We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
289
475
181
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
475
181
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews themed hotel central station railway memorabilia great location boiled eggs the breakfast area vending machine continental breakfast rooms are small unique hotel no air conditioning nice breakfast dam square cold meats red light district couple of nights short break
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Our overnight stay was brief but entirely satisfactory. Location was near harbor, train station, food and shopping, i.e., just what we needed. Also, the free breakfast with small eating area adjacent provided a quick start to the morning.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had a fantastic time at the A-Train hotel. The decor was fun. Yes the rooms were small by American standards, but quite comfortable and I didn't mind having only two steps to the bathroom after a long day of walking. The best things were - the staff, very friendly and helpful, the ice machine - yes, you could get a cup of ice on the way back to your room, and the elevator/lift. Again, after a long day walking it was good to be pampered. We enjoyed the breakfast, and coffee or tea was available all day. There is a grocery store to the right as you are looking at the main door- not to be confused with the 'supermarket' to the left which just had drinks and snacks. I got my cheese to take home from the grocery, much cheaper. Would gladly stay there again next time I'm in Amsterdam. Thanks!!

Room Tip: We were in the B wing - it was quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

What you see, is what you get!

It's a great little place and the staff were all amazing, very kind and very helpful.

The included breakfast every morning was great, there is no hot food as such only toast, sliced ham chicken and 2 different cheeses to add or you can get cereals, yoghurt or fruit. It was perfect to get our day started, no complaints!

The location is a must! In the heart of Central station, everything within walking distance (red light district, restaurants, cafe's and more). We hired a bike from a shop only a couple of doors up to explore the further sides of Amsterdam :)

The room itself was average, and just came with 2 single beds, a little desk and cupboard & the bathroom was small too.. it's a great little room if you don't plan to spend much time in there (which is why we got it, just to sleep whilst we too busy exploring) :) The room was very clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephntrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The A Train Hotel was a great place to stay for us, central and clean.

We stayed in a basic double room. The bedroom was compact, but that's the way these old Amsterdam buildings are. Our room was in the back half of the hotel which dated from the late 1600s. We overlooked the glass roof of the dining room so had no noise from the street at all and plenty of natural light.

Comfortable bed, small but clean ensuite with toilet, sink and shower and a built-in hairdryer and soap and shower gel dispensers. The room had a small desk/table attached to one wall, a couple of chairs, a wardrobe with a small safe and a flat screen TV on the wall (channels in a variety of languages). There was also a powerful fan stored in the wardrobe for warmer nights and a telephone.

Five plug sockets were more than adequate for all our charging needs.

The highlight of this hotel was the Pullman Lounge dining room. Set out the a train carriage and surrounded with pictures and memorabilia. The complimentary breakfast was eaten here - cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheese, toast, boiled eggs, juice, teas and coffee.

Outside of breakfast hours you can still sit in the lounge and get drinks and snacks from the vending machine or eat food you've bought elsewhere. There's a convenience store called Albert Heijn two doors from the hotel.

Elevators were available which meant we didn't have to negotiate the traditionally steep Amsterdam stairs!

Luggage storage was available after we checked out. The train station is just across the road, as are the canal boat tours and sightseeing bus.

Additionally, the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

If we were to return to Amsterdam we'd happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank searingidolatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Yes, this hotel is in a great location. However, the room was incredibly small with no air conditioning. Because there was no air conditioning we had to leave the window open all the time. So, the noise level from the street was loud - all day and all night. On the other hand, the staff was really nice. They were available 24 hours a day. They made arrangements for a taxi to be available at 3:30 a.m. to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews