We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No need to return” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #117 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grüningen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No need to return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I was booked into this Hotel by my company for a business trip. Location is top, but certain things are not maintained well, e.g. the card reader for the lift was defect, obviously already for longer time, never fixed. Room was on the expensive side for what has been provided. They charged me more for the minibar as I have consumed and I had to complain about that. Good choice of international breakfast. For next Amsterdam trip I will try a different hotel, as they just left nothing positive to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    1,027
    367
    124
    72
See reviews for
314
1,017
121
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Location is one thing this hotel has. Because it's located right next to Leidse plein and a tram stop, it's easy to get around, and you're still far enough from the busy nightlife that noise outside isn't a bit problem. It's also only a short walk to the Museum area, so you can easily beat the queues for Van Gogh in the morning.

I don't like it when you have to fill in a form to check in, asking for more details than what they need for your stay. And even if I checked the box that I did NOT want to receive any email newsletters from the hotel chain, I have received these since returning.

Our room was fairly small for 2 people. The double bed was too hard, and sloped down towards the middle. The air condition did not work, and the average temperature in the room was about 25 degrees (c), so we had to sleep with the window (facing the back yard) open. The room also had a very noticeable unpleasant smell. The bathroom was small, and the toilet was inched in between the sink and the shower wall.

Internet was very overpriced, and the "free" wifi in the reception was for 30 minutes at a time and you had to sign up to access this free service.

This might have been a better value hotel if it was outside Easter, but for the price we paid for 3 nights, I was expecting higher quality than what we got.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plymmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

There was no concierge outside to help with bags - thank goodness for the taxi driver. We were given a crook room on the first floor overlooking a dark lane with 2 single beds made up separately and pushed together. Called reception who asked me to go back down. The (eventual) concierge called the desk and asked for a double bed room (don't they ever read the booking forms we submit?). Another room was given, better view etc. Carpets on both floors very marked, need replacing. Both rooms had a wooden floor - crazy in Amsterdam's cold climate. There was no second mirror outside the bathroom (very small with a badly placed door), no flat screen TV and very small hanging space. There were tea making facilities (totally inadequate for more than one cup per day - no sugar) but no shelves or places to put cases. No info in room re services and the air conditioner was useless. Free wi fi in the hotel foyer but charged in the room.

For the money asked for this hotel it was disappointing although Amsterdam is expensive. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Get one on a higher floor, the hotel is on a square in Leidersplein which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Well located for all amsterdam has to offer. Clean hotel friendly staff. Standard rooms sloghtly small but mini suites more roomy. No reason not to choose. Breakfast at eur 20 per head very expensive.

Room Tip: Balcolny on 5 th floor makes room smaller. Mini suites at rear have no outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very friendly, helpful and engaged staff, clean lobby, bar, entrance, nice room, everything was perfect

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#105 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#85 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Property: NH Amsterdam Centre
Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,975 - ₹ 21,507
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing