We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
63
109
54
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
109
54
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep stairsliquid soapbalcony overlookingdutch breakfastrooms are small but cleanbudget hotela nice place to staycoffee machineper daythird floortram stopcentral stationbreakfast includedheineken experienceshort staysmall hotelfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The reason for my rating is that the accommodation is basic - go somewhere else if you want large rooms and comfy sofas etc.
We arrived at 11am, knowing we couldn't book in until 2, and were allowed to leave our bags while we explored. arrived back at 3, room not ready till nearly 4. The owner was very friendly and helpful, with interesting information for the children.
The stairs were very steep, and that added to the charm for us, although more elderly and infirm people would struggle. The room was basic - 4 single beds lined up side by side, one wardrobe (no drawers), clean and tidy, and we had the ensuite shower room, which was small, clean and had a good shower.
Breakfast was from 8-11, and there was a good choice of fruit juices, apples, peaches, ham, cheese, 3 different kinds of bread, crispbreads, crackers, 3 different cereals, yoghurt, jam, marmalade, chocolate spread, peanut butter - and coffee!
The hotel is in a busy area with several restaurants nearby, a large street market, and a few minutes walk to trams for the city centre. The main museums are about 30 mins walk away.
Bike hire is cheap - 8 euros for the day.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlook the courtyard garden, the ones at the front overlook the street.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. Had I been booking a hostel I might have been better pleased with the accommodation. It's VERY basic with the room reminding me of a 1960's stay in a basic holiday camp chalet. Other reviews have mentioned the stairs and you seriously need to take the steepness and the narrowness into consideration because if you have mobility problems this isn't a hotel for you. The staff didn't change the towels or make the beds, there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, and the shared landing was YUK. I thought this hotel was over priced but that might be unfair because I 've only visited this hotel in Amsterdam so no comparison. All of that said, the staff are really lovely, the breakfast help-yourself idea is good but basic, it's a good location with some really buzzy bars and restaurants close by, together with the tram link into the centre. Wouldn't book this hotel again BUT if you are young and only want somewhere to sleep AND it meets your budget expectations, it's worth a look.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindylou048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I stayed here 3 nights with my friends. The hotel is 1 star but it is located in a nice area with lots of bars and restaurants. It is quite clean and have a fair breakfast. Staff is v nice and professional. Overall positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Principessauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

It might be more of a hostel than a hotel but it's clean and very well located and you won't get a better one in this price range. Perfect for few nights stay and young travellers. We stayed there for 3 nights and all 4 staff members we met were extremely helpful and friendly. The only downside is that the stairs are very steep and there are no rooms on ground floor so not recommened for disabled/eldery guests.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasia_pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

The stairs in Amsterdam are a pain so be aware of this to make suitable accommodation. Other than that you get a good deal for the price.
Employees are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is nice healthy and simple. The hotel is well located.
Parking could be problematic considering that they don't have parking facilities.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank chusair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews