We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position, nice feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #58 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great position, nice feelings”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I had the chance to stay at this hotel with friends of mine in summer. We all had a very good time: location, rooms, personnel, breackfast, everything just perfect! The price is fair for the quality offered. Just few minutes walking from the city centre you'll can reach Dam Square, the Rail Station (connected with the airport), Van Gogh and other museum...etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiulioSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    393
    116
    28
    15
See reviews for
165
379
46
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is essentially a good hotel and should really get four stars, but it has a few problems that drag it down a bit. That said, I would happily stay there again.

GOOD POINTS
- Good location in central Amsterdam: 5min walk from Centraal station, 10min walk to Dam Square, 15mins on tram to Rijksmuseum
- Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby, good supermarket short walk away (Albert Heijn in Nieuwendijk, first left after leaving hotel)
- Clean, fair-sized room with good quality furnishings
- Free wi-fi or use of internet terminal (within certain limits)
- Helpful, laid-back staff

DRAWBACKS
- A slight lack of maintenance in room: unreliable safe, shower not working properly, sink slow to drain
- Daft colour scheme - black furniture, black wooden floors, black/gold curtains, dark walls - gives the hotel a sombre air
- Bed mattress very very soft with no support for back
- So-so breakfast served in cramped area next to reception
- Seedy area after dark in Spuistraat and surrounding streets - although you can avoid this by walking along the parallel Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Having been to Amsterdam almost 10 years ago i decided to book a surprise trip for 3 nights in Jan as a Xmas pressie fr my other half and to have two friends accompany us. I had been warned that drink prices had gone up to about £7 a pint but was pleasently surprised that on entering the hotel they did cans of 330ml for 2 euro!! there was no reception at this hotel you just go to the bar and unfortunately the hotel doesnt do any food (apart from the inclusive brekfast) but it was a lovely hotel. we booked via alpharooms and we had room 44 and our friends had room 23 0 we paid the same for the stay (£200 a couple) and comparitively our room wasnt as good value for money as they had more frills and a much larger bathroom. but our room was adequate and warm being on the top floor - also the lift was a great help!! i would definately recommend this hotel. the staff were helpful, breakkie was better than expected and it was in a great location. we had some lovely food at the two italians (with your back to hotel, walk upwards and take your first left - they were both on your right, and at a restaurant called something like 1854 - turn left our of main door and walk back down on yourself and it was on the right hand side) so it was only a short walk back to the hotel. we also liked the irish pub (in between the two italians) and there was a genuine irish barmaid! the hotel was quiet at night - you can hear the tram slightly but didnt really bother us. if you are looking for a clean, budget hotel in a central location this is it!!

Room Tip: if you want a larger room avoid the top floor - was fine though. room 23 had electrics beds (althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bladette1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Having walked out of our originally booked hotel - which was awful, we found the Sint Nicolaas, we were given a lovely room looking out to the town, the room was spotless, bathroom large with plenty of boiling hot water and again very clean, the staff could not have been anymore helpful from the gentleman who showed us our room down to the night security guard. The breakfast was also very good you could eat as much as you wanted. The reception/bar area had a great roaring fire which made the whole atmosphere so friendly. Every room was given a bottle of champagne to celebrate New Year - nice touch. The rate was good, it included breakfast and tax and was less money than the 'awful' hotel which did not include either of these items, it was only a few minutes walk from all the celebrations of New Year, we would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had no problems with anything during our stay here. The rooms were big enough, the breakfast was good, the location excellent and the service brilliant. The beds were amongst the best hotel rooms we have stayed in. What more can I say?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank council_worker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,027 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,196 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Property: Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,783 - ₹ 19,843
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing