We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, nice hotel with good price / quality ratio”
Review of A-Train Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A-Train Hotel
Ranked #112 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 29 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Al_Swiss_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 458 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

I am so glad we found this unique hotel with such a charm! We booked it directly from the hotel web site as the price offered was much better than on other sites we usually use for booking hotels. The location was perfect and the price was right. The staff was very friendly and they gladly recommended trips and things to do/see when we asked. They can also book tours for you on request, free of charge.

You will get a map of the city when you check in and that will come in very handy during your stay. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel. We never had to use public transportation within the city center. We walked a lot and we saw a lot! Comfortable walking shoes are a must for sure!!!

The hotel is located just across the street from the Central Station, so you do not have to drag your luggage a lot before reaching it.The easiest way to get to the hotel is to look for the Victoria hotel and walk towards it. Pass this hotel and keep walking for 2 more minutes before reaching A-Train Hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 10:40am after a long 9 hours flight. What a delight to find the room ready and waiting for us!

We stayed for 4 nights (March 14 to March 17, 2012) in room 109 B. There was no noise at all as the windows were facing the courtyard. The view was not important to us. We just needed a clean and quiet room to sleep in at night and this hotel delivered! We left the hotel every day around 9am and returned after 9pm to a quiet, clean and cozy room. The room size was adequate for us (for a room this size you can easily pay double in Paris, for example) and if you do not have a lot of luggage (more than 2 suitcases and 2 backpacks), storage space would not be an issue. The bathroom size was also decent (no bath tub, only shower - again, not a problem for us at all).

The computer by the reception desk was always available and free to use if you needed to check emails, book trips, etc. Internet connection in the room was available for a fee. Same applies for watching TV. We did not feel the need to watch TV as we were tired after exploring the city every day. We just used the computer downstairs for checking emails and the weather :)

Breakfast was also good, offered from 7am to 10am. You can't compare it with the American style breakfast, but the variety offered was enough for us (hard boiled eggs, ham, salami, cheese, jelly, butter, 2 types of cereal, 4 types of bread, orange juice, milk, coffee and tea).

The hotel is non-smoking (a plus for us since people in Amsterdam smoke a lot and the canabis smell on the streets is strong at times) and they ask guests to keep quiet and do not party in the rooms. We liked this a lot and we appreciated the fresh smell and the quiet atmosphere that we encountered at the end of each long sightseeing day.

If we go to Amsterdam again we will definitely stay here. If you want luxury, look elsewhere. If you want a clean, quiet room within walking distance to every attraction in the city center, then put this hotel on your list.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monica1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Booked a 3 night break with wife. Booked hotel after seeing reviews but was a bit worried after seeing the pictures of the hotel. Well we didnt need to worry. The hotel is wonderful in every way. Great location opposite Centraal Station and for exploring this wonderful city.

Hotel is "Railway" themed, very clean, great continental breakfast and great helpful staff.

We would thoroughly recommend staying here and when we return to Amsterdam we will be staying again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel was small but nice,my room was at the front of the hotel over looking the main road so not much sleep. So ask for a room at the back for a good nights sleep.Location was very good just over the road from the train Station.And 5min stroll to Dam Sq..

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank 1010peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the A-Train Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good, cereals, juices, 2 different types of cheese, ham, boiled eggs and a few different types of breads. The hotel is across from Central Station which is 10-15 minutes from the Airport and costs €3.80 single trip. Some of the ticket machines only take credit cards but there are others that take coins.

The bedrooms are tiny. Very little space to move around. Rooms had TV and free Safe. The rooms were spotless - linen and towels changed each day. There was free internet in the breakfast room. The hotel is a bit pricey but you have to take the location into account and also we stayed on a Friday night. (weekends more expensive).

I would certainly recommend this hotel and we will certainly stay again whenever we go back to Amsterdam. Our room was on the A side of the hotel but there wasn't a sound to be heard all night.. Amsterdam is a lovely city. A Farrell, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 374 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 374 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,241 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A-Train Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Train Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 23, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Schirmann Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 7,471 - ₹ 22,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A-Train Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A-Train Hotel is a unique 3 star hotel with a train-theme. It is ideally located in front of the Central (Railway) Station, right in the beating heart of Amsterdam. Shopping areas, tourist attractions, pubs, restaurants, theaters, are all within walking distance. All 34 rooms are comfortably furnished and have modern bathrooms with a hair-drier and are equipped with radio, satellite TV with pay TV, safe, work desk, direct-dial telephone with wake-up system and FREE WIFI. The hotel has a lift, a luggage store room and 24 hours check in. An easy chair, coffee and tea making facilities, fridge and a great view off the Central Station are the extras in our 4 excellent 'First class rooms', also very suitable for business guests. For special occasions we have the 'Old Dutch Suite' with a small private garden/patio. Furthermore smoking and non-smoking rooms and 2 excellent family rooms. No two rooms are alike in our surprising train-themed hotel! All major public transport lines operate from the Central Station, only 15-20 minutes from Schiphol Airport, RAI and WTC. There is an (expensive) underground public parking opposite the A-Train Hotel. Cheap parking, from €10,- per 24 hours at 5 minutes walk from the hotel.. The A-Train Hotel is a cozy hotel, run by Jos and Erika Heijnsdijk and manager Ali Hassan and will be a comfortable place to stay during your tourist or business visit and will make you feel like "Home away from Home". We aim to please with an informal atmosphere and are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your A-Train Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Train Hotel Amsterdam
Europe Train
Train Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing