We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
289
475
181
44
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
475
181
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews themed hotel central station railway memorabilia great location boiled eggs the breakfast area vending machine continental breakfast rooms are small unique hotel no air conditioning nice breakfast dam square cold meats red light district couple of nights short break
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I am so glad we found this unique hotel with such a charm! We booked it directly from the hotel web site as the price offered was much better than on other sites we usually use for booking hotels. The location was perfect and the price was right. The staff was very friendly and they gladly recommended trips and things to do/see when we asked. They can also book tours for you on request, free of charge.

You will get a map of the city when you check in and that will come in very handy during your stay. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel. We never had to use public transportation within the city center. We walked a lot and we saw a lot! Comfortable walking shoes are a must for sure!!!

The hotel is located just across the street from the Central Station, so you do not have to drag your luggage a lot before reaching it.The easiest way to get to the hotel is to look for the Victoria hotel and walk towards it. Pass this hotel and keep walking for 2 more minutes before reaching A-Train Hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 10:40am after a long 9 hours flight. What a delight to find the room ready and waiting for us!

We stayed for 4 nights (March 14 to March 17, 2012) in room 109 B. There was no noise at all as the windows were facing the courtyard. The view was not important to us. We just needed a clean and quiet room to sleep in at night and this hotel delivered! We left the hotel every day around 9am and returned after 9pm to a quiet, clean and cozy room. The room size was adequate for us (for a room this size you can easily pay double in Paris, for example) and if you do not have a lot of luggage (more than 2 suitcases and 2 backpacks), storage space would not be an issue. The bathroom size was also decent (no bath tub, only shower - again, not a problem for us at all).

The computer by the reception desk was always available and free to use if you needed to check emails, book trips, etc. Internet connection in the room was available for a fee. Same applies for watching TV. We did not feel the need to watch TV as we were tired after exploring the city every day. We just used the computer downstairs for checking emails and the weather :)

Breakfast was also good, offered from 7am to 10am. You can't compare it with the American style breakfast, but the variety offered was enough for us (hard boiled eggs, ham, salami, cheese, jelly, butter, 2 types of cereal, 4 types of bread, orange juice, milk, coffee and tea).

The hotel is non-smoking (a plus for us since people in Amsterdam smoke a lot and the canabis smell on the streets is strong at times) and they ask guests to keep quiet and do not party in the rooms. We liked this a lot and we appreciated the fresh smell and the quiet atmosphere that we encountered at the end of each long sightseeing day.

If we go to Amsterdam again we will definitely stay here. If you want luxury, look elsewhere. If you want a clean, quiet room within walking distance to every attraction in the city center, then put this hotel on your list.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monica1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked a 3 night break with wife. Booked hotel after seeing reviews but was a bit worried after seeing the pictures of the hotel. Well we didnt need to worry. The hotel is wonderful in every way. Great location opposite Centraal Station and for exploring this wonderful city.

Hotel is "Railway" themed, very clean, great continental breakfast and great helpful staff.

We would thoroughly recommend staying here and when we return to Amsterdam we will be staying again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel was small but nice,my room was at the front of the hotel over looking the main road so not much sleep. So ask for a room at the back for a good nights sleep.Location was very good just over the road from the train Station.And 5min stroll to Dam Sq..

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank 1010peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the A-Train Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good, cereals, juices, 2 different types of cheese, ham, boiled eggs and a few different types of breads. The hotel is across from Central Station which is 10-15 minutes from the Airport and costs €3.80 single trip. Some of the ticket machines only take credit cards but there are others that take coins.

The bedrooms are tiny. Very little space to move around. Rooms had TV and free Safe. The rooms were spotless - linen and towels changed each day. There was free internet in the breakfast room. The hotel is a bit pricey but you have to take the location into account and also we stayed on a Friday night. (weekends more expensive).

I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay again whenever we go back to Amsterdam. Our room was on the A side of the hotel but there wasn't a sound to be heard all night.. Amsterdam is a lovely city. A Farrell, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wanted somewhere reasonable for a family trip to Amsterdam, so we booked the apartment room. It was basic, but great value at about £100 per night for all five of us including a typical continental breakfast. The apartment is in the attic of the rear (B) side of the hotel - so away from the noisier street side. The room was clean and rather quirky and fun, with 3 children's beds on the upper level and a double bed and toddler bed with a play area and some toys downstairs,which is a nice touch if you have young kids. There is a small kitchen area with fridge kettle and microwave, very handy, and a wet room style shower/toilet with a nice powerful shower. The beds were very comfy, the TV a little basic but working and has some uk channels. WI-Fi is 7.50 Euros for 24 hours or use the free communal computer in restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the outset letting us store our cases and offering us breakfast when we arrived a few hours early. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and anyone else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GnomeLampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews