We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This would be average if rated 2-star but is not worthy of 3! Delightful staff, however!”
Review of Belfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belfort Hotel
Ranked #351 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 31 August 2014

For the price the Belfort charges, they give exactly what you pay for. It's very simple, very basic. The rooms are clean enough but not sparkling, and there is the must of humidity everywhere that gets into one's clothing and belongings. It's far from the center of town, in a kind of suburban enclave, so you must expect to spend time in traveling. But the staff was enormously helpful and knowledgeable about their city. They all spoke perfect English -- one girl named Yu, who has never been to the States or to England, said she got her Minnesota accent (I kid you now!) from watching American television. Indeed, the room was equipped with a tiny 1980's style television hooked to a cable that played at least four channels of nonstop American television, shown either with Dutch subtitles or without explanation. The entire time I was there, the large flat-screen television in the lobby played nonstop football games with commentary in English. The internet is only in the lobby, which is a bit of a strain if you are trying to stay in touch with the outside world, and the room is so cramped there'd be no place to put your computer if there were a connection there. Overall, this is a place that should be rated 2-star (furniture is old, worn; carpeting is worn and dingy) but has 3, for reasons I could not discern. (After my 2-star hotel in Paris, I am guessing any place without bedbugs gets three stars? The Belfort definitely has NO bedbugs!) I am going to rate this place poor, but if it had two stars, then I'd rate it average.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor behind the reception desk, and it was very quiet, very private. I had a vi...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Belfort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

first impressions are everything and for this hotel they were shocking just like our room. our room was tiny and looked like a hotel. we had damp stained curtains, moldy windows and shower, some kind of foam coming out of the fire alarm (not safe!) and to finish off on our last day there was a frequent smell of sewage. on the upside we did have free WiFi, TV and the beds were clean.

Room Tip: if you wanted to stay at this hotel. have a room on the first floor, they are a little cleaner and s...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sioned M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I never stay before in a 3stars hotel so poor, old, neglected! The hotel is classified with 3stars, but in other country this hotel certain can"t win 2stars.
The first think when arrived in hotel was a great disappointing.
The "restaurant" were we served breakfast have tables from ancient time. Breakfast was so poor!
Don't booked this hotel if you want human standards!

Room Tip: No tips. Book another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diana Silvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is just bed and breakfast. Don´t expect nothing more. The room I get was so small I almost could turn until I closed the door. Anyway all was clean and usable. I could sleep which means there was some noise but acceptable.

Breakfast was standard continental. Everything made of artificial products. For a night during business trip is this hotel OK but don´t expect nothing more...

Hotel has a good location to travel into Amsterdam center or other parts of this magical city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jiri222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After I had booked the hotel I looked at the reviews and nearly had heart faliure! therefore wasnt looking foreward to going! My friend said we would see what it was like and go from there
When we arrived the girl on reseption wasnt friendly at all but gave us our key and directions to the room although it was small and in need of updating I have to say it wasnt as bad as I had thought!
The bed was very comfy and clean the bathroom was very clean and the shower was great! The room was cleaned and clean towels provided very day sheets changed very 2 days
Although the staff were not friendly they were very helpful once you engaged them in convesation!
The breakfast was basic but adequate with fruit cereal bread ham cheese eggs and toast tea coffee and fruit juices - The breakfast staff did stand and eat food in front of the guests and seemed put out if she couldnt use the toaster! also she could have been wore smater attire!
Yes the tram stopped outside Yes it was noisy but for the price I feel it was good value for money
It was only a 10/15 minute walk into the centre which we did every day of our stay so never went on the tram.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,077 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#249 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#301 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,926 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfort Hotel

Address: Surinameplein 53, 1058 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: ₹ 6,447 - ₹ 34,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfort Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing