We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the good with the bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Ranked #189 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Take the good with the bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I did enjoy my stay at the Hotel Rembrandt. But you have to take the good with the bad. Mostly good, though, which I’ll focus on:

- Great location. One 10-15 minute tram ride from Centraal Station. Nice neighbourhood with lots to see walking distance. I’d definitely stay in the neighbourhood again.

- Really good staff. Always very friendly and helpful. Without exception. Probably the best thing about the Hotel Rembrandt.

- Very nice lobby with loads of books and a beautiful breakfast room. Enjoy a good breakfast and then watch the ducks just outside the windows.

Problems:

- Room 5 wasn’t great. A bit small and shabby (though the bathroom was nice). Wallpaper peeling off under the left window. There’s a large and somewhat disturbing print of a daisy which doesn’t quite cover up the wall where the tacky daisy-themed wallpaper has come off. They should just strip the wallpaper altogether and paint the room.

- I stayed for 7 nights and for 3 of those nights the shampoo wasn’t replaced and I had to ask for some at the front desk. How does the cleaning staff not see that your toiletries have run out? Over and over and over?

- There’s an inconsistent smoking policy. No smoking in the rooms which is great. But people were smoking in the courtyard below room 5 (less three meters away) and the smoke got bad enough that they might as well have been smoking in my room. I complained and the staff was courteous, but not really sure what to do. A notice in the breakfast room says that smokers can go to the street in front of the hotel. No one was really sure if smoking in the back was allowed or not. I ended up just closing my window (and giving up a nice breeze coming in). They should ban smoking in the back deck/garden.

But the nice staff and great location would make me recommend the Hotel Rembrandt.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    132
    52
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
85
48
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Rembrandt, was a great painter who used to live here. And really felt nice to stay in hotel.
And also
Best location,near Tram stop,main rail station is 10-12 mins
Breakfast was good
Hotel staf are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Excellent value. Really friendly and helpful staff. Great location for central Amsterdam. Good security.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Nice Hotel with friendly staff and free wifi in the room.
10 mins away (by feet) from central amsterdam.
Our room was quite big with a little nice balcony ( perfect if you're a smoker )

Quite expensive breakfast for what it was ( this is the only negative thing )

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This Holte is very good. As we were in a trip around Europe I think we find one of the best in Amsterdam! The position is EXCELLENT, is near everything you need the center! The staff was so kind and could help us with every information! The rooms were clean and big and we could sleep well.
Thank to the staff and hope to come again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morimoto_Shimpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#234 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#191 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#218 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#236 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Property: Hotel Rembrandt
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,174 - ₹ 16,125
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing