We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornflakes & ladder stairs”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #195 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We (3 adults) stayed at Bicycle Hotel for 3 nights at the lowest price point for our group - a triple room.

Overall, the hotel served its purpose. We were on a budget, and this was what was available during a busy week in the area. A few comments:

1) Prepare to pay upon arrival - they accept cash or credit card, however there is a 4% fee associated with the latter. Side note, despite receiving a receipt, we were asked to pay again the next day.

2) Yes, Dutch stairs are all over the place in Amsterdam, but these take things to a new level. If you have leg problems, large luggage, or are even mildly out of shape, perhaps look elsewhere.

3) Shared bathroom and shower are quite old and cramped.

4) Breakfast is an average spread - the only hot food is from the toaster and a pot of boiling water for eggs.

5) Location is good - close enough to multiple train stops, a few restaurants and bars, and far enough away from main tourist attractions.

6) Staff is friendly, but be aware that no staff is on the premises from the hours of 11 pm and 7 am.

When we return to Amsterdam, we plan on increasing our spending for added comfort. This hotel would be great for students or travelers on a tight budget.





Cash/card fee at arrival

Room Tip: Bring flip flops for communal showers and a power strip (there aren't many plugs in the room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 232 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
4513
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I booked this hotel <1 month before departure at €75 for a single room which was a good deal. The overall stay was pleasant.

(1) Very good location. 3-min walk from tram 24 linked to Amsterdam Centraal Station; 3-min walk to other trams that brings you to Rijksmuseum and other city center places easily. 2-min walk to a supermarket will all the basic supplies you need. 5-min walk to a laundry store 1 block away - if you give them the clothes in early morning they can give you back by 6pm the same day.

(2) Basic but sufficient facilities. I borrowed a power converter (for Chinese 2-eyed plug only) and a hairdryer from front desk so no issue for me. In my single room, although it is very small and slightly wider than a door, they fit in a wash basin which is of utmost help to me. Hot water always available.

(3) The door to my balcony can be changed to open only from the upside at a 15-degree. Since the door was strong enough to be broken into, this design makes me feel safe to open the door at this angle at night to get fresh air all the time. In other hotels I always close all the windows for safety reasons.

Now some less satisfactory elements:

(A) They do not change your sheets/towels daily. Actually they didn't change during my 3.5-day visit so I am not sure what their policy is. And they do not clean your room as well.

(B) Very very steep AND narrow stairs with no elevator. Think about a ladder with 80-degree steps upward. And the width of most steps is extremely narrow that basically you need to hold tight to the sidebar esp. when you carry luggage downstairs. Also the space is very very narrow too esp. in public area on Floor 1 and 2.

(C) Poor breakfast... it's included in my fee but I never wanted to try.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here as a single traveller two weeks ago for 3 nights. Stayed in room 1.4. The room was lovely, fresh and clean. The bed was comfy and adjustable. A little balcony over looked a little court yard. Shared toilet and shower were spotless and constant hot water available. A lovely breakfast was provided in a light and airy room. The staff were helpful and friendly, providing good local information. Bicycles were available to hire. The beautiful Sarphatipark is just around the corner, with many shops and restraunts nearby. I usually stay in the city center, but much prefer this area. Easily reachable by tram from Central Station.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is quite a stiff walk from the Amsterdam tourism centre/ old town area, but trams are easily accessible and will also get you there easy and fast.

Previous reviews complained about the steep stairs... I wondered how steep they can be, but trust me, these are like climbing a mountain, you have no idea how steep stairs can be until you see these! Fortunately, The young man at reception was kind enough to help get our luggage to the second floor.

The room we had initially (2.1) only had single beds, which can be put together, but the mattresses move around anyway. The room has its own toilet, which is so squashed in and against the wall, that you basically have to decide which bum will be seated, because the other will be either in the air or up against the wall, except maybe if you are extremely thin or small. The room overlooks a quite scruffy backyard scene and the backside of other buildings, with a balcony that is hanging scarily "downhill". Steady, but definitely sloping.
Our last night we were moved to a better room with a double bed, and more spacious toilet. The street view is not special, but better than the back view.

The breakfast was good, with cold meats, boiled eggs, cheese and toast. Coffee, juice and cereals were available.

The hotel seems to be a favourite among groups of youths, which means noise, and good timing necessary to get a breakfast seat.

The reception was manned by different young girls and a guy, all extremely friendly and helpful.

Overall, the place offered me a reasonably clean place to sleep and breakfast, but everything seems very squashed in and small. Really no luxury, basic accommodation. Acceptable for the groups of schoolkids and students, but I will look for something a bit classier next time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

I really like the neighborhood this is located in away from throngs of tourists. It is very quiet and bed is comfortable. The breakfast is very tasty lots of cereal cheese meats and a coffee machine.I do wish the rooms were plusher with more outlets. No English language channels on tv. And internet could be stronger. Bathrooms are clean but basic toiletries would be nice. Price us right at 75 euros. Amsterdam is expensive compared to other European cities.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#228 of 374 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#184 of 374 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#218 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#142 of 374 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 5,287 - ₹ 12,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing