We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not recommended unless desperate”
Review of Van Gelder Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Van Gelder Hotel
Ranked #210 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“not recommended unless desperate”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I arrived in Amsterdam Centraal at Midnight and was leaving at 7:00 am with no pre-booked accomodation, luckily they had a room available but it was a horrible experience. i wanted to sleep for 6 hours i barely slept for 3. walls are extremely thin you can hear everything through them as if people are in your room, space is tiny and light makes it creepy, tiny bed and dirty cigarette burnt bedsheets i had to sleep on my scarf and use my jacket as a cover. i wouldnt recommend it unless you only need space to keep your belongings and to be central and pay little. it's a 2 minutes walk from the Central station and 3 minutes walk to Dam square i guess thats the only positivity about this hotel (doesnt classify as a hotel btw barely a hostel)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancydagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    58
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
42
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here in Aug '04 as part of my Olympic vacation. Never been to Europe before and my flight was set for in and out of Amsterdam cause it was the cheapest price around. Grabbed the train from the airport and it dropped me in the center of Amsterdam around 20 mins later. Arrived at Centraal and walked out and tried to orient myself as to where I was supposed to go. Luckily found a map out front and kind of just followed the crowd. A couple of minutes later found myself walking down the Damrak. Did my money exchange, walked around to see what was around, and then set out to find the hotel. Had a little bit of a hard time finding the numbers, but eventually got the hang of it...there was just so much signage to weed through.

Finally found the hotel and went up the stairs to the reception area (that was a first for me, but is fairly typical in older buildings in Europe). The reception was basic and simple and old world decor. Lots of wood. My first impression was OK...maybe the rooms are a little better. So got my key and went to the room. Wow!! I don't know how they got a bed in there. As a matter of fact the door only opened half way before it hit the bed. There was a desk which I could use while sitting on the bed. The bed was worn down but not bad enough not to sleep in, which I was able to do for a grand total of probably 3 hours. There was a big window which I needed to have open because there was no AC, just a small desk fan. Of course, that let in all the noise from the surrounding pubs and restaurants. The neighbors were also rowdy. Made a mental note to bring along ear plugs next time. There was a small sink in the room and the bathroom was a common one shared by all on the floor. It was not certainly not what I expected but definitely an experience I'll remember.

For the price, it had it's good and bad. Might even consider staying in the area, if not here, again knowing what I know now.

Room Tip: If you have any degree of claustrophobia, get the largest room you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I knew this hotel was going to be of a decent standard, as friends of mine had stayed here and enjoyed its many benefits. It's location is perfect I must say, a little noisy towards the end of the day but that's expected, and the windows do a good job of blocking out all the hustle and bussle. It's very close to all tourist attractions, cafes (weed kind), restaurants, shops, tour guides, etc. Everything is within walking distance, but if u are the kind who prefers to let others do the work for you, then I suggest the taxi bikes. You read it right it, a little carriage thing with a cover over it powered by sheer leg power :D It's great fun, and allows you to see Amsterdam from a different perspective; Amsterdam is incredibly busy on the streets so be alert all the time. Tourists stand out like a saw thumb!

The owners were very nice and welcoming, with very attractive rates. I paid €100 for 2 nights for 2 people, you do the math! The room was perfect size for our intentions ;) The room was cleaned twice to a good standard, as well as clearing up our mess! The communal shower and toilet was sufficient, and served it's purpose.

All in all, this hotel offers what I consider to be substantial benefits over many other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in august 2011. We were very surprised with the location of the hotel as it was 5 mins walk from the main train station and in the heart of the city! It was also close enough for us to visit some of the main attractions without any headaches. Room was clean and service was good. A nice place to do what you need to do without staying there too long.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is located right in the heart of the action on the Damrak and a very short walk from the Red Light District. The neighborhood is loud but that is to be expected. One thing North Americans might find a little weird is that you leave your key at the hotel when you leave your room. The staff were helpful, and would tell you where to find the information if they didn't know. Another heads up, the stairs are incredibly steep, almost like climbing a ladder... 4 sets of them if you are staying on the top floor and you have to drag your bags all the way up.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bshubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#205 of 367 in Amsterdam
429 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#137 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,815 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,306 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Gelder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Gelder Hotel

Property: Van Gelder Hotel
Address: Damrak 34, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,503 - ₹ 10,882
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel van Gelder When you are looking for a hotel in the centre of Amsterdam that is clean and affordable, Hotel van Gelder is the right place to be. We stand for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort, clean rooms and proper facilities for an attractive rate. The hotel is established in a beautiful 16th century historical building at the Damrak, the main street from central station to the Dam square. It is perfectly situated among others towards the central station, the arty Jordaan, the Anne Frank House, the shopping streets, the nightlife, the Red Light District and The Rijksmuseum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Van Gelder

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing