We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
155
276
163
64
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
276
163
64
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the red light district central station great location breakfast was included cold meats main building large room boiled eggs few minutes walk reception desk amsterdam centraal dam square annex hairdryer wardrobe cafes tram
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Situation: Just amazing - no comment - the best perfect place....Thank you!!!!

Staff: Very friendly - kind - mostly the reception/waiters....keep going like that and more....!!!!

Housekeeping: about cleaning - i can said they need to clean better and must be more demaning about it since is one of the most important things of a hotel....i can rate you for cleaning ( 3 ). But was good...

Thank you for the hospitallity and see you soon again!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank AndreasACyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We were late arriving passed 10pm due to a flight delay and was pleased when the hotel called to see if we were ok instead of assuming we were a no show. When we arrived the gentleman at the reception was warm and very welcoming. We said we brought a kettle (no kettles in the room so bring one with you) and wondered where we could buy some milk so we could have a cuppa and they kindly gave us some to save us walking late at night and a couple of mugs as some of the party forgot to bring one.

The hotel is perfectly situated across the bridge from the train station. Outside you have canal trips, a little further walk you have dam square and walk the opposite way you have red light district. Perfectly in the middle of everything. The room was large and clean as well as warm. We have the front large room above the entrance so a full view of the central station. If your a light sleeper brings some ear plugs, hey it’s Amsterdam the world isn’t going to stop cause you want some sleep so do yourself a favour and bring some in case, the result- a good nights sleep! Don’t blame the staff for the noise outside it’s a city! It’s busy!

Beds are very soft and comfy (memory type foam I think) they gave us towels and extra the next morning. The bathroom is clean and large with a bath and toilet. There’s also a wardrobe to hang your coats and clothes and bedside lamps with a flat screen tv with all languages available from bbc1 to tiny pop tv.
We asked for extra pillows and they were only too happy to assist. If you don’t ask they arnt psychic! If you have an issue tell them they will do their best.

Breakfast is ample enough. Bacon, eggs and beans with selection of ham, cheese, toast or cereals with coffee, tea & fruit juices. Good enough to start the day.

Tips
Make sure if you ask for water you specify you want tap water or bottles as a small glass of water from a bottle costs more than beer! €3.50 for a small glass of water a pint of beer €4. Tap water is free if you are with someone who orders a drink ( most places oblige some will flat out refuse to give you tap water if they do then go somewhere else the place is streaming with coffee places ) the water is very clean and fresh. If you have sauce sachets bring them they charge €1 for each sachet minimum even in mc Donald’s.
If your going Anne Frank house atm they only do online tickets so book your time slot on their website.
Amsterdam dungeons is €23 walk up price off peak after 4:30pm is €18 get a ticket from a ticket office or use a coupon from travel sites. Same with other trips. Be cheeky and ask for discount.
We also needed to hire a mobility scooter for a friend there is a shop behind the station that rents them €20 a day. Everyone was happy to let us charge the battery in shops etc.
Try the waffles hot with ice cream!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Shellbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

On inspection, like you do checked the fridge ..no fridge, checked the wardrobe one hangar and no coffee, sugar, milk and you had to pay for TV, thank god for Tablet app
Even in the bathroom there was no plug for the sink.
No extra pillows or bedding either.
Other people in the hotel were smoking so on the first night the alarm went off 2am so not the best hotel we have stayed in.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.Vink, Manager at Hotel Prins Hendrik, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear sir,
We have 120 satellite TV channels in our hotel, and they are all free! We don't have any paid TV channels at all. And yes, we don't have a fridge and coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms, but neither do we state anywhere that we have.... You could have asked for extra pillows or whatever sort of bedding, it's all available at the reception on request. If you had mentioned that you couldn't see any TV channels on your TV we could have told you how to operate the TV too. But if you don't ask, but just write it in a review afterwards, we can't help you with it anymore.... Unfortunately, despite all our efforts, we can't avoid 100% that some people still decide to smoke in their room. We can only tell them not to if we found out they did. Believe us, we don't like it either when people set off the fire alert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Easy walk with luggage from Central station. We had a spacious room on the 4th floor with a great view of canals and the station precinct. Restaurant on site is good and most of the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We stayed two nights at this location. It was a reasonable price, and as we were using the train to get back to the airport, this was great as it is across the street. Super convenient for getting up early and catching the train. There is a lot of great sight seeing to do as well in the area, along with a lot of fun shops and restaurants.

The manager at the front desk was very helpful, even allowing us to store our bags until it was check in time, so we could go and get some food. I do highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews