We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
289
475
180
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
475
180
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews themed hotel central station railway memorabilia great location boiled eggs the breakfast area vending machine continental breakfast rooms are small unique hotel no air conditioning nice breakfast dam square cold meats red light district couple of nights short break
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Yes, this hotel is in a great location. However, the room was incredibly small with no air conditioning. Because there was no air conditioning we had to leave the window open all the time. So, the noise level from the street was loud - all day and all night. On the other hand, the staff was really nice. They were available 24 hours a day. They made arrangements for a taxi to be available at 3:30 a.m. to take us to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

You can see the hotel from the railway station - its right opposite. Everywhere is easy walking in Amsterdam because there is lots to see along the way and as the hotel is near the railway station its good for getting directions to get back and you wont get lost for long. Clean, efficient size room, help yourself to anything breakfast in the most quirky of cafe style surroundings - loved the trains hanging from the ceiling ! Very laid back - I would happily stay here again -no problem.

Room Tip: It was quiet at the back - don't know about the front - its on a main road.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The room was tiny tiny! dusty, no air conditioning, a small fan provided but nowhere to comfortably plug it in to be of any effect.
No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, we had to pay to use the coffee making machine downstairs outside of breakfast hours (have spoken to travel agent about this as I always ask for tea and coffee making facilities in the room)
We had a very small double bed pushed up against the wall and it was extremely difficult to get in and out of bed to go to the toilet during the night without climbing over the other person of banging your head on the sloping wall, the mattress felt like it was sloping towards the floor making the person on the outside feel like they were going to fall off. Those that are quite a few years younger than us may not have had quite as much trouble! (Friends had a room with 2 single beds, they said they also felt like they were going to fall out of bed.)
The first night we were there it was really hot and stuffy so we left the window open for some air because there was no air conditioning, big mistake - mosquitoes!!!
I expected the cold meat and cheeses provided for b/fast to be somehow cooled but they weren't (maybe some ice underneath the bowls, especially as it was summer)
The lift and landing outside our room smelt really stale and musty and also of cigarette smoke.
Gina who worked in the dining room was very helpful and friendly, a lovely lady, also the young fellow at the front desk was also very nice and friendly, sorry I didn't get your name.
The location of the hotel is excellent, great food outlets nearby, shopping, train, tram etc.
WIFI was good.
Not a hotel that we would wish to stay in again nor one that I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherylboland4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos H, Eigenaar at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

First of all we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel.
We have two buildings one from 1820 and the other one from late 1600, that is way some of the rooms are relatively small. Drastic changes, as replacing walls, were not allowed by the "Department of the Environment Historic Buildings Bureau".
All our matrasses were renewed last year for a 'harder' version then the old ones.
Sorry that you had problems with the heat, the one thing we cannot influence is the weather! The problem in a hotel is that you cannot leave the room door open once it is occupied. So ventilation is a serious problem, the building literally heats up when it is hot for some days in a row. We do provide each room with a powerful fan, extra fans available. The lounge has two airco's, working 24/7, also free ICE CUBES and chilled water available. So you can cool down in the lounge. From approximately march 2018 all rooms will have airco.
All our our cheese, ham and chicken slices are of course presented in a electrical cooled Deli case during breakfast.
Trust you had a good time in our beautiful city anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We loved our stay at A-Train! Very close to the central train station and within walking distance of many Amsterdam attractions. The rooms were clean, breakfast was included, and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank apolaski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos H, Eigenaar at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the A-Train hotel experience!
We aim to please in an informal atmosphere.

Hope to see you again soon in the A-Train hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

What a little gem! Right across from central station, central for everything, lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Hotel itself was lovely, we had the Dutch suite which is located on the ground floor and has its own little courtyard with a couple of chairs and a table, there is no air conditioning but a very good fan which we made good use of. There's kettle tea coffee etc and a fridge. Staff were great and very helpful if needed. Breakfast was ok, boiled eggs, cereal, bread, cold meat and cheese, also a toaster, jams honey etc. All in all a very enjoyable stay, will definitely return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SharonW2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jos H, Eigenaar at A-Train Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Very pleased to hear that you appreciated the amazing A-Train hotel, we aim to please.
Hope to see you again soon in the A-Train hotel.

(Airco's will be installed in all rooms in January/February 2018.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews