We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
115
237
179
109
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
237
179
109
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtcanal viewperfect locationminutes walk from centraltrain stationprivate bathroomhotel bartop floorwet roomdam squarerooms are smallredlightcafes
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights - 3 people in a twin room. We got 3 single beds and there was still enough room in the hotel room to feel comfortable and not packed in. The location is perfect with everything on your door step and a delicious waffle and pancake cafe straight opposite. It could be a tad noisy in the hotel rooms through the night but nothing to disturbing to disturb your sleep. The room was a very good price and the facilities were very clean and tidy. The staff here too were also very accommodating and friendly - would consider staying back in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmabonnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear emmabonnett,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

We will make sure you will get discount when you book your next stay directly with us.

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

I was surprised how modern the rooms where. It was a lot smaller than shown in photos online. But it sufficed.
The only thing that really let us down was when we came back to the room at the end of our day, the cleaner had snapped our adapter for our phone charger. Half of it was left in the wall and the other half she put on the window ledge. The fact she left it without saying anything was dissapointing. My husband tried to take it out of the wall and got an electric shock. We went down and told reception that they broke our adapter and that half of it is in the wall, they got the handyman to remove it from the wall, and that was it. No compensation for the broken adapter or no concern for the fact that my husband got electrocuted. We couldn’t believe it...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jusjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Jusjaq,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us!

I am to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam! We are apologised for the inconvenient. Please contact us directly so we get the chance to make your next experience better. I would like to offer you discount/breakfast/upgrade if you book your next booking with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Quirky little hotel bang centre stage , everything on your door-step !
Slept well for the two nights I was there . Staff are fun and very helpful . The twins had me confused for a while . )) . Lots of stairs to the upper floors , so if you're not in the prime of your life a room on the first floor is probably a wise choice .

Room Tip: This is a busy part of town , if you want peace and quiet then Tuscany might be a better bet .
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Mr. Dermot,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Ps : we are totally agreed on your tip (Room Tip: This is a busy part of town , if you want peace and quiet then Tuscany might be a better bet)

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights with two people in a double room. The room was quite small, but still comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was located conveniently near the train station. Got an amazing breakfast in the bar downstairs for cheap, definitely recommend the "dutch breakfast". Also had a very cute cat downstairs!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear CJ B,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel operates illegally -it advertises their hotel address but accommodate guests in another building across the street. That accommodation has dangerous and an unsafe steep staircase. Not suitable for senior people to lift luggage up the stairs.The rooms are also used as a brothel. We heard men and prostitutes coming and going at all hours through the nite. Could not sleep at all. We packed up the next day and left for another place to sleep. We paid in advance for 4 nights and the management would not refund the remaining 3 nites, It is illegal to deceptively advertise an address for accommodation. It is illegal to charge for 4 nights when a guest only stays for one night and seeks a refund.

Room Tip: It is a noisy part of town- there are drunks coming and going at all hours through the night.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacOz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear MacOz,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Old Quarter hotel.

I regret to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Hereby I would like to inform you and i hope to everyone who will book a reservation at the hotel Old Quarter to know what you have booked. You did not book a canal room and it is very unfortunate that no canal room was available during your stay so we cannot upgrade your room even when you wish to pay more. Furthermore, I wish everyone also know if they book a standard or a non-refundable booking. The full payment can be paid upon check in with a standard booking but the full payment need to be paid as soon as the booking is made with a non-refundable booking. Since a non-refundable booking on discounted rates, it is not possible to cancel or modify the booking.

We are sorry because of these issues you were accusing so many different things.

We certainly hope that you will give Old Quarter hotel another opportunity in the future.

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews