We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
6
3
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed her for a weekend and couldn't ask for more! Very close to the central station and our room was tidy and clean. We had our own bathroom which was great. Angela was so friendly and I was able to email her before our stay to ask her any questions. I recommend this b&b, it ticks all the boxes! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This cosy B&B is only a short stroll from the central station, close to trams, food, drink & shops which is the best thing. Angela & her team were super helpful & accommodating also which was the pleasant side of the experience. Unfortunately the beds & pillows were old & gave me a crick in the neck & the workshop beneath the hostel started up 8am with sawing/banging/drilling so no sleep ins at all. Also - no joke about the steep stairs! But they are manageable with a team effort!
But lots around to explore, the locals are friendly & Amsterdam is a great city!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I'd like to thank Angela and her team for our excellent recent stay at Bethany's. Cautionary note - she is not joking about the stairs! The position of this b&b is brilliant - everything you need is within walking distance but if you want to explore further afield all modes of transport are close at hand. We stayed right at the top of the house and found it to be surprisingly quiet and cool. The bed was really comfortable. The shower was lovely and hot and we had a separate toilet. To cap it all we also had our own little rooftop patio where we could sit in the sun.

Room Tip: The room we had was not in the house advertised on the website but in a house on Spuistraat.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Bethany is located less than 10 min from the train station, and 5 from the Dam square, shopping and many other sites. The owner, Angela, was very friendly. You have access to a small fridge, where cheese, lunch meat, milk and juice, eggs and butter are stored for your breakfast, which you make yourself. Some jam, coffee, tea and cookies were also available. This makes it ideal for having a kid with you, as you can keep their food in there! She had a free portable crib for our baby. When she learned we have a kid with us, she re-arranged our reservation so our room had a tub besides the shower, and we were housed in the building with a garage on the ground floor, where we could keep the stroller! The rooms were pretty and cheerful, very clean and a great value. Lots of little thoughtful gestures, like the candy jar in the common room, the vase of fresh tulips, or the duckies for our baby in the bathroom. The heater worked great, and you may adjust it for your room only. The only downside is the steep stairs, but I imagine that's common in older buildings in Amsterdam. If you have a disability, or do not want to carry your heavy bulky luggage upstairs, you may look at a more expensive but newer hotel. We would definitely return to this place!

Room Tip: You can e-mail with the owner before hand, if you want to arrange for anything special you need.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

when we arrived angela opened the door and showed us to our room (stairs are steep so dont bring that much luggage, but thats amsterdam!), room was nice and clean and the beds were very comfy.The bathroom was next to our room and not in it, also had to make our own breakfast. The B&B was located right next to dam square and a quick walk to pretty much everything.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraincal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews