We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and convenient!”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #115 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had a fantastic time at the A-Train hotel. The decor was fun. Yes the rooms were small by American standards, but quite comfortable and I didn't mind having only two steps to the bathroom after a long day of walking. The best things were - the staff, very friendly and helpful, the ice machine - yes, you could get a cup of ice on the way back to your room, and the elevator/lift. Again, after a long day walking it was good to be pampered. We enjoyed the breakfast, and coffee or tea was available all day. There is a grocery store to the right as you are looking at the main door- not to be confused with the 'supermarket' to the left which just had drinks and snacks. I got my cheese to take home from the grocery, much cheaper. Would gladly stay there again next time I'm in Amsterdam. Thanks!!

Room Tip: We were in the B wing - it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

What you see, is what you get!

It's a great little place and the staff were all amazing, very kind and very helpful.

The included breakfast every morning was great, there is no hot food as such only toast, sliced ham chicken and 2 different cheeses to add or you can get cereals, yoghurt or fruit. It was perfect to get our day started, no complaints!

The location is a must! In the heart of Central station, everything within walking distance (red light district, restaurants, cafe's and more). We hired a bike from a shop only a couple of doors up to explore the further sides of Amsterdam :)

The room itself was average, and just came with 2 single beds, a little desk and cupboard & the bathroom was small too.. it's a great little room if you don't plan to spend much time in there (which is why we got it, just to sleep whilst we too busy exploring) :) The room was very clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephntrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The A Train Hotel was a great place to stay for us, central and clean.

We stayed in a basic double room. The bedroom was compact, but that's the way these old Amsterdam buildings are. Our room was in the back half of the hotel which dated from the late 1600s. We overlooked the glass roof of the dining room so had no noise from the street at all and plenty of natural light.

Comfortable bed, small but clean ensuite with toilet, sink and shower and a built-in hairdryer and soap and shower gel dispensers. The room had a small desk/table attached to one wall, a couple of chairs, a wardrobe with a small safe and a flat screen TV on the wall (channels in a variety of languages). There was also a powerful fan stored in the wardrobe for warmer nights and a telephone.

Five plug sockets were more than adequate for all our charging needs.

The highlight of this hotel was the Pullman Lounge dining room. Set out the a train carriage and surrounded with pictures and memorabilia. The complimentary breakfast was eaten here - cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheese, toast, boiled eggs, juice, teas and coffee.

Outside of breakfast hours you can still sit in the lounge and get drinks and snacks from the vending machine or eat food you've bought elsewhere. There's a convenience store called Albert Heijn two doors from the hotel.

Elevators were available which meant we didn't have to negotiate the traditionally steep Amsterdam stairs!

Luggage storage was available after we checked out. The train station is just across the road, as are the canal boat tours and sightseeing bus.

Additionally, the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

If we were to return to Amsterdam we'd happily stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank searingidolatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Yes, this hotel is in a great location. However, the room was incredibly small with no air conditioning. Because there was no air conditioning we had to leave the window open all the time. So, the noise level from the street was loud - all day and all night. On the other hand, the staff was really nice. They were available 24 hours a day. They made arrangements for a taxi to be available at 3:30 a.m. to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

You can see the hotel from the railway station - its right opposite. Everywhere is easy walking in Amsterdam because there is lots to see along the way and as the hotel is near the railway station its good for getting directions to get back and you wont get lost for long. Clean, efficient size room, help yourself to anything breakfast in the most quirky of cafe style surroundings - loved the trains hanging from the ceiling ! Very laid back - I would happily stay here again -no problem.

Room Tip: It was quiet at the back - don't know about the front - its on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,396 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#163 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#69 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,047 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#120 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 8,064 - ₹ 22,115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing