We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experienced Camper”
Review of Camping Zeeburg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Zeeburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Hi, first off I'm not new to the camping community
So ill try to give a fair and realistic review.
We were very unlucky with the weather at our stay. It rained all the time.
So that did blur the experience for sure.

We stayed in zeeburg in our camper van. We planned to stay 2 nights but left after one because of all the rain.
So I can't say anything about the cabins or Waggons.
They looked ok from the outside.

If you plan on paying extra for a waterfront site make sure it really is on the water. They seem to have a funny policy about that.
Well I asked for my extra paid 10 euros back because I didn't see water anywhere close to my site. They refunded me without any questions asked.
I personally didn't like the way the campers are setup beside each other. But that's because I've been on so many campsites where you can park your van anywhere you like. Plus I'm a huge fan of "wild camping." It gives me the feeling of freedom.
I don't like having my neighbor sitting on my breakfast table.
I just didn't like the setup at Zeeburg too much.
I think the site could've been a I'll nicer maintained.
There are almost no power outlets to charge any devices. The "Power" that is on your campsite only works with special cables. So they are good for campervans and caravans with a Plugin.

On the plus side.
The staff was helpful and friendly.
The tram to the city is as promised just a 10 min walk away.
The prices at the onsite supermarket are very fair.
The campsite is located close to big highways which makes arrival and departure very easy.

Overall I would stay here again. But hopefully with better weather.
It's not an jewel of a campsite but it "works"

Room Tip: Vans and Camper try to get a spot in the "D" section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Maren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Quite crowded, yet located in a peaceful area, not too far from the city centre. Has great facilities, a lot of showers (no additional fee), electric sockets and a place to prepare food. Perfect for a short stay and affordable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zuzasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

It is close to the city, considerably cheaper than staying in a city hotel and I believe it has a lot more to offer having experienced both. We stayed in an eco-cabin, it is basic, but clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet at night time. The on-sight pub/restaurant was a pleasure to visit, with really good food and beer on offer. The shop offered a variety of food options which were not over-priced. Overall there was a really nice buzz about this place. We came with 2 young children and although most of the residents were in their twenties, it did not feel uncomfortable nor did we feel out of place. The staff here are also very friendly and welcoming and it genuinely feels as though they are happy to be at work

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eleejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Zeeburg for 5days in one of their 2person waggonettes, we had the most fantastic time there it was absolutely superb! The campsite is really well maintained, the facilities were very well kept, the toilets and shower rooms are brightly coloured, which is very uplifting and welcoming, there's a fab communal area outside where you can cook food, chill out and take in the beautiful surroundings of Zeeburg and Amsterdam itself. There's a little shop onsite that supply the basic essentials, food etc, we we're able to drop our phones off at reception to charge them up as admittedly I forgot the correct plug on this particular trip lol! The cabin that has the entertainment and bar in is the most homely of places on the camp, it's very warm and inviting, the flowery beer we sampled (alot) was the best, food is well presented and most generous. Although we missed breakfast every single morning lol, it still looked good! The tram ride into Amsterdam Centraal itself is a short walk 10/15min max, or you have the option of hiring bikes from the site. We absolutely love Zeeburg and honestly cannot wait to return on our next lot of travels!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is our second stay at Camping Zeeburg in the eco cabins. Our last stay was in November and this time the camp site was considerably more buzzing. Cabin was clean and suitable for a couple of nights. Toilets and showers were clean, although in busy times you may have to queue. Convenient bike rental or nearby tram stop into Amsterdam centre. The walk into the centre isn't too bad if you want to kill some time. Surprisingly quiet in the cabin area even though it was a busy time of year. Good atmosphere in the summer, lots of young people and a few families. We will be staying here again when we next visit Amsterdam as it is a cheap place if you aren't looking for 5* luxury.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lauzleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,025 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,005 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#134 of 375 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,029 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Zeeburg

Address: Zuider IJdijk 20, 1095 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 249 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 469 - ₹ 7,809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxed place to stay in Amsterdam? Then Camping Zeeburg is the perfect place to enjoy your holidays! A unique location, situated on an island in the IJmeer surrounded by nature and only 15 minutes away from the city centre. With an open, friendly and tolerant atmosphere we welcome all kinds of travelers, from all over the world. You can pitch your tent, bring your camper/caravan or stay in a comfortable wagonette or cabin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Camping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing