We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitable stay, friendly staff”
Review of Bicycle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bicycle Hotel
Ranked #195 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 September 2016

we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The bicycle hotel provided a very clean and hospitable stay for our family of 10. We were very pleased with the service and the wonderful complementary breakfast. The hotel was in a very convenient spot located near public transit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our stay in Amsterdam couldn't have been any better!

Room Tip: book a hotel room with a private bathroom if traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016

The reason for my rating is that the accommodation is basic - go somewhere else if you want large rooms and comfy sofas etc.
We arrived at 11am, knowing we couldn't book in until 2, and were allowed to leave our bags while we explored. arrived back at 3, room not ready till nearly 4. The owner was very friendly and helpful, with interesting information for the children.
The stairs were very steep, and that added to the charm for us, although more elderly and infirm people would struggle. The room was basic - 4 single beds lined up side by side, one wardrobe (no drawers), clean and tidy, and we had the ensuite shower room, which was small, clean and had a good shower.
Breakfast was from 8-11, and there was a good choice of fruit juices, apples, peaches, ham, cheese, 3 different kinds of bread, crispbreads, crackers, 3 different cereals, yoghurt, jam, marmalade, chocolate spread, peanut butter - and coffee!
The hotel is in a busy area with several restaurants nearby, a large street market, and a few minutes walk to trams for the city centre. The main museums are about 30 mins walk away.
Bike hire is cheap - 8 euros for the day.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlook the courtyard garden, the ones at the front overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. Had I been booking a hostel I might have been better pleased with the accommodation. It's VERY basic with the room reminding me of a 1960's stay in a basic holiday camp chalet. Other reviews have mentioned the stairs and you seriously need to take the steepness and the narrowness into consideration because if you have mobility problems this isn't a hotel for you. The staff didn't change the towels or make the beds, there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, and the shared landing was YUK. I thought this hotel was over priced but that might be unfair because I 've only visited this hotel in Amsterdam so no comparison. All of that said, the staff are really lovely, the breakfast help-yourself idea is good but basic, it's a good location with some really buzzy bars and restaurants close by, together with the tram link into the centre. Wouldn't book this hotel again BUT if you are young and only want somewhere to sleep AND it meets your budget expectations, it's worth a look.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindylou048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I stayed here 3 nights with my friends. The hotel is 1 star but it is located in a nice area with lots of bars and restaurants. It is quite clean and have a fair breakfast. Staff is v nice and professional. Overall positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Principessauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

It might be more of a hostel than a hotel but it's clean and very well located and you won't get a better one in this price range. Perfect for few nights stay and young travellers. We stayed there for 3 nights and all 4 staff members we met were extremely helpful and friendly. The only downside is that the stairs are very steep and there are no rooms on ground floor so not recommened for disabled/eldery guests.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasia_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#228 of 374 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#184 of 374 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#220 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#144 of 374 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicycle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicycle Hotel

Address: Van Ostadestraat 123 | The Pijp, 1072 SV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 5,297 - ₹ 12,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bicycle Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Bicycle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicycle Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing