear HenkAnnie,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights - 3 people in a twin room. We got 3 single beds and there was still enough room in the hotel room to feel comfortable and not packed in. The location is perfect with everything on your door step and a delicious waffle and pancake cafe straight opposite. It could be a tad noisy in the hotel rooms through the night but nothing to disturbing to disturb your sleep. The room was a very good price and the facilities were very clean and tidy. The staff here too were also very accommodating and friendly - would consider staying back in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmabonnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear emmabonnett,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

We will make sure you will get discount when you book your next stay directly with us.

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

I was surprised how modern the rooms where. It was a lot smaller than shown in photos online. But it sufficed.
The only thing that really let us down was when we came back to the room at the end of our day, the cleaner had snapped our adapter for our phone charger. Half of it was left in the wall and the other half she put on the window ledge. The fact she left it without saying anything was dissapointing. My husband tried to take it out of the wall and got an electric shock. We went down and told reception that they broke our adapter and that half of it is in the wall, they got the handyman to remove it from the wall, and that was it. No compensation for the broken adapter or no concern for the fact that my husband got electrocuted. We couldn’t believe it...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jusjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Jusjaq,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us!

I am to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam! We are apologised for the inconvenient. Please contact us directly so we get the chance to make your next experience better. I would like to offer you discount/breakfast/upgrade if you book your next booking with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Quirky little hotel bang centre stage , everything on your door-step !
Slept well for the two nights I was there . Staff are fun and very helpful . The twins had me confused for a while . )) . Lots of stairs to the upper floors , so if you're not in the prime of your life a room on the first floor is probably a wise choice .

Room Tip: This is a busy part of town , if you want peace and quiet then Tuscany might be a better bet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Mr. Dermot,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Ps : we are totally agreed on your tip (Room Tip: This is a busy part of town , if you want peace and quiet then Tuscany might be a better bet)

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights with two people in a double room. The room was quite small, but still comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was located conveniently near the train station. Got an amazing breakfast in the bar downstairs for cheap, definitely recommend the "dutch breakfast". Also had a very cute cat downstairs!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear CJ B,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#223 of 375 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#60 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,087 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#274 of 375 in Amsterdam
306 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#234 of 375 in Amsterdam
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 5,388 - ₹ 18,742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing