We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 192
US$ 181
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 259
US$ 210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 351/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$ 86
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 266
US$ 211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 299/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 108
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 143
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 229
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Casa(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
US$ 81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$ 196
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
113
232
178
109
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
232
178
109
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtcanal viewperfect locationminutes walk from centraltrain stationprivate bathroomtop floorhotel barbar downstairswet roomdam squarerooms are smallamsterdam centraalredlightcafes
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

I was surprised how modern the rooms where. It was a lot smaller than shown in photos online. But it sufficed.
The only thing that really let us down was when we came back to the room at the end of our day, the cleaner had snapped our adapter for our phone charger. Half of it was left in the wall and the other half she put on the window ledge. The fact she left it without saying anything was dissapointing. My husband tried to take it out of the wall and got an electric shock. We went down and told reception that they broke our adapter and that half of it is in the wall, they got the handyman to remove it from the wall, and that was it. No compensation for the broken adapter or no concern for the fact that my husband got electrocuted. We couldn’t believe it...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jusjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Jusjaq,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us!

I am to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam! We are apologised for the inconvenient. Please contact us directly so we get the chance to make your next experience better. I would like to offer you discount/breakfast/upgrade if you book your next booking with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Quirky little hotel bang centre stage , everything on your door-step !
Slept well for the two nights I was there . Staff are fun and very helpful . The twins had me confused for a while . )) . Lots of stairs to the upper floors , so if you're not in the prime of your life a room on the first floor is probably a wise choice .

Room Tip: This is a busy part of town , if you want peace and quiet then Tuscany might be a better bet .
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Mr. Dermot,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Ps : we are totally agreed on your tip (Room Tip: This is a busy part of town , if you want peace and quiet then Tuscany might be a better bet)

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Spent two nights with two people in a double room. The room was quite small, but still comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was located conveniently near the train station. Got an amazing breakfast in the bar downstairs for cheap, definitely recommend the "dutch breakfast". Also had a very cute cat downstairs!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear CJ B,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel operates illegally -it advertises their hotel address but accommodate guests in another building across the street. That accommodation has dangerous and an unsafe steep staircase. Not suitable for senior people to lift luggage up the stairs.The rooms are also used as a brothel. We heard men and prostitutes coming and going at all hours through the nite. Could not sleep at all. We packed up the next day and left for another place to sleep. We paid in advance for 4 nights and the management would not refund the remaining 3 nites, It is illegal to deceptively advertise an address for accommodation. It is illegal to charge for 4 nights when a guest only stays for one night and seeks a refund.

Room Tip: It is a noisy part of town- there are drunks coming and going at all hours through the night.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacOz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear MacOz,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Old Quarter hotel.

I regret to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Hereby I would like to inform you and i hope to everyone who will book a reservation at the hotel Old Quarter to know what you have booked. You did not book a canal room and it is very unfortunate that no canal room was available during your stay so we cannot upgrade your room even when you wish to pay more. Furthermore, I wish everyone also know if they book a standard or a non-refundable booking. The full payment can be paid upon check in with a standard booking but the full payment need to be paid as soon as the booking is made with a non-refundable booking. Since a non-refundable booking on discounted rates, it is not possible to cancel or modify the booking.

We are sorry because of these issues you were accusing so many different things.

We certainly hope that you will give Old Quarter hotel another opportunity in the future.

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Given the reviews on here not sure this would have been one of my choices however was a really good experience.

The cost was around 200 euro's per night in a double room whilst the near by Ibis is around 240 per night so quite a price difference.

Check in was a little slow but there was a large group checking in just ahead of us, the reception is at the end of the bar so its a busy place!

Was on the 2nd floor which it was easy enough to take the stairs but be warned, most all the properties of this type have steep stairs - there was a lift so anyone wanting an easier time can take the lift.

The room itself was quite narrow, no gap on one side of the bed and just enough to be able to shuffle down on the other. Wash hand basin at opposite end near door and very interesting configuration!! The toilet was in the shower cubicle which was novel in our experience but the shower was absolutely fine plenty of hot water and no long waits for the hot water to arrive!

The room was spotlessly clean, nice white sheets and towels. The communal areas were equally clean including the stairways! The toilets in the basement which serves the bar was of a good standard too.

Was slightly worried given where the hotel is (on a very busy main street with lots of nightlife) and clearly there were groups of youngsters staying that we would have a disturbed night but first night was absolutely fine, 2nd night someone was clearly trying to wake their room mate by hammering on the door (rather than going down and getting a second key card!) but this didn't last long and soon fell asleep. View from the room was the opposite wall of the hotel but we were not there to look at views from the window! Canal views are available at extra cost!
Had breakfast there on our last morning - no drama just good basic food!

There is free WiFi, which seemed adequate for messaging/emails/FB/Twitter but tried updating an app and that was very slow.

We arrived very early around 1000 hrs and was able to leave bags in a locked room in the basement. Likewise on check out left bags prior to our late evening flight and this was free of charge.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas O, Manager at Hotel Old Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Commz,

Thank you very much for sharing your excellent review with us!

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Old Quarter hotel Amsterdam!

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future!

Best,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews