We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and charming hotel. If you can accept small rooms this is a good place.”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #113 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The hotel is very close to Central Station. If you are interested in trains, it has model trains and train-related photographs and mementos everywhere. The staff was polite and helpful A simple and adequate breakfast came with the room, as did wifi access. If you do not mind small rooms this is a fine place to lodge at. We arrived early, many hours before check-in, and they accommodated us in holding our luggage while we went out sightseeing, and offered us the breakfast as well. We also needed them to hold our luggage for many hours on the day we checked out and that was also no problem.

If all you are going to do is use a room for sleep and catch up on wifi, the bed was comfortable and this was a nice place to be.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms face away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Ideal location, close to the train station, but rooms are just OK, clean and very tiny. Bed was comfortable; Breakfast selection was a good variety, ample and satisfying. Room had no a/c, but a fan was provided. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gatman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

As I have mentioned in previous reviews, this is the only hotel I care to stay at when I return to Amsterdam. The staff is very friendly and helpful when there is a problem. The room are clean, cozy and relaxing and there`s a nice breakfast offering. The main rail station, Centraal Station and a major tram stop is less than a 5 minute walk across the street. There`s plenty of shopping and wonders to behold, all just a couple minutes walk from the hotel. What more could you ask for? I have plans in the works to return in April and will be staying at the A-Train again. I am very satisfied during my stays there and would recomend it to travelers and to my friends......

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnfrommilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos H, Eigenaar at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you, you make me blush!

Very pleased to hear that you appreciate the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Very unique hotel with train motif in lobby. All staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location within 2 to 3 blocks of Central Station and downtown Amsterdam. No air conditioning but acceptable. Within one to two miles of museums and most sights in the city.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Syd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Whilst my room was small, and that an upgrade to a double, when it was just me, it was adequate. Though would have been a squeeze for two of us. Otherwise the hotel had everything I wanted. It is a short walk to the station, close to the main areas in town, in fact not many hotels will be better and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It depends what you want - front has a little more noise, but minimal, and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyscribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,246 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 373 in Amsterdam
862 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 373 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 7,329 - ₹ 21,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing