We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in a great location in a great city.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hestia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hestia
Ranked #256 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a great location in a great city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I love this hotel. I have stayed here once or twice per year for the last 5 years. The staff are charming, the breakfast is good, the location is perfect. If you take the 197 bus from Schiphol Airport, it will drop you about 4 blocks from the hotel. This will set you back 4 euro rather than the 35 or so for a taxi. I almost never take trams in town as I can walk to almost everything I want to visit. This trip I stayed in one of the large doubles which was very roomy. I often stay in one of the singles which are fairly small, but well laid out. If you push your bag under the desk you aren't tripping over it and it is fine for one person. The rooms are very clean with lots of hot water and at a very reasonable price. There is a lovely back yard off of the breakfast room where you can watch the parrots - not native to Amsterdam, but these escapees have certainly thrived.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    80
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
27
52
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were here on a last second trip to Amsterdam. The 4 person room had 4 single beds, but the nice part was it also had a nice little sitting room. So while this isn't exactly a posh place, it was good value at about 230 USD for the night we stayed there. The location is also easy to get around once you have a decent map!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is situated in a quiet residential street which is no more than a 10 minute walk from Leidseplein where you will find many shops and restaurants. Our spacisous ensuite room was clean and comfortable with pillows that ensured we had a good night's sleep. The breakfast buffet was of both ample choice and quality. The staff were lovely always smiling and extremely friendly. I must give a special mention to Snoopy the cat who lives there too. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 40 as just inside the main entrance on the ground floor and it backs onto the reception d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Quiet area, wasn't too expensive, extremely attentive staff - for instance the receptionist was trying to make me have at least a tea/coffee before leaving when checking out very early, before breakfast had started.

Usual Amsterdam problems - tiny room and all that - but the hotel DOES have a lift and the stairs weren't terrible either.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atsugi, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

my friend and i staied in this hotel for couple of nights. i like the garden for relaxing after breakfast. clean room, and friendly staff. i forgot how much was this....i thought it was expencive for me to save up but i would stay at this place next year too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkzicht
Parkzicht
#285 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#154 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#120 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#319 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hestia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hestia

Property: Hotel Hestia
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 7, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,664 - ₹ 16,496
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hestia 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hestia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing