We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very smelly and dingy”
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very smelly and dingy”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Booked this hostel for 3 nights, wanted to stay here due to it being very central and within walking distance to most attractions, i.e. anne frank and van goghs museum. My friend and I (22 and 23yrs old both girls) were not sure what to expect of this hostel as there was mixed reviews on here. I myself have never stayed in a hostel before so it would be a new experience for me anyway. We arrived and were placed in the back room (cave) there was not one single window and the room absolutely stunk of a mixture of urine, alcohol and weed. As there was no ventilation the room was always smelly, very dark and unpleasant. The telly did not work and breakfast was 3euros (not clear when booking) breakfast consisted of bread, cheese and a boiled egg. It really is right in the middle of the brothels, sex shows, if this doesnt bother you, which to be honest it didnt me it was okay. The area is always busy so we did not feel unsafe. The shower also smelt very bad which put me off even going into the bathroom atall. On the last night I was soo relived to be coming home as I felt sick from the smell all through the night and the temp of the room was ridiculous..even in winter. I would not stay here again. If your after a bed in a dingy room then your ok. I did not expect much from a hostel but would not stay in this place again.( looks like your walking into draculas house )

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ailsa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    144
    124
    40
    76
See reviews for
17
21
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I wouldn't stay here again. I wish we had the room with the broken TV then a revolting smelly room!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rups_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed in this hostel twice now! Great location right in the middle of the RLD! perfect for finding when you're staggering home drunk wit your mates! Clean hostel, cudn't really complain for the price since a'dam is so expensive! Recommend for travellers or stag groups! Defo not a place for your girlfriend or a place to spend a quiet night in amsterdam! lol! Overall i'll defo stay here again when i visit amsterdam again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imaworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Me and my two mates came to amsterdam to enjoy queensday, we we're all excited about the trip. that is until we got to our hotel, when we first walked in the only thing i coud think of was this place is somewhere you'd film a low budget scarface styled porno, everything was black, with some gold paint on it, classy..and then there was this running theme throughout the hotel of putting loads of movie posters everywhere? for what reason i don't know, stupid gimmick i assume. we didn't actually watch a film all weekend as our tv didn't work..but i'll get to that later..after we checked on the desk we were told to come back later as our room wasn't ready so we went off for an hour or so and came back, to find a grim dark room, with 1 window, which didn't even lead to outside but to a dark corridor, leaving us with no ventilation whatso ever, or any form of natural light, it was like being in a stuffy sweaty cave, and to add insult to injury everything was painted black, how bloody depressing, and another stupid movie poster on the wall which freaked everyone out in the morning, after a night of sweating away in the guantanimo bay style prison cell we kindly asked the girl on the desk if we could perhaps use her fan as we couldn't handle the heat, this helped for the 1 or 2 seconds when the was actualy pointing at you, other than that it was like a sweaty torture, "what have i done to deserve this? i was asking myself", to top it all off we were also not allowed to smoke pot inside the building which would have made my experience slightly more sufferable but no they wouldn't even allow a cheeky spliff, breakfast was substandard warm milk and cornflakes, grim, only good thing about this hell hole was the shower, and lets get real we don't go to amsterdam to sample their showers, as it was queensday weekend we ended up paying an absolutely ridiculous price for the standard of living we had to endure over the weekend, people stay away from this pit its not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We arrived in Amserdam not knowing where to stay. Found this hostel right in the heart of the red light district, very cheap for the city, unique views (with characters changing every couple hours) from my window, and the environment inside was interestingly changing all the time. Do not expect nothing fancy or formal, this hostel will get you the Amsterdam feeling right from the moment you enter.

Room Tip: as for the rooms with the canal view, if you want a new picturesque view in red colours, with charac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmaparicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 234 in Amsterdam
1,251 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#10 of 234 in Amsterdam
546 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#183 of 234 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Property: Heart of Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 234 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,242 - ₹ 29,552
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing