We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and safe place to stay in nice location-good despite bizarre nighttime occurance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Central and safe place to stay in nice location-good despite bizarre nighttime occurance!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I am not particularly youthful but I chose to stay at the Stayokay youth hostel because I was travelling with my 11 year old daughter! The hostel has strict rules prohibiting drugs and alcohol in room areas, security is good so it's a really safe environment to intrduce older children to independent travel.

We had a private room since guests need to be over 16 to stay in a dorm. The room was larger than I expected with twin beds, over bed lamps, radiator for heating which was effective and easily adjusted. You make your own beds up and linen is included in the price but towels are not. We brought our own lightweight towels & hairdryer. There was a small table and to chairs which came in handy as a bedside table at night. There was a double electric socket and one by the sink! The separate toilet and sink area is by the door and is screened from the beds at the other end by the shower room in between. Since there are no carpets I would recommend bringing flip flops or similar. The double cupboard in the room would not be big enough for anything larger than a small rucksack and to lock requires two CHUNKY padlocks. We brought one school locker sized padlock but it was too small to encompass the metal rings. Padlocks are available to buy at reception. There are also lockers on a digital based pin system which you can revisit and close again within your paid period. 20c per hour or Euro2 for 24 hours. The pin is easy to remember if you use something like your date of birth BUT you do need to remember which locker number you chose since the pin pad is not actually at the locker.

The reception area doubles as the 'common' area with sofas and a bank of computers which you can pay to use at reception. There is free wi-fi connection if you have your own device.

The staff at reception were very helpful and will advise guests on directions, bike hire etc. My daughter wanted to eat noodles and the receptionist was able to tell us the nearest place she knew of. She was also very helpful when it came to printing boarding passes for our flight the next day.

Breakfast is fantastic-served in the 'old' building- assorted breads and crispbreads, sliced meat, cheese, jam, boiled eggs, whole fruit, 2 cereals, fruit juice and a machine in the mainroom, (took us a short while to locate it), to make various teas and coffees.

A bizarre thing happened one night, which we trust was a 'one off' unfortunate mistake. We were suddenly and instantly awakened by very loud music blaring through the roof speaker of our room. A complete rendition of Jennifer Lopez 'Let's Get Loud', (yes, but not at 1.50am), followed by a portion of Pet shop boys 'Domino Dancing'. The receptionist on duty was one we hadn't seen before and seemed a little evasive about this other than telling bleary eyed enquirers that it happened when the music was switched off in the bar! At least he did assure us that it wouldn't happen again. Luckily for us we did see the funny side of it after my daughter got over the shock, though we still didn't have time to catch up on sleep the next morning! The hostel has strict rules about noise so I'm sure it wasn't intentional.....

Room Tip: We were given a room overlooking Vondelpark but I'm not sure you're given a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazzyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    766
    262
    56
    39
See reviews for
119
152
398
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here as a group of ten students with one teacher. We had 4 rooms in total. One - 2 bed and 3 four- bedroom dorm rooms.

The room I stayed in was on the third floor of the B area. It overlooked the entrance to the hostel and the park too. It was quiet enough at night and we actually didnt see anybody else staying on our floor until the last night of our 4 night stay.

My friends were all on the second floor and it seemed like there was a lot of guests staying on this floor. Also during the morning time there was a slightly unpleasant smell that lingered around on this level. I dont know what it was but it didnt smell great anyway.

The room was pretty basic but clean. I wasnt expecting much else. I was nice to have our own shower room, WC and sink area in three different areas as with 3 girls in one room things could have gotten hectic if they were all in one room.

One downfall- Lack of plug sockets in rooms. There was 2 double plug sockets in the room. One at the sink and one at the desk. As we have three pin plugs in Ireland we need to use travel adaptors. Only one travel adaptor fits in a double socket so there was times where more sockets would have been useful. The room was of average size and clean however there was a blood stain on one of the pillows but luckily we had an empty bed so didnt have to use this pillow. The shower room was gigantic but after seeing the other rooms my group were staying in, it seemed like our room or layout of the room was the most spacious.

Breakfast was the typical continental breakfast consisting of breads, cheeses, cold meats etc. The coffee / tea machine was there too for guests use. The toaster was SO slow and as there was a large group of school children we had to queue for the use of the toaster - a little bit annoying.

Hostel reception was large and spacious and packed with information on excursions. The lobby/ reception area had free wifi which was fast so that was a plus. The hostel had a small bar where you can have a beer or glass of wine. Very protective over the glasses though and you will get your glass of wine in a tumbler rather than a wine glass. Happy hour is from 930 - 1030pm and you will get a pint of Bavaria Draft beer for only €2 instead of 4 !

All in all I wouldnt fault the StayOkay too much.
On the first night of our stay we were woken up at 2 am approximately to loud music being blared out over the intercom into every room. The following morning we asked at reception and it was a mistake made by the night porter. This situation could have been dealt with better as everyone was woken up. No apology was given to guests the following morning.
The location is fine but its probably best not to walk through the park at night by yourself. We were warned of this but didnt have any or hear of any experiences ourselves. I'd stay here again for the central location and general cleanliness of the hostel.

Room Tip: Try and request a room in B block rather than the older area C and D. Its closer and the room seem m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogue186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

clean, great location, good breakfast. i had a very comfortable stay. i definitely recommend this hostel. no weed allowed so that's a plus XD

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with 2 things: the price and the location.

It all went downhill for me from there. Because the staff made a booking mistake, they actually woke us up in the middle of the night (we had gone to sleep after an exhausing party night in Amsterdam) to *move* us to a different room. We had to pack and move instantly, no compensation offered for that whatsoever.

Needless to say, we missed breakfast so that didn't work in our favour either.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Clean and tidy rooms and recreation spaces. Breakfast is AMAZING with not your typical "toast and cereal" options. They actually had breakfast meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, and yummy breads to choose from between the hours of 7:30-10am.

Staff was always very helpful and nice if you had any inquiries about anything. It was my first time in Amsterdam with a school group I went with and they definitely made my experience here a good one! Shared a room with 5 other people and we had our own bathroom w/ a shower which is VERY convenient in my book. Overall, good choice for a hostel :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Hostelle
#37 of 229 in Amsterdam
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 229 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#7 of 229 in Amsterdam
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,958 - ₹ 15,874
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing