We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
289
475
181
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
475
181
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews themed hotel central station railway memorabilia great location boiled eggs the breakfast area vending machine continental breakfast rooms are small unique hotel no air conditioning nice breakfast dam square cold meats red light district couple of nights short break
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

What you see, is what you get!

It's a great little place and the staff were all amazing, very kind and very helpful.

The included breakfast every morning was great, there is no hot food as such only toast, sliced ham chicken and 2 different cheeses to add or you can get cereals, yoghurt or fruit. It was perfect to get our day started, no complaints!

The location is a must! In the heart of Central station, everything within walking distance (red light district, restaurants, cafe's and more). We hired a bike from a shop only a couple of doors up to explore the further sides of Amsterdam :)

The room itself was average, and just came with 2 single beds, a little desk and cupboard & the bathroom was small too.. it's a great little room if you don't plan to spend much time in there (which is why we got it, just to sleep whilst we too busy exploring) :) The room was very clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephntrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The A Train Hotel was a great place to stay for us, central and clean.

We stayed in a basic double room. The bedroom was compact, but that's the way these old Amsterdam buildings are. Our room was in the back half of the hotel which dated from the late 1600s. We overlooked the glass roof of the dining room so had no noise from the street at all and plenty of natural light.

Comfortable bed, small but clean ensuite with toilet, sink and shower and a built-in hairdryer and soap and shower gel dispensers. The room had a small desk/table attached to one wall, a couple of chairs, a wardrobe with a small safe and a flat screen TV on the wall (channels in a variety of languages). There was also a powerful fan stored in the wardrobe for warmer nights and a telephone.

Five plug sockets were more than adequate for all our charging needs.

The highlight of this hotel was the Pullman Lounge dining room. Set out the a train carriage and surrounded with pictures and memorabilia. The complimentary breakfast was eaten here - cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheese, toast, boiled eggs, juice, teas and coffee.

Outside of breakfast hours you can still sit in the lounge and get drinks and snacks from the vending machine or eat food you've bought elsewhere. There's a convenience store called Albert Heijn two doors from the hotel.

Elevators were available which meant we didn't have to negotiate the traditionally steep Amsterdam stairs!

Luggage storage was available after we checked out. The train station is just across the road, as are the canal boat tours and sightseeing bus.

Additionally, the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

If we were to return to Amsterdam we'd happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank searingidolatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Yes, this hotel is in a great location. However, the room was incredibly small with no air conditioning. Because there was no air conditioning we had to leave the window open all the time. So, the noise level from the street was loud - all day and all night. On the other hand, the staff was really nice. They were available 24 hours a day. They made arrangements for a taxi to be available at 3:30 a.m. to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

You can see the hotel from the railway station - its right opposite. Everywhere is easy walking in Amsterdam because there is lots to see along the way and as the hotel is near the railway station its good for getting directions to get back and you wont get lost for long. Clean, efficient size room, help yourself to anything breakfast in the most quirky of cafe style surroundings - loved the trains hanging from the ceiling ! Very laid back - I would happily stay here again -no problem.

Room Tip: It was quiet at the back - don't know about the front - its on a main road.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The room was tiny tiny! dusty, no air conditioning, a small fan provided but nowhere to comfortably plug it in to be of any effect.
No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, we had to pay to use the coffee making machine downstairs outside of breakfast hours (have spoken to travel agent about this as I always ask for tea and coffee making facilities in the room)
We had a very small double bed pushed up against the wall and it was extremely difficult to get in and out of bed to go to the toilet during the night without climbing over the other person of banging your head on the sloping wall, the mattress felt like it was sloping towards the floor making the person on the outside feel like they were going to fall off. Those that are quite a few years younger than us may not have had quite as much trouble! (Friends had a room with 2 single beds, they said they also felt like they were going to fall out of bed.)
The first night we were there it was really hot and stuffy so we left the window open for some air because there was no air conditioning, big mistake - mosquitoes!!!
I expected the cold meat and cheeses provided for b/fast to be somehow cooled but they weren't (maybe some ice underneath the bowls, especially as it was summer)
The lift and landing outside our room smelt really stale and musty and also of cigarette smoke.
Gina who worked in the dining room was very helpful and friendly, a lovely lady, also the young fellow at the front desk was also very nice and friendly, sorry I didn't get your name.
The location of the hotel is excellent, great food outlets nearby, shopping, train, tram etc.
WIFI was good.
Not a hotel that we would wish to stay in again nor one that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherylboland4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos H, Eigenaar at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small. Drastic changes, as replacing walls, were not allowed by the "Department of the Environment Historic Buildings Bureau".
All our matrasses were renewed last year for a 'harder' version then the old ones.
Sorry that you had problems with the heat, the one thing we cannot influence is the weather! The problem in a hotel is that you cannot leave the room door open once it is occupied. So ventilation is a serious problem, the building literally heats up when it is hot for some days in a row. We do provide each room with a powerful fan, extra fans available. The lounge has two airco's, working 24/7, also free ICE CUBES and chilled water available. So you can cool down in the lounge. From approximately march 2018 all rooms will have airco.
All our our cheese, ham and chicken slices are of course presented in a electrical cooled Deli case during breakfast.
Trust you had a good time in our beautiful city anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews